We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this year's holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Sol Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropical Sol Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“this year's holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Back home in wet Wales after this years visit to the Tropical Sol. Transport from Faro airport by Yellowfish transfers, excellent as usual. Room not ready as we arrived early, so we had breakfast at the snack bar run by Francisco and Natalie met up with old friends and chilled out. What a lovely surprise when we got our room, no 09 by the hotel entrance, new big flat screen tv in the lounge, new lovely glass coffee table,a new kitchen (very nice) and a flat screen tv above the door in the bedroom,luxury!. NEW pillows no lumps n bumps wonderful, pity the wind was cold but by the weekend it had got very warm and turned into a breeze very hot during the day. Meals at the snack bar were excellent,Francisco's standards are very high. I looked at the studio by the snack bar 0015 much bigger than I expected almost a 1 bed apartment the drawback you have to go through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. I also looked at the rooms on the 1st floor by the bar, very impressed so we may go for one of these next year to avoid having to drip dry after a swim before going through the hotel entrance to get to 09.housekeeping was good again this year towels and bedlinen changed almost daily. Unfortunately the owner still has not put any entertainment in the bar in the evenings but Angelu's bar round the corner from the hotel provides plenty. The bakery and the minimarket are still excellent value for money as are the snack bar meals. Taxi fares are up by about 1euro on last years fares. Our lovely receptionist Mara is still here as are the other reception staff and problems are sorted out quickly and efficiently.Here's to next years visit and what will the owner surprise me with next time new sun loungers on the patio, the ones in use are not easy to use for sunbathing.looking forward to June 2014

Room Tip: Rooms 07 to 09 are at street level and the patios are very private and large. Rooms 011 to 014 also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d.jkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    252
    49
    11
    12
See reviews for
257
329
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerrykeel, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week, a group of four girls and we had a great experience at this hotel. On arrival we were greeted at reception and check in was no hassle and quick! The pool area is very big and there are plenty of sun loungers. However i can imagine during peak season that demand would be greater and maybe harder to get sunloungers. Staff organised taxis for us to the old town. Hotel is a 5 minute walk to the strip, however we found entertainment in the old town to be better!! we ate a few times in the snack bar and the food was great. The bar staff there are very friendly! There is no entertainment however in the hotel, but they did play music down by the pool. There is also no wifi, you have to pay for it and i think it only works in the reception area. We are going out to Portugal again in August, we tried to book this place but it's fully booked! It was great value for money - so clean and pool area is very big! We will definitely go back here again!

Room Tip: we had a two bedroom room on the second floor. it was very big and spacious for the four of us! balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheliGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just got back from a 10 days stay in these apartments. The apartments are large, clean and modern. Like other reviews have said, some of the rooms on the lower floors have very large balconies, we didn't have one but if I went again I would certainly request one. The snack bar sells good value food, and the apartments are about 5 mins from the strip. Rooms are cleaned and towels are changed 6 days a week, airconditioning is free as is the TV which as English channels (BBC and ITV)
One down side is the pillows which are very lumpy (we had 4 in our room), we complained to the reception and recieved some different ones, which were still a bit lumpy, but better than the original ones. Also people reserve sun beds, as they seems to be a bit of a shortage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L_N_Bradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days in May 2013 for the second time, I stayed here for a week last October 2012 and again I was very impressed. The rooms are big and spacious and very clean. The pool area was spotless the staff are so friendly and helpful. Checking in and out is effortless, so good are the staff at reception. The food at the pool side bar was fantastic well done to Natalya and her family who run the snack bar. So impressed I am going back in September looking forward to it.
Top Class!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlovinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having read the reports on Trip Advisor about this hotel being a haven for rowdy hen and stag parties - we, with some trepidation, decided to bite the bullet and booked the Tropical Sol Apartments for 10 nights! Armed with ear plugs and an emergency bottle of vodka (to aid sleep of course) we took our chances - we drank the vodka but the ear plugs remained untouched! Apart from the first night when a group of revellers returned from partying at about 5 in the morning, we were not disturbed by anyone enjoying prenuptial celebrations - if anything there were a couple of isolated incidents where older guests (and I mean older) could have behaved in a more mature manner and set a good example, but it takes all sorts and I guess life would be boring if everyone were the same! We were allocated a spacious one-bedroom apartment with a massive sun-trap balcony and the accommodation itself was so spotlessly clean, you could eat your dinner off the floor! The Tropical Sol is perfectly located for both the strip and just a short taxi-ride from the Old Town. From talking to other guests, it seems that people return to these apartments year after year and I fully understand why - reasonably priced with friendly, helpful staff - it has everything and more that you could you ever wish for from a holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry, ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for a week on the 31st May with two other friends. We had a one bed apartment on the 4th floor which was very clean and spacious. The pool are was lovely and the sunbeds are free and very comfortable. We did notice that a lot of hens/stags stayed at the hotel, which didn't bother us, families with children may not like this tho. The staff were so nice and helpful especially the family that run the pool snack bar. I am returning again to Albufeira in August but the Tropical Sol is unfortunately booked out.I would definitely stay here again if I can get a room! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heatherDheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, excellent value for money. Was incredibly impressed with the cleanliness of the entire grounds. The apartments are huge! Reception staff could not have done enough for us. Would most definitely recommend with the highest accolade. Faultless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#17 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
Areias Village Hotel Apartamento
0.4 mi away
Vila Petra Aparthotel
Vila Petra Aparthotel
#4 of 119 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sol Apartments

Property: Tropical Sol Apartments
Address: Rua Natalia Correia 11, Albufeira 8200-285, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Sol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sol Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Tropical Sol Albufeira
Tropical Sol Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing