We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Ranked #151 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing holiday.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having booked this hotel as a last minute rash decision, we regretted not spending more time doing research and reading reviews.

The hotels location was perfect, far enough away from the main nightlife area's whilst being a short walk away, same for the beach. Unfortunately this was the only positive point about the stay here.

The room was averagely clean upon arrival, a double room was advertised however the room only had twin beds. The maids were supposed to change the towels three times a week, we had to chase them to change them the first time which was the 4th day of a 7night stay and we ended up only having them changed twice during the whole stay, and this was after requesting them be changed several times. The sun loungers by the pool were really uncomfortable, half of the back rests were broken and the rest felt like you were laying on spikes. There was no kettle in the apartment, you had to pay for one at reception! There was also no safe in the room, you had to pay a deposit and a daily rate to hire one. The friendliness of the staff was also sub par.

If you are wanting to stay in this area, I am sure there are tens of other hotels that are a similar price but would give you a much better experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callum_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    71
    54
    32
    66
See reviews for
81
78
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

myself and 2 other girls stayed in this hotel in Sept 2012. We had read all the reviews about it and wasn't sure what to think. The hotel is basic but it has all the appliances you need for self catering, could do with a lick of paint if anything. The room we stayed in had to be one of the biggest in length. Was close to the strip about 10 mins and quick taxi into the old town about 6-7 Euro's. Lovely family pub beside it called Fat Cats had good entertainment and nice food. Will stay in it again in 2013 when we go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BelfastSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I've stayed in Albufeira a few times now, and this is bar far the worst hotel I have stayed in (would go as far as saying the worst out of all in the world, and I've stayed in some not so nice ones...)

Arrived to find dirty marks on the towels, peeling paint trying to cover up the dirt on the tiles in the bathroom, half inch thick dust on the paintings in the bedroom, under the sink, and on the vent in the bathroom, a dirty table cloth, dirty marks on the walls in the living room, sweet wrappers and rocks under the sofas and broken tiles in each room.

The water was constantly yellow, apart from the last day where it was off most of the day, and the few times it was on we could only get the horrible red/brown 'sewage' water out of all the taps.

The pool bar shuts from mid September, so if your going late September or October, don't hope on being able to use this amenity as advertised. The pool has missing tiles as seen in other reviews, and a good percentage of the sun loungers are broken.

An extra warning to not leave valuables around, I was on the apartment one day with the door locked, the door opened and I assumed it was a cleaner, even though they hadn't rang the bell or knocked. When I went to the door to look I saw a cleaner at her trolley 2 doors down, so I sat on the balcony watching the door, the door was left open for 40 minutes, and no one came in, the cleaner that was nearby disappeared, and our cleaner came in several hours later. I'm glad I was in the apparent or anyone could have been in our room with the door left open for so long.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Daley13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We just got back on 4th October from Portugal, we stayed at the Valmangude Jardim Apartments. We were happy with the accommodation, the apartment was clean and roomy, the kitchen was adequate (hob, fridge, mircowave), spacious bedroom and living room. Excellent location, 10 minutes walk to the Strip, 10 minutes walk to the beach, 20 minutes to the old town. The reception staff were very helpful and the cleaning staff who came everyday were friendly and cheerful. This apartment accommodate would suit anyone on a budget. You will get value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossi2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I read some reviews before I booked this hotel but it didn't put me off . The hotel was lovely, it needs a little updating but the rooms were massive. The staff were fantastic. Please give this hotel a chance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

These apartments have pros and cons, but I think the cons outweigh the pros a little more unfortunately :( Very spacious main area of the apartment, but the main bedroom is tiny. A bit run down and on the shabby side, but clean enough. A poorly-equipped kitchen (no kettle or toaster). There was a balcony overlooking the pool, but the way it is designed there is a large block of concrete that blocks your view of the pool area - you can only see it standing up. The worst thing of all was that our apartment was next to the elevator - the walls seem to be paper thin, as all day and night the enormously loud noise of the elevator going up and down made a good night's sleep virtually impossible. The bedroom was also on the side of the extremely busy main road, which also disrupted sleep. Can't open the bedroom window either and no air-con in it, making it very stuffy, although the main area had a very good air-con system.

Only one key was given between three people, which was really annoying as it was always 'who's got the key?!' every 10 minutes, if we needed to pop up to the room etc. It is advertised as being 5 minutes from the old town - this is by taxi though, as walking there takes around 15-20 minutes. A taxi is only 3.90E though which is good. It's about 10-15 minutes walk from the main Strip (depending on how fast you can walk in the heat!!).

The pool itself was okay - plenty of people were swimming in it. A lot of the sun loungers were broken though so it was a battle to get one that would stay upright if you wanted to sit up rather than lie down fully. The worst thing of all about the pool area was the disgusting filthiness of the pool toilets - we were horrified, and then had to keep going up to the room (up 4 floors) to use the loo for a whole week (despite my friend informing a staff member about the state of the toilets, nothing was done). It certainly put us off eating any of the food from the pool 'cafe'. The staff were generally really nice, helpful, and friendly though. All in all I would not return here, but you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rania_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

When my girlfriend and myself arrived at the Valmangude Jardim hotel we did not have high expectations based on the reviews.

The building looked shabby on the outside with the sign having all its paint peeling off and it did not work.

When we entered the reception area it did have a bar with a lot of choice for drinks and the staff were very friendly espically Antonio ( I believe that is his name) except one member of staff who was named Eunice I believe as she did not seem very interested in her customers.

When we arrived at our room is was very dull and in desperate need of a coat of paint and then we were perplexed to see no bed in the room. After working out that our 'studio' apartment entitled us to two sofa beds for the week, oh the joys of sleeping on them espcially if you moved even slightly you were deafened with the sound of the frames creaking as they must have been as old as Jesus. In most hotels I have stayed in I would have thought of it to be standard to at least have normal beds in a room!

Inside the room there were a few cracks in the tiles and in the bathroom the paint in the bath was peeling and faded and did not look the cleanest, we were then shocked to see that instead of a door stopper in the bathroom somebody has taken the engenious idea of saving a few euro and hammered a nail into the tile to use it as a door stopper which I would not like to think would be like if somebody stood on it.

The room did have air conditioning but after having it turned on for 45 mins the floor was soaking as the unit was leaking.

Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and the roof of the door towards the pool but when we arrived we were met with cigarette ends lining the roof slates as well as used towels which seemed to have been left there for some time.

The pool area was quite spacious but many of the sun loungers were broke and could not be used to sit up.

Inside the pool many tiles were missing on the floor of the pool as well along the sides of the pool and make it slightly scary to walk on in fear of being cut.

Location wise the hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the old town and had a supermarket near by which was quite convienient.

During the start of the week the rooms was cleaned everyday until tuesday when the room was not cleaned for 3 days and the towels were not changed.

Needless to say we will not be back!

Room Tip: Do not have high expectations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadDogMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#155 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#86 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#124 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#66 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Aparthotel
Ondamar Aparthotel
#42 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#84 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim

Property: Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Address: Lote 5/7 Rua de Dunfermline | Apartado 859 - Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Luna Valmangude Jardim)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Albufeira
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing