We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place just not for us, our fault, not theirs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Sol Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2009

All the arrangements by Travel Republic were excellent, booking/transfers were efficient and on time. The hotel staffs were polite, efficient and attended to any problems. The room (a studio in the annex) was of reasonable standard and size.
However when the weather is cold (as it was while we were there) the heating in the room was poor. This could be due to the fact that the air conditioning unit was inadequate at ground level, with the result that anyone sitting felt cold. Our Studio was also at the end of the terrace, which could also have had an effect.
We prefer hotels with a little bit more entertainment available, and with a restaurant available for those nights when weather is poor. The Tropical Sol does not have this facility so we would not return for that reason. I do not say this as a complaint merely an observation.
The pool area and area is very nice and spacious, and the hotel cleanliness good

A restaurant that we would recommend is
Restaurante Caravela which is on the right just before the taxi stand on the road up from the worms roundabout towards the strip. They have an excellent tourist menu
With starter choice of 8 main courses and sweet, beer, wine or soft drink 8.5 euros.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 919 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2008

Just got back from a week at the Tropical Sol - we cannot recommend this place highly enough. We had a large, very spacious and comfortable studio which was more that adequately furnished and equipped and was very clean. The terrace area had a table and two chairs with two bamboo loungers with thick comfy cushions. The apts were within easy walking distance of the Strip, the beach and also the train service to the Old Town which we fell in love with.
I would also strongly recommend a visit to The Golden Garden chinese restaurant situated at the bottom of the Strip across from Wild & Co restaurant. The food was amazing, the service faultless and the cost absolutely amazing - try the crispy duck with pancakes - to die for!!!
Also try the Portugese steak at Blue Sky situated on one of the streets off the right hand side of the Strip as you walk down - its well signed anyway. A typical portugese place where the welcome was exceptional and the food and service was brilliant.
A word of warning - if offered cheap cigarettes or tobacco - beware.
We had two guys offer us and we almost got totally ripped off - we said what we wanted and within a few mins the guy was back with a large bin bag 'full' of what we had asked for - a refusal to open the bag which was taped closed was enough of an alarm bell for us so we walked away and bought our requirements the legal and usual way - still great bargain.
For cigar smokers, my hubby recommends SALUDOS cigars, much larger than Hamlet etc, and only 10 euros for a box of 25.
We shall certainly go back to the Tropical Sol and revisit the many great eateries we came across but if you only try 2 places, try the two listed above - you will not be disappointed.
Also, the bakery next to the tropical sol is amazing - every morning fresh crusty rolls, butter and cheese. Food has not been the same since we came back!!!!
The large supermarket is a 2-3 min walk from the Sol so everything is ideally situated for a carefree, stressless self catering break - even at night, the bar at the hotel had no problem giving us a jug of ice cubes - nothing was too much.
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbysgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

Just spent a week at the Tropical Sol apartments. They were spotlesslesly clean very large one bedroom apartment. Pool area superb, friendly staff throughout. Surrounding area beautiful within easy reach of "the strip" , the old town, and bus station. Fat Cats bar diner across the road, where Michelle and Gary made us extremely welcome, great food cooked fresh for you and delicious, very friendly atmosphere. Will defo be booking up for next summer.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank peelmarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We have just come back from a week at the Tropical Sol and had one of the best holidays ever. We had a 2 bed apartment which was HUGE with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a huge living area with a kitchen just off this and a very big flat screen tv, with bbc 1, ITV, bbc news ect... We had maids come in every day and make our beds, the staff are all very friendly, the snack bar is one of the best I have ever eaten at the food was FAB and again the staff here were really nice. The pool area was great and my daughter stayed in this nearly all day, every day (we only went to the beach once as she loved the pool so much). The complex is sooooo clean and they are always cleaning the pool in the mornings.

I can not rate the complex enough, I would never normally write anything on a site like this but because we had such a nice time I felt I had to. I travelled to a 4* hotel in the canaries in Mar and it was not a patch on this complex, including the food! I was a bit worried about the weather, but again was not disappointed we had one cloudy day and the other 6 we had clear blue skies, and nice and hot.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ward123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Absolutley Fabulous!!! The hotel was so clean, very good size apartments, great pool area, the Snack bar staff were wonderful, they were so friendly and their food was lovely and cheap, They had happy hour between 3-7 1.50 Euro per pint and alot of people took full advantage of that!!! - Before we left we had a whip round to show our appreication.

We went between 11th and 18th of September, weather still lovely, but pool did take your breath away!! would go back again this time of year.

They have Karaoke 'Taffy Karaoke' every week which is a good laugh.

The strip was nice, had some nice bar's and places to eat. the old town we thought was much better, beaches are great!

I came with a group of Family/Friends, there was 14 of us, our ages ranged from 18 to Mid 50's and there was something for all of us, we all had a great time and would recommend to everyone.

Think on the previous review they called us the 'Clampit' family!!! Now who goes on holiday for a good time EVERYONE!!! think because there was alot of us we were louder than any other of the residents. I think drinking Strongbow from 10 in the morning is a slight exaggeration, I didnt drink during the day as a few other of my group didnt, Some of the other holiday makers joined in with us, we met a lovely couple from Dagenham and Scotland and a few others. Good Time had by all

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RandJLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

The tropical sol was a lovely hotel, very clean and friendly staff. The snack bar on the poolside was good, nice food. We never experienced any problems with sunbeds but was there from 11 to 18 sept so perhaps not as busy. Agree with other reviews the pool was freezing.

Didn't really like the strip, was very expensive for nasty cocktails and not very nice food.

The old town however was really nice with some lovely places to eat down on Fishermens beach. Very busy and lively. There is a little bus that takes you to the old town from the top the strip. The buses are frequent and run until 2.30 in the morning.

Found it all to be rather expensive though so take lots of euros.

There was rather a rowdy lot at the hotel,which my husband referred to as the clampit family. I think there holiday consisted drinking pint after pint of srongbow from 10 in the morning. Nothing the hotel can do about that though.

Overall enjoyed our stay and the old town but not the strip.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kerry1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

Stayed here for 4 nights and wished it had been a lot longer. From check in to check out the staff at this hotel were excellent, the food in the hotel was great and the drinks were quite cheap.

The rooms had a nice comfy bed, air con, TV with some international channels a good sized bathroom and was all cleaned on a daily basis.

We had a room right by the pool which i would fully recommend although it was 30 degrees it takes a few minutes to get used to the pool cos its freezing.

The location of the hotel was also excellent being a short walk from the strip and only 2kms from the old town.

I would stay here again and again it was great.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 153 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#87 of 153 in Albufeira
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#43 of 153 in Albufeira
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 153 in Albufeira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sol Apartments

Address: Rua Natalia Correia 11, Albufeira 8200-285, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $32 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Sol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sol Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Tropical Sol Albufeira
Tropical Sol Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing