We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Sol Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Heywood
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Stayed in a 2 bed apartment, it was extremely spacious and very clean, we had 2 bathrooms 1 a full bathroom the 2nd a shower room both had hairdryers. In the living area was a large tv that had BBC 1 & 2 and ITV as well as news channels etc. One small word, although a lot of the aprtments have a large balcony ours was only small and got no sun at all, but this was only a minor point, if you do want a larger balcony ask for a ground floor room as they all seemed to have sun loungers. Although some have said outdated I would class the decoration as typical Portuguese and for us seemed to add character. These apartments are a good base, about 5-10 mins to strip, but lots of little back roads take you towards the beach etc.
I would reccommend going to the Modelo supermarket to stock up on shopping as it was a lot cheaper, 5ltr water 36cents.
If you have kids would reccommend Tom and Jerrys, they were really welcoming to my 6yr old and had crayons and colouring available. Would also reccommend Devlins for a fab breakfast at only 3 euros just near paradise bar, again very friendly staff. If your after a really good meal then the Country Cockerel was excellent (you may need to book) it was a bit dearer then a lot of other places but worth it.
Overall we didn't find the cost had gone up that much from 2 years ago, you just have to look for the best spots, but the bars are all competing for business so that means competition. Even in the old town we found a place that was doing a 3 course tourist menu and drink for 10.95 and very large portions.
Would definitely go back to these apartments and love Albufeira.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellabessnjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    261
    50
    12
    13
See reviews for
275
356
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

we booked here for half term week, on arrival the apartment was clean and spacious, im always a bit concerned about my children sleeping on sofa beds but i have to say they were very comfy.
The pool was lovely , very clean , a bit chilly but ideal for children as the edges were not slippery, the surrounding lawns are beautifully kept and provide some shade for children to play . Although a few people felt the need to put towels out early to reserve sunbeds it was not necessary as they were always available.
The snackbar is brilliant, very friendly, very large measures of spirits and lovely food.
The walk to the beach is about 20 mins, its then nice to walk along the beach into the old town , the beach is quite interesting when the tide is out due to lots of rockpools, there is also lots of rocks to climb on.
In the old town there is a nice italian restuarant called bravo with a huge menu, a taxi back to the hotel cost between 3.25 - 3.90 euros, much cheaper than the land train.
unfortunately at the end of our week a large group of men on a stag weekend arrived, up until then this had been a hotel very suitable for families, however due to their heavy drinking, swearing shouting and banging doors alnight this was ruined.
perhaps the hotel should restrict all male/female guest and concentrate on families.
This said i would return to this hotel and recommend it, just take earplugs.
The mini market and bakery next door are very good .
All in all a great week away. Try it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We spent 2 nights here as part of a mini break to Portugal. It was a wonderful place to stay. Everyone was very friendly. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. The apartment was large. It was an easy walk (although quite long) to the beach. You must go to the Fishermans beach at the old town. The taxis were very cheap. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This place is not too bad. I certainly wouldnt give it 4 stars however it did the job. The pool and snack bar are very nice. I went in May and there seemed to be plenty of sun loungers. Me and 3 of my friends stayed in one apartment yet there was only one bedroom for two and a sofa bed in the lounge area so that was diappointing. The rest of the apartment was clean and spacious although the design was a little 1960's.
Downstairs the lobby is a bit dingy and so was the bar and games room which we never ventured as a bit depressing. Its located very well for the strip and also the train which takes you the old town and supermarket. All in all it wasnt bad the pool is the best bit and try to get an apartment thats not permanently in the shade as they all have balconies.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2009

A fabulous apartment, well situated, very very clean, all staff were very freindly, only 1 downfall, beds were too hard, apart from that, brilliant. Avoid the strip if over a certain age, much nicer in the Old Town,

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Von16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We decided to book the Tropical Sol after reading all the positive comments, and we weren’t disappointed. We expected a studio and found that we had a one bedroom apartment facing the pool with our own wicker loungers. The apartments themselves were spotless and cleaned daily. We never saw the cleaners, but they did an excellent job.

The gentleman we dealt with at reception went out of his way to help us and printed out copies of local bus timetables as well as giving us useful information on places we wanted to visit. We ate at the pool snack bar a couple of times and the beef steak was delicious served by friendly staff.

The Tropical Sol was situated in a quiet area but close enough to the Strip or to the Old Town, which we preferred. There were also pletny of restaurants nearby as well as a large supermarket.

The bakery around the corner was our downfall - fresh bread daily and fresh cream cakes!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_and_BWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex by the sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We have just returned from Portugal having had the most amazing holiday. I would recommend this apartment complex to anyone. Clean, spacious and very well equipped apartments (had everything you could need for self-catering including a microwave, toaster, electric hob cooker, fridge and kettle), we had a room on the ground floor with a terrace overlooking the swimming pool - maid service was second to none and I felt the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Huge luxurious swimming pool, surrounded by lush grass and lots of palm trees. Lovely tennis court which is floodlit when the sun goes down. The snack bar was very good, a wide choice of food and made fresh to order. We tended to eat out most nights, our favourite restaurant was called the English Kitchen, which is off one of the side roads from the main strip at the top of a hill. Lovely owners and family are very friendly and offer a warm welcome, especially to families/children; they even have toys to keep the little ones amused. The whole complex and resort was very clean, the portugese were extremely friendly and spoke very good english. There was nothing we could fault in Albufeira/or our apartment. The location of the apartments were fantastic - a 5 minute walk to the main strip where all the restaurants/boutiques/bars/nightclubs are and a 15/20 minute stroll to the old town and fisherman's beach which is so pretty. The beaches are clean, and beautiful. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. We can't wait to go back. Just one word of warning; the temperature during the spring months drops quite a lot in the evening, so a pair of trousers/warm cardigan/jumper/jacket is required. Gloriously hot sunshine during the day though!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albufeira-converts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 154 in Albufeira
1,745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sol Apartments

Property: Tropical Sol Apartments
Address: Rua Natalia Correia 11, Albufeira 8200-285, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Sol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sol Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Tropical Sol Albufeira
Tropical Sol Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing