We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book Somewhere Else !!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Ranked #142 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Three days before our holiday our tour operator cancelled our original hotel booking due to a supplier problem and we were given little notice to try and pick an alternative. We were assured this hotel had been refurbished !!!!!!!!! If painting the outside lemon is what they meant then that is all I could see that was new.It is the only bright thing in this establishment.

We arrived at 9pm to be greated by a sullen faced receptionist. The first room we were given was room 102. It was infested with ants in every area,bath,toilet,floor etc.... We requested a move.The next room we were given was mainly free of insects. The cement outside the door of the new room was breaking away from the wall. Same as the rest of the rooms on that floor. The doors only shut if you bang them hard. Speaking of hard,that best describes the beds in this hotel. If lack of sleep is high on your holiday list then you will get that in abundance here.

We were self catering and I had to spend the first hour cleaning the black microwave and grill. The floor tiles were filthy and were never cleaned properly our entire stay. The pool area was infested with ants and the sun loungers were old,faded and broken.
The hotel self catering equipment is so basic they only offer a few pota,some dishes tea pot and cups you have to fight your corner to get a kettle.

The reception area is dull,the inside bar area was never seen to be open and the pool bar looked like a run down scout hall with all the attraction of a foot full of verrucas !!!

This was meant to be a special holiday trip to celebrate a family birthday. The best part of our hotel experience was checking out!!!!! Please, please do not waste your hard earned money,this hotel has no redeeming features and the owner should be ashamed to hang a 3 star rating over the door.

Ironically during our stay the hotel hosted a tourism in Portugal lunch with a sad looking little table in the reception foyer of bland looking nibbles for their invited guests. Word to the wise for the Portuguese Tourist Authority,if you think this is a good venue to hold such events then I fear for the future of tourism in Portugal. Give me the Santa Eulalia Beach Club Hotel (our original choice ) any day.We love Portugal,We love the Santa Eulalia but stay away from this horrendous hotel nightmare.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have just returned from a week here and I have to say it was great! I wouldn't normally be compelled to write a review but we had a great time. Great location, clean and close to everything we needed. There are a few things that could do with updating (sunbeds!) but other than that would definitely recommend it! The room was clean everyday apart rom Sunday and the pool was cleaned most days from what I can remember!

We would definitely recommend and would visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashlea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just returned from my 1st trip to portugal and I was really impressed, But the valmangude jardim spoilt my 1st two days due to rats climbing the wall on our balcony. I have never experienced anything like it. The staff informed us there was nothing they could do until morning, I contacted the rep from jet2 and she was amazing and within 2 hours we were moved to another hotel called club oceano and it was fantastic. We had a wonderful time and will certainly be going again next year...... Bury Lancashire

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vmatulko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great place to stay, staff friendly. Maids came in every day apart from sunday.
Great location, 10 min walk to the strip, 15 - 20 min to the old town walking.
Sunbeds could do with changing, not so comfortable.
Pools where cleaned most nights or early mornings.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

just back from 10 nights at this apartment block,,, would suggest the staff take a holiday themselves,, might make them raise a smile,,never witnessed the pool area being cleaned once in 10 nights,, bins by pool full 10 in the morning???,, sunbeds tired and dirty,, tiled floor stinking,,,,apartments are very spacious but a double is two single beds pushed together,,no kettle, no toaster... asked at reception,,,(that was a real giggle,,, not),, and was told no rooms have a kettle,,, mmm, problem solved then,??,, on the plus side,, good location for everything,, exellent resort with something for everyone,,bespite irritations listed above had a great holiday, but would reccomend a different apartment block..plenty around for same money,(as wasnt cheap)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A friendly basic 3star apartment in a good location

Pros- rooms have air con (just ask at reception for the control) and are equipped with basic self catering equioment( mind you we ate out every night)
Could always get a sunbed round the pool
Resently re painted so looked clean
Poolside bar open for refreshments/ ice creams and beers!! Happy hour included , although a little disappointed that a large beer was only 400ml!! Not a pint!!
10mins walk to The Strip, if you like pubs and clubs! Taxi or train ride to old town, which as lads of ars restaurants and shops . Train costs 2.50 euros each whilst a taxi costs around 4.50 euros
We had a 1 bedrooms apt for 3 of us, so used the sofa beds in the lounge area. It was very comfortable, and much quieter as it was at the back of the apartment

Cons- no oven if you like to cook pizza!! ( not something that bothered me)
Next to a main road so quite Noisey, especially when bin men work very early in the morning!!! Bedroom on the roadside of the apartments.
Poolside looking worn with a few broken tile and missing grout

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Campervan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

When the driver dropped us at valmangude Jardim , I was not really impressed it looked real basic.
But actually , we really enjoyed the holiday , We had booked everything online so if it wasn't great it was completely our fault.
It wasn't the greatest apart hotel but the rooms were big and it had air com which was a bonus as the temperatures reached 38 degrees and the nighttime was hot when it came to sleeping .
All rooms face the pool which is great but bedrooms are at the back so you do get a little road noise .
There is a nice grassy pool area with a large snck bar/pool bar.
In the locality you have supermarkets , a great Village bakery and a few bars ( 5 min walk will take you to the Strip where it is buzzing ). We found the local bars , Angelus and Fat cats very good , there was a crowd of Irish people in our hotel they used to meet there too and we had a good time with them.
Opposite there is a good Chinese and up the road for the kids a MAcDonalds..
As I commented we booked everything online even booked our taxi before we travelled . Used yellowfish transfers they met us at the AIrport . We were particularly pleased with them as they had a baby's eat and a a booster seat for the kids . We have travelled overseas before and these weren't provided so was definatly a bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nikita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#40 of 153 in Albufeira
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#43 of 153 in Albufeira
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#91 of 153 in Albufeira
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#141 of 153 in Albufeira
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#99 of 153 in Albufeira
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#95 of 153 in Albufeira
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim

Address: Lote 5/7 Rua de Dunfermline | Apartado 859 - Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Luna Valmangude Jardim)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: $36 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Albufeira
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing