We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection - Just perfection.”
Review of Vale de Carros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vale de Carros
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is THE perfect spot, no matter the reason for your holiday. I've stayed in Lagos, Portimao, Alvor, Albufeira, Faro, Ferragudo - but this is perfect.

Group of friends (Lads/girls holiday) - perfect as you are close enough to Albufeira to have a great night out (more than one I'm sure), but far enough away to see out the hangover in peace and quiet. There's 5-a-side football, pool table and 2 swimming pools with a bar over-looking one.
I recommend a visit to Olhos D'Agua also, in particularly the restaurants Fratelli's and Pickwicks tavern and the bar Oasis.

Family - Great location for both Felesia and Olhos d'Agua beaches. The two pools are perfect for children of all ages - Although the top pool is more appropriate for smaller children and toddlers.
Close to bars and restaurants on the main road - I recommend the Italian and Hugo's personally.

Couples/Solo - you are left alone when you want to be. There is no forced activities, if you want to leave & go for a walk, Paolo & Renato will be more than happy to advise/recommend areas and bars.

Twice a day there is even a shuttle bus to and from Felesia beach - can't ask for much more.

I have visited this complex 4 times now - and it just gets better and better

Room Tip: if you're looking for the quiet place by the pool, no disturbances - ask for a room by the botto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Markah1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 604 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

2nd visit to Vale de Carros and yes, it may be a bit out of Albufeira town, but the staff are lovely, the food is amazing ( and cheap), the rooms are very basic but clean and there is some light entertainment each night. Lots of lovely resteraunts nearby ( loved the Chinese resteraunt but not overwhelmed by Italian next door ) A few shops and well stocked supermarket too. Taxi to Albufeira takes around 10 - 15 mins and can cost between 7 and 9 euros. The beach nearby is within walking distance but hotel runs a free bus twice daily and it's worth a look....beautiful beach stretching for miles. I would definately recommend as it is just such a lovely, friendly place and the local people are fantastic

Room Tip: studios sleep up to 3 and are on upper floor, but you do have your own sunbeds on the very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mccarthylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from our second holiday at Vale de Carros and already planning to go back, This basic hotel is clean and friendly, it's a bit off the beaten track but still has a good choice of local restaurants and bars and is only a short taxi ride to either Albufeira or Villamoura. The beach is about a 20 minute walk or a 30 minute stroll but well worth the effort or the hotel run a courtesy bus twice a day although you have to book this the day before you want to go. The main reason we like this place is that it's not a busy bustling resort and it's
so peaceful and relaxing and it won't break the bank, we booked a week through Travel Republic for £80 for a studio apartment. If you are looking for clean basic but affordable accommodation where you can relax and recharge your batteries then this has got to be worth a visit

Room Tip: The apartments nearest reception get the sun as it rises but the ones farthest away from reception a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BFlanagan1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just wanted to warn anyone who thinks that they are going to Albufeira that they arent!! Val De Carros is situated in a small area called Falesia.

I couldnt fault the apartments, they are spacious, clean and in a good quiet spot. I gave the hotel an average marking but that is purely because of the location. We spent a lot of money on taxis aprox £10 in then £10 out of Albufeira everyday. We walked into Albufeira twice but it took us nearly 2 hrs to get there each time. By the time we got there we where exhausted and ready to go home again!!

We had to hire out a toaster from reception, iv never been to a hotel were you needed to hire a toaster??

There is a handful of shops and eating places in the local area but we travelled to Albufeira Old Town most nights. Old town is great and has a real atmosphere, there are lots of shops bars and restaurants, most of places have happy hours where you can get a beer for about 1.50eur. Found some of the food quite expensive.

The local people are very friendly and Praia beach is lovely pity it rained the whole time we were there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelfastNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Apartments clean but no protection against mosquitos. Apartments surrounded by beautiful trees which unfortunately, attract mosquitos. Gaps under doors to balcony and windows allow them in. 6-8 eating places within 10 mins walking distance. Staff friendly however no reply whenever you phone reception from room. Pillows like sleeping on sack of potatoes however after complaining, these were changed. Hook holding shower head on wall came off in hand. If you're looking for luxury avoid, although good for long weekend/week break budget break. Would I stay there again? No.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB30Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A weeks holiday,which met average expectations.Studio was kept moderately clean,however towels changed twice and bed linen not changed for the duration of the stay.Comfort let down by single beds(requested double),no A/C and no oven or micro grill.An ideal requirement for many couples.The reception team at the resort were approachable,helpful and professional and even commisserated the October Portugese weather,which unfortunately was not ideal for sun seekers.Local shops,supermarkets and restuarants were within walking distance and offered good local choice of eating in or out.It's my second visit to Portugal and will recommend the accomodation for couples or adults,who want to keep their holiday basic and inexpensive.

Room Tip: "Be aware that most rooms face an access road" "Room has no A/C" "Balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

just arrived back from 2 weeks at vale de carros and decided we had to write a true review of the place while still fresh in our mind. arrived mid morning and was greeted with smiling faces and the check in was smooth and quick. we were told our apartment was about 75 meters down the road which didn't sound too promising at first but all was revealed later. the complex is made up of lots of groups of apartments stretching for over a couple of hundred yards with the studio apartments upstairs, there is an easy route from reception but we decided it was a bit complicated for the receptionist to explain to us. upon arrival at our apartment we were amazed at the size of it, we had a hallway, large bedroom, good size bathroom with in bath shower, sink, bidet and toilet. the cooking / lounge area was huge with french doors leading out to a huge patio. the cooking facilities are very basic with just a twin ring hob and a whistling kettle but you get a good range of pots and pans and cutlery and crockery. there is also a fridge with a small freezer compartment. the apartment was cleaned every day except sunday with clean towels every other day and linen changed three times during our 2 week stay. there are two pools, a big one at the top end near the bar and a smaller one near the bottom end. the poolbar opens from 9am to 12 midnight when the various entertainment finishes( but you can still get a beer if you want one after lol ) the local beer is 2.50 euro a pint, the food is excellent and very reasonably priced. the barstaff are very friendly helpful and polite especially rachel who works in the daytime and the lady who does the cooking ( unfortunately i didn't get her name ). the vale de carros is no good if you want lively nightlife except for the bar entertainment. there are a handful of restaurants, a supermarket and a tobaconist within a 10 min walk.the town of albeifura is about 7km away and will cost about 11 euro in a taxi which reception will call for you. all in all a good place to stay if you want to lounge by the pool and have a few beers at night

Room Tip: apartments are huge with smaller studios upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank neil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
452 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#48 of 154 in Albufeira
466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#64 of 154 in Albufeira
90 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jardins Vale de Parra
Jardins Vale de Parra
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
141 reviews
2.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#32 of 154 in Albufeira
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale de Carros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale de Carros

Address: Apartado 6015 | Olhos d'Agua, Albufeira 8201-925, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $24 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vale de Carros 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Vale de Carros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale De Carros Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vale De Carros Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing