We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Ranked #140 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
uk
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Got to agree with last few posts, I was a bit wary after reading some posts on here after I booked this accomodation. However it was good value for money, you dont get 5 star accomodation for 3 star prices. These apartments are basic but clean, very spacious and in a great location. Would I use them again? Yes i certainly would. Dont be put off by negative comments, if you are looking for cheap accomodation in this area dont be concerned about staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vinnym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    72
    54
    34
    67
See reviews for
81
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was the second year running that I stayed in this hotel. The rooms are basic but it's cheap so you can't expect much more. The receptionists were very helpful, especially the lovely Eunice. The standard of cleanliness and maintenance were not awful but need to be addressed. The rooms were not cleaned to a good standard and the furniture and fittings need to be renewed. The pool was not cleaned regularly enough which prevented us from using it for a few days as it looked so uninviting! There were tiles missing in the pool and surrounding area. Having said that a simple bit of maintenance and regular cleaning would make the world of difference. It is well located for 'The Strip' which is a 5 minute walk away. Overall it is good value for money but don't expect anything lavish!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertierboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I'm not one that normally writes reviews, but after booking to this place, and then reading reviews, I thought I should write one. I read a few bad reviews about this place and started worrying a bit, but there was absolutely no need! The apartment was spacious, which was great. Balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The only downside about it was that the cleaners didn't seem to check everywhere in the apartment! For what we needed - which was basically a bed to sleep on, it was great. Within walking distance of the strip, took about 5 mins or so. Plenty of places to choose from to eat. The cafe/pool bar wasn't open when we were there (6 - 13 Oct), am guessing they had closed this for the season. There was a bar inside where you could buy drinks from or there was a spar accross the road which sold drinks cheaper - no one stopped us from taking our drinks outside. The best bars we went to were Cafe Del Mar and Second Bar (which were across the road from each other). The bar staff were so friendly and really made us feel welcome there. Would definately go back there to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helsbells79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Just returned from few days when the weather in Portugal was above average temp so that was a bonus
The hotel was great ,It was really good value for money, The two girls on reception Andrea and Eunice couldnt do enough for us and were full of help and information, the room we had was huge . with everything you need including lashings of lovely hot water and an excellant shower, didnt cook a thing but it looked like it wouldnt have been a problem and a large balcony over looking the pool, There was aTV but all Portuguese channels but not a problem
The location was great not far from the strip and just a bit further to the Old town! the beach was a bit of a walk great going down to it but hard work coming back up the Hills!! But as it was such a wonderful beach it was all worth it and our daily routine was breakfast in Fat cats or Angelinas nearby then down the beach and walk along the water side to the Old Town, Brilliant
We also took the open topped tour bus one day which took you all over Albuferia and surrounding villages ,
We would come back to this hotel agin for sure

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliza2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here at the end of September 2011. A basic setup with a bedroom, bathroom, galley kitchen, sizeable dining/lounge area and a balcony overlooking the pools to the rear of the complex. The complex has a large circular pool and a smaller kids pool all with sun loungers. There is a bar in an outside building by the pool open during the day and a bar across from reception where the reception staff can serve drink if asked.

The complex is situated at a crossroads of 2 streets which makes it a great central location to base yourself. Although because of the crossroad and the fact that the bedroom is to the front traffic noise can be a bit overbearing when trying to sleep if you're not used to that kind of noise.

The rooms are spread out over 4 floors which can be accessed by lifts or strairs. There are also 2 computers where 1€ will get you 10 minutes of broadband internet access. No idea if the comlex offers Wi-fi.

No toaster or kettle provided with only a microwave and 2 ring electric hob for cooking, but who wants to cook on their holidays...

To sum it up... Cheap and cheerful for a base while on holiday and ideally situated for the Strip, the Old Town and nearby cafes and supermarkets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sannesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I've just returned from a weeks stay in Valmangude Jardim and I can honestly say we had a fantastic time, I travelled with a 10 people from ages 14-74 and we couldn't find a fault with this hotel. The rooms are huge,really spacious and clean, the bath rooms are a little dated but who cares?? The rooms where cleaned and towels changed every day. The pool area is clean and quite you've got no problem getting a sun bed, the pool bar was closed 2 days in to our holiday but we didn't mind as they opened the reception bar.
The location is fabulous, its 10 minutes to the strip and 20 minutes to the old town we preferred the old town as there is more going on :) Fatcats around the corner is worth a night especially on a Monday has karaoke is a good laugh! Overall we would return to his hotel as we found the staff really helpful and the hotel overall was great!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jlbasnett-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for two weeks in september and overall it wasnt too bad.
As other people have said cleanliness was the main problem but i think that the cleaners are expected to do their work in double quick time so have to rush their jobs. Our towels and bed linen were changed regularly though. The two receptionists are excellent Eunice (who makes lovely jewelry) is very helpful and pleasant as is Andrea who also has to work in the bar in the evenings and although not trained as a barmaid made a very good job of it . Both girls work very hard and I think the hotel owners should be very pleased that they have such efficient staff.
The location is excellent and quite a few nice restaurants and bars close by. We especially liked the Koala - Johnny Hoopers - Fat Cats & a very good chinese nearby (cant remember the name but just by the Eden Hotel)

Room Tip: Even nos on the ground floor opened out onto a nice green just off the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eicheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#148 of 154 in Albufeira
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turial Park
Turial Park
#112 of 154 in Albufeira
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#101 of 154 in Albufeira
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#63 of 154 in Albufeira
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ondamar Hotel
Ondamar Hotel
#102 of 154 in Albufeira
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim

Property: Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Address: Lote 5/7 Rua de Dunfermline | Apartado 859 - Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-278, Portugal (Formerly Luna Valmangude Jardim)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Albufeira
Valmangude Jardim Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing