We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good points.”
Review of Vale de Carros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vale de Carros
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very quaint and spotlessly clean apartment. The sheets were crisp and bright white which is nice to see. Location is nice, very quiet with a few bars and restaurants within a nice stroll. Nice friendly staff particularly Paolo and the lady on the bar (sorry, can't recall her name) dark hair, and so friendly. There is only one reason that we wouldn't return here and that's the sunbeds. Not only are they bolted down (we knew this from previous reviews but you don't quite realise how annoying it will be) but there are no mattresses. SO uncomfortable lying on hard plastic with just a towel. Due to this we only spent 1.5 days by the pool and went to the beach instead. A shame because we would've stayed by the pool more, and possibly had lunch there too. We hired a car so travelled about a bit including driving to Tavira and going to the beach on the ferry. 50 minute drive but worth it in our opinion. So to recap, we have a really lovely relaxing time but part of the holiday for us is relaxing by the pool with a book when we want to, but couldn't do it here. I know this may not bother other people but I just want people to be aware, if they're like us.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SallyGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 604 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very friendly, out of the way place. Apartments have sparse cooking facilities (2 rings) but eating out is quite cheap. Nice big balconies with your own sun bed is good. Ideal for a week but more than that would be a bit much.

Room Tip: Hugos restaurant good food and prices. Big difference in prices with not much competition. Walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidaymaker12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Visiting the wonderful Vale De Carros in spring is a wondrous thing. Staying in the one bed roomed ground floor apartments is a divine experience.The lovely clean ceramic tiled floors blend into the traditionally paved patio in the garden. Its a joy to sit on the table on the patio for breakfast and also in the evenings.Little birds came to visit me daily at breakfast.Which was a source of great joy. There is a true beauty in the peacefulness of the area. There is an orange grove across the street and the fragrance of the orange blossom must be experienced to realize how divine this fragrance is! The flowers in Portugal are a wonder to behold at spring and the fragrance in the meadows is like paradise,especially the sweet sage and lavender growing wild on the cliffs of Falisia. This is not a place for philistines to visit. If you want loud cheap thrills go to Albuferia or Vilamora. This is a place of true quality to visit for a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are the best for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is THE perfect spot, no matter the reason for your holiday. I've stayed in Lagos, Portimao, Alvor, Albufeira, Faro, Ferragudo - but this is perfect.

Group of friends (Lads/girls holiday) - perfect as you are close enough to Albufeira to have a great night out (more than one I'm sure), but far enough away to see out the hangover in peace and quiet. There's 5-a-side football, pool table and 2 swimming pools with a bar over-looking one.
I recommend a visit to Olhos D'Agua also, in particularly the restaurants Fratelli's and Pickwicks tavern and the bar Oasis.

Family - Great location for both Felesia and Olhos d'Agua beaches. The two pools are perfect for children of all ages - Although the top pool is more appropriate for smaller children and toddlers.
Close to bars and restaurants on the main road - I recommend the Italian and Hugo's personally.

Couples/Solo - you are left alone when you want to be. There is no forced activities, if you want to leave & go for a walk, Paolo & Renato will be more than happy to advise/recommend areas and bars.

Twice a day there is even a shuttle bus to and from Felesia beach - can't ask for much more.

I have visited this complex 4 times now - and it just gets better and better

Room Tip: if you're looking for the quiet place by the pool, no disturbances - ask for a room by the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Markah1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

2nd visit to Vale de Carros and yes, it may be a bit out of Albufeira town, but the staff are lovely, the food is amazing ( and cheap), the rooms are very basic but clean and there is some light entertainment each night. Lots of lovely resteraunts nearby ( loved the Chinese resteraunt but not overwhelmed by Italian next door ) A few shops and well stocked supermarket too. Taxi to Albufeira takes around 10 - 15 mins and can cost between 7 and 9 euros. The beach nearby is within walking distance but hotel runs a free bus twice daily and it's worth a look....beautiful beach stretching for miles. I would definately recommend as it is just such a lovely, friendly place and the local people are fantastic

Room Tip: studios sleep up to 3 and are on upper floor, but you do have your own sunbeds on the very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccarthylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from our second holiday at Vale de Carros and already planning to go back, This basic hotel is clean and friendly, it's a bit off the beaten track but still has a good choice of local restaurants and bars and is only a short taxi ride to either Albufeira or Villamoura. The beach is about a 20 minute walk or a 30 minute stroll but well worth the effort or the hotel run a courtesy bus twice a day although you have to book this the day before you want to go. The main reason we like this place is that it's not a busy bustling resort and it's
so peaceful and relaxing and it won't break the bank, we booked a week through Travel Republic for £80 for a studio apartment. If you are looking for clean basic but affordable accommodation where you can relax and recharge your batteries then this has got to be worth a visit

Room Tip: The apartments nearest reception get the sun as it rises but the ones farthest away from reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFlanagan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just wanted to warn anyone who thinks that they are going to Albufeira that they arent!! Val De Carros is situated in a small area called Falesia.

I couldnt fault the apartments, they are spacious, clean and in a good quiet spot. I gave the hotel an average marking but that is purely because of the location. We spent a lot of money on taxis aprox £10 in then £10 out of Albufeira everyday. We walked into Albufeira twice but it took us nearly 2 hrs to get there each time. By the time we got there we where exhausted and ready to go home again!!

We had to hire out a toaster from reception, iv never been to a hotel were you needed to hire a toaster??

There is a handful of shops and eating places in the local area but we travelled to Albufeira Old Town most nights. Old town is great and has a real atmosphere, there are lots of shops bars and restaurants, most of places have happy hours where you can get a beer for about 1.50eur. Found some of the food quite expensive.

The local people are very friendly and Praia beach is lovely pity it rained the whole time we were there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelfastNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#64 of 154 in Albufeira
452 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
465 reviews
7.1 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
705 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
2.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale de Carros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale de Carros

Address: Apartado 6015 | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8201-925, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $25 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vale de Carros 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Vale de Carros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale De Carros Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vale De Carros Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing