We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Sol Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here from 25 Feb for a week. We were in room 214 - a 1 bed apartment on the 2nd floor. Absolutely beautiful, and very large. Plenty of wardrobe space and drawers. Everything you need - the only thing it didn't have was an oven, but that was ok cos I don't tend to cook on holiday. There wasn't many shops open as the season hadn't started and on The Strip pavements and roads were being repaired. Make sure you go to "The Clay Oven" and "The Cockerel". Fantastic food, in fact we've never had a bad meal in Portugal.

Room Tip: I would imagine all the rooms here are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bud220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 911 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Good location close to bars and amenities, strongly recommend Fat Cats and Angelos which is just around the corner, supermarket close by. The place its self is absolutely spotless we stayed in room 05, superb pool area, lovely pleasant staff always very helpful and very polite. Breakfast would benefit from being freshly cooked not yesterdays sausage, old beans and rubbery eggs we chose to eat else where due to this. Room would benefit from better quality TV and some sort of English movie channel which i would be more than happy to pay for. I would happily stop there again any time. Ten minute walk from the strip, overall enjoyed our stay and thanks to the lovely staff!

Room Tip: Room 05 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank akdjajaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our first visit to Portugal and we did a lot of research on trip advisor before selecting this hotel and what a superb hotel it is. Lovely bar and breakfast area. Great pool overlooked by all apartments.
We stayed in a very comfortable 1 bedroom apartment on the ground floor, apartment no.1 actually. We were on a b&b basis and the breakfast choice was very good including hot food.
Our apartment had very spacious rooms with the bonus of a lovely terrace with loungers.
As other reviewers have pointed out the pillows ARE very hard.
All of the staff are extremely friendly and the breakfast lady even came in early the day we were going home and cooked for us.
Unfortunaely the well reviewed snack bar wasn't open as it was only February but we found plenty of good restaurants round about.
Best of the restaurants :-
Farnell ( for steaks )
Clay Oven ( great Indian)
Peccati di gola ( Italian ) in the old town

The little tourist train was great for getting to the old town and quite cheap at 2 euros or 3.50 for an all day ticket. Taxi cost 6 euros each way.

The famous "Strip" was a let down as half of it was being dug up and half was shut being out of season. It looked a bit tacky anyway.

All in all a fab hotel , and a fab holiday. Loved the Algarve and will return to this hotel without doubt.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to look out over the pool area. Some have terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for a hen weekend in February 2012, The location was great as there was a supermarket down the road which we were able to get essentials from. There was also a row of cafes which served full English breakfasts and other snacks. The apartments them selves were clean and spacious, the beds were comfy as we were there in February it was cold so we werent able to use the pool facilities but our room backed onto the pool side. I would say it is value for money but would not stay there if was travelling for a holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mads S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

just got back yesterday
from the minute we arrived we were treated like royality,staff great hotel great changed our room from a studio to a two bed room dissapointed in this since there was only two of us and the studios were on the ground floor ,but hey the rooms were four star quality the pool brilliant and grounds ,strip far enough away from noise but close enough to walk would defo stop at this hotel again ,cleaners never stopped very clean hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

just done a week here absoultly fabulous spotless friendly great location the apartments are huge with beautifull views to the pool two min walk to the strip and to a amazing chinese restaraunt the shanghia palace (mmmmmmmmmmmmm) lovely bar just to the left called fat cats britished owned great food all sports, games and quizs its a great night out joe works hard paul and karen do the culinary delights give it a go you wont be disapointed

Room Tip: all rooms are as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hoytey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Returned last week from our first stay and I'm sure we'll return.
Firstly, the hotel is a really pleasant surprise. It was very clean (there seemed to be a couple of cleaners who were non-stop throughout daylight!), the staff were all incredibly lovely and it would be no exaggeration to say they served the best breakfast I've ever had. Order the toast...possibly the best I've ever had.

Secondly, the pictures do not do the pool any justice. It is stunning and although it was absolutely freezing, it felt much safer than other hotel pools. The gardens were lovely and the tennis court was good fun. We got quite lucky with the weather so we were able to enjoy our lovely "front garden". Lucky enough to have a pool side apartment which was great. All rooms had heaters (in case it got cold...which it did in the evenings). There's a fabulous bakery just a few steps away from the hotel - great for stocking up on bread etc.

We stayed in early Feb, so Albufeira itself might not be someone we'd want to return to in peak season. However, our trip was fantastic and Tropical Sol would be a hotel I'd recommend to friends and family. Tips - try and get a pool side apartment and splash out on the breakfasts....they're amazing.

Room Tip: Go for a pool side apartment / room if you can....lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 154 in Albufeira
1,006 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#19 of 154 in Albufeira
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luna Hotel da Oura
Luna Hotel da Oura
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sol Apartments

Address: Rua Natalia Correia 11, Albufeira 8200-285, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $27 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Sol Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tropical Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Sol Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Tropical Sol Albufeira
Tropical Sol Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing