We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Sol Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Just back from a week in Albufeira staying in the Tropical Sol apartments, this is our 3rd visit to Albufeira, we love it, this is the first time we've stayed in Tropical Sol. Loved the apartments, everything about them was great, they were clean, the staff were very helpful, there was a very relaxed atmosphere around the pool and both the snack bar at the pool and the bar inside the hotel were great and food and drinks were reasonably priced. The apartments are located a 10 minute walk from the Strip and about 25 minute walk from the Old Town, we had previously stayed nearer to the Old Town so this was a change for us, really enjoyed the Strip this time. Dying to go back and will definitely be trying to stay in Tropical Sol again, everything was very chilled, could happily have stayed another week.

Room Tip: We had a first floor apartment even though we'd only paid for a Studio which was a bonus however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lainebaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 919 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have stayed here many many times , we used to travel with Sunworld Ireland and they had it in their brochure at one time , it issold independently now on the Internet so you book it directly or you can call them . Bella the owner is very helpful .
The selling point for Varandas is the size of the apartments , it has 3 bedroom apartments which are hard to get in the Algarve and I believe also 4 bedrooms too. But you can always call or mail Bella and ask her.
There is 2 swimming pools and a small pool bar .
It is still predominantly Irish clientele , Bella seems to direct it to that market.
The apartments all have new kitchens , although some of the furniture is old , it is always clean .
There is a supermarket next door which is convenient,
2 restaurants Leme which is Portuguese cuisine and a continental style restaurant Mama Mia which has a great different menu and a wonderful sea and marina view terrace. There is also a few snack bars locally.
The walk into Albufeira town is all down hill approx 20 minutes. Which means uphill on the return I would suggest a taxi.
Getting here is easy taxi from Faro is not that easy as they only take 4 people so as a family of 6 we need 2 . So we book a transfer company called yellowfish taxis they have small cars but if you are a larger party they have minibuses and rather are not much more expensive than the car (only 8 maybe 9 euro more if I'm not wrong ).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Central, clean , large apartments , have all you need and in a good spot near the Strip.
Old town is accessible by taxi , bus , or not too fa to walk.
Restaurants and bars all close by . Restaurants are varied .
A lovely cake shop is in front of the hotel.
We flew with jet 2 who were good as they allocated seats and we took a transfer with yellowfish transfers also very good they gave a free bottle of wine as a gift

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent hotel, marble flooring through out, staff cleaning all day, stayed in room 215 and was large enough for a family of 4, pull out bed underneath sofa in lounge. Twin beds in bedroom, shower and bath. Kitchen was adequately equipped with fridge, 2 ring hob, microwave and kettle. All rooms overlook the poolside. pooliside bar is excellent, 3euros for hamburger roll, 7euros for a pork chop meal which came with 3 large chops, 2euros a pint of local beer and a glass of wine 2euros. Tins of juice 1.50euros Poolside bar is open from 10am-10pm. U can have breakfast for 5.5euros, 2.75 for under 12,s in main hotel. Served from 8am-1030am.
Downside the pool is absolutely freezing it took a brave person to just jump right in, think it was constantly running from a cold water tap. Once u were in it and moving around u got used to it. Shopping centre pingo doce is just out main doors turn left and at bottom of road turn right u will see a roundabout with green and red worms on it, the shopping centre right across the road (greencanapoies). Hotel has a pool table and football table, plus 2 car game machines. Could do with putting on entertainment but thats my own thoughts. The famous strip is only 10mins walk away with a large variety of eateries and souvenir shops.would highly recommend the clay oven 3rd indian down before u hit the strip. 32.50 for 2 adult meals and pakoras n chips plus drinks for 3ppl its always busy. Not much for children to do unless u want to sit on a bus for 40mins to travel to some of these trips like the zoo etc. Boat trips wont take any less than 6ppl out so best avoiding going around 12pm and go later on in day or organise thru someone else. All in a good week was had.

Room Tip: All rooms have poolside view dont pay extra for a poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank debs3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just returned yesterday from Tropical Sol this is our second visit here within 6 months , first visit very good but 2nd visit was even better. Staff at hotel very friendly and cleaners also. Staff at pool bar were excellent, food and drink very reasonable prices . Apartment was cleaned with clean towels 6 days out of 7 they don't come on a sunday .
Strip great place to explore during the day and night. Fat Cats a good place to eat penty choice at reasonable prices , a must is to visit the sizzling stone because the steaks are to die for , Angolus is a great karoke bar for night entertinment.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just asked to be moved rooms could not be more accommodating great staff came here last year prices reasonable and better than the strip great hotel ill be back every year. The area is good. Places to go lugis on the strip and the Yorkshire tavern great atmosphere and best dart board on the algarve. Family friendly and I could not be happier

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craigt1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a great place to stay, everything about the place was lovely, staff where very friendly and nice, food was nice, pool bar was fantastic, hotel was lovely and clean, well worth a visit for anyone, we will be going back again next year for long next time though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#13 of 153 in Albufeira
1,861 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#87 of 153 in Albufeira
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#43 of 153 in Albufeira
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#30 of 153 in Albufeira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sol Apartments

Address: Rua Natalia Correia 11, Albufeira 8200-285, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $32 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Sol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sol Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Tropical Sol Albufeira
Tropical Sol Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing