We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing holiday”

Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments
Ranked #81 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
hamilton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent relaxing holiday”
Reviewed May 31, 2009

This was my first trip to solar dos however my partner has been going for years and I was extremely impressed. We stayed in the privately owned accomdation which was to an excellent standard.
The staff were great and sue is really helpful. Entertainment was on most nights even though it is early in the season.
You are close enough to the strip to walk but far enough away you never hear any for the noise.
A great a holiday in general will be returning in September.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorigary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
22
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Sue is now running the complex. When last visited Dale was running it(if you could call it that). Sue is very approachable, helpful and made us feel very welcome.
The apartments could still do with some updating but if you are someone who is not too fussy and just expects the apartment to be clean, comfortable and have all the utensils etc you need this place will do fine .
Also as not overly busy it is lovely just lying and relaxing by the pool, ordering a drink and a snack from either Ryan or Lisa who are both great little workers.
All in All we enjoyed our stay and hope to return later in the year

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2009

have been staying at solar for the past 14 years and have loved it. last two years have not been good such a rude man had taken over and we missed the usual friendliness and helpfulness that is normal here sue has now taken over and everything is back to normal cant wait for september

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2009

just returned from a 5 day break at the solar dos vilarinhos, we were made to feel very welcome by sue wright the new manager of these great apartments,the bar staff are as pleasant along with the few local residents who went out there way to invite our party to there BBQ. i celebrated my birthday out there and sue bought us all a round of drinks(cheer's again sue). keep up the good work sue, we will defo be back

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocknottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We are going to Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apts for the past 10 years and absolutely love it!! Would have to agree with some of the comments over the past 2 years as it was under new management. He clearly had no idea how to run a business like this. It has now been taken over by a fellow holidaymaker who has great plans for it and knows the clientel and what people want. We have booked there again this year and would like to reassure anyone interested in booking these apartments that they will have nothing to worry about. We have met wonderful friends over the years and our children are now grown up and go here with their friends and families.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

The rooms were good, very roomy and decent balcony, It's a good walk to the north of the strip - best / main area, in my opinion, is south.
We stayed in October so very quiet in the complex, no entertainment at all although advertised in the bar it never materialised. Staff were pretty indifferent to our party although not rude, not helpful either, would not let us keep our room at any cost on last day, or let us have another although place was pretty empty.
Would not stay again.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngyWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Overrun by Cockroaches, ongoing renovations, no hot water for days on end, no clean sheets for the entire 10 days, unhygienic kitchen (hairs in food, staff not washing hands after bathroom), rude staff.

Although we had booked the apartment 2 months in advance, when we arrived they were doing renovations to it so we were woken up the first few mornings at 9am with loud drilling and we also had no hot water for 3 days as the gas was disconnected. When we asked how long more the renovations were going to be going on, the owner tried to tell us that the builders were working on the apartment next door (even though they were actually standing on our balcony carrying out work at the time of this conversation).

The renovations obviously disturbed a lovely extended family of cockroaches which over ran the apartment once the builders had gone and which resided with us for the last 3 days. The owner at first denied there were any cockroaches – even though we invited him to go and look at all the ones we had trapped under bowls in the apartment – and then said if there were any it was because we obviously were ‘dirty’. It was only on the 3rd day of complaining about the cockroaches did he finally agree to let us change apartments; this was after an incident earlier in the day where his behaviou had become quite aggresive towards us.

I was particularly amused by the response I got when I went back to the pool bar with a sandwich that had a lump of hair in the middle of it: “It’s ok, it’s from my mother. Her hair is washed”. So anyone who enjoys a nice hair sandwich can rest assured it will be a clean one!

The people around the pool, however, were all very nice, particularly a lovely family from the UK who go there every year and who were very supportive of us when trying to get the apartment owner to rectify any of the problems. While the pool itself is nice and the location is good, this is entirely overshadowed by the rude staff and above all the apartment owner whose attitude was a disgrace. Would not recommend this place to anyone, unless there is a change in management.

  • Liked — Good location, nice pool
  • Disliked — Level of customer services was non-existant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HolidayMad2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
0.8 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#72 of 154 in Albufeira
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#102 of 154 in Albufeira
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Balaia Golf Village
Balaia Golf Village
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#149 of 154 in Albufeira
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#95 of 154 in Albufeira
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments

Property: Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments
Address: Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-317, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Hotel Class:3 star — Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Solar Dos Vilarinhos Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing