We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a seagull in sight!”
Review of Paladim Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paladim Aparthotel
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

having stayed at this place last year i was worried about feed back from may this year however i need not have worried if anything the new owners are getting their act together and really sorting the place out that being said the snack bar needs massive improvements food wise. service is excellant rooms cleaned everyday towels changed etc. staff very helpful. ideal location midway between old and new would def recomend they have sorted the problem with the seagulls didnt see one in pool whole week we were there, last year they had there nightly baths in it . hope you enjoy

Room Tip: ask for pool view as other side faces busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 698 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just been reading a few recent reviews and was shocked to here about this apart hotel where we have stayed a few times now and are visiting again in the next 4 weeks. We stayed here for the first time last June, me, my husband and my mum and dad and we really enjoyed everything about the holiday from booking in to leaving. Then me and my husband returned in October last year and again had a wonderful time. The only thing with the kitchen both times was there was no kettle. First time we used a pan, the next time we asked at reception and they sent us one up. There was English TV (ITV, BBC, C4 you name it, we had it) this was fantastic. We could watch all our soaps then go out about 9 in the evening which suited us fine. There was 2 ladies in the bar that were very friendly and remembered us from last time which was nice. The pool was small but clean and tidy. Great location, one way was to old town, the other to strip but that wasn't for us. All in all can't wait to go back, counting the days.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is not a 4 star hotel, I stayed in room 311 which unfortunately wasn't presented to a high standard for the following reasons...ceiling rose hanging loose, broken T.V., faulty patio doors, but the most frightening thing was the faulty electric hob which was exceptionally dangerous as the knob had clearly been broken which meant it was impossible to know if the hob was switched on or off (we were so wary of it that we switched it off at the mains)., also the singing kettle was missing a section which resulted in boiling water flying out of the spout and causing a burn to my hand. All of these things were reported to the staff, only the T.V. was replaced. We found the staff generally helpful but sadly whoever was in charge of housekeeping didn't work to a very high standard in that when we arrived at this hotel we found that the toilet seat and lid were covered in excretia, sadly the housekeeper had gone ahead and placed a toilet seal around the toilet making it appear that it had been properly cleaned. The toilet was blocked with hotel brochures, the bathroom floor and shower head were very dirty also.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fionnuala A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

at this hotel for 2 weeks - 1st 2 weeks in april. location fantastic - 20 mins walk from old town, 20 mins walk from the "strip" where all the bars are, 20 mins from bus station to get you all along the algarve, 20 mins walk from the new town & 2 beaches! in the old town fishermans beach has an escalator to get down to the beach. - out of hotel and turn left! room was exceptionally clean & tidy, cleaned every day except sunday, everything there, 2 ring hob & microwave. reception very good, 50 euro deposit for safe deposit box & you can hire iron & ironing board as well. theres a restaurant/bar downstairs, £5 euro for english breakfast - again spotlessly clean. supermarket right at the side of the hotel, and right accoss the road, pingos - do freshly made pizza for abt £4 and carafe of wine for abt £2. pool was glorified bird bath for the seagulls, bird poo everywhere & they were drinking the water! there was obviously no chlorine in it! at abt 6pm abt 20 seagulls were in it - i would not go in it at all! management said a guest had fed the gulls & thats why they were there. that was the only problem with the hotel. i would go back again but not go in the pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

You get what you pay for. The hotel is very clean. In a great location and staff very friendly. To sum it up this hotel is not a 4 star, more like 2.5 stars. Rooms are basic and could be doing with upgrading a bit. Rooms were cleaned every day and also got new towels. Pool is unusable due to being full of seagulls. Location is excellent, just next to the albufeira shopping centre. If looking for a good hotel stay in the paraiso de albufeira which is next to the paladim. It looked amazing and worth everyone of its 4 stars. If looking to eat out try big shanghai which is around the corner from paladim (next to paraiso). Or go into old town. There is a place called shalom or shalom 2. They do the most amazing ribs I have ever set lips upon. All in all it's an average hotel, nothing special but would return for its cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TRIP1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is supposed to be a 4* hotel.
Let's start with the positives, this will be quick! Good location 1/2 between old town and the stand. Not far to walk or get the local land train.
Ok let's get to the negatives, the room was disgracefully dirty, including floors, bathrooms, beds and towels!!
Asked for assistance with this, to no success!
Customer service appalling !! Staff unhelpful and didn't like to be bothered from their tv programme, which is blaring in the foyer! Asked for a new room , where they stated it was full. I can assure you it was not!

If you are on a stag, hen or lad holiday and just want to booze, be sick and then start again! This hotel would be ideal for you!!! As they just don't care.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northernlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Booked as a last minute cheapish holiday. I have reviewed many times on here before and have always tried to put a positive slant on every hotel, unfortunately i am unable to this here. Arrival at the paladim was straight forward, on entering the room it was dated and facing the main road but still upon 1st inspection this was not a problem. On closer inspection the room was unclean, the toilet had "personal stains" on the toilet seat and the sheets had hair in them amoungst various other niggles such as a filthy toaster and a balcony that hadnt been cleaned. First stop the supermarket (which is located literally a minutes walk) to buy bleach, i dont expect to have to bleach my own toilet and kitchen whilst on holiday. This point was addressed with reception but the lady said she was unable to do anything untill the next day. We tried to get on with the holiday so we bought a noddy train ticket to visit both the old town and new town, new town was not for us but the old time was alot nicer and the beach was nice. On return to the Paladim and surrounding areas, we felt unsafe, there were beggers asking for money and ciggarettes constantly and the place looked like it was the local hangout for the alcohol dependents and substance misusers. The safe in the room has a hole drilled into it so if any belongings would have been put in there our insurance would have been invalid. We took a look round the pool area and there were seagulls in the pool which as commented on in previous reviews probably indicates a lack of chlorine. The shower area by the pool was filthy dirty as were the sunloungers and there was no chance of either of us sunbathing here. In the end we were both so upset that we paid to move hotels, we stayed two nights in the paladim and this is the first time we have ever moved so it is not as if we are frequent wingers. When approached the managers were hostile and unwilling to accept any responsibility for the unclean facilities, we asked for 5 nights money back as we were not staying and as this was no fault of our own we felt some money back would have been fair. Apparently not. im sure the management will disagree with the comments and that i suppose is fair enough however how they earned their 4* rating is totally beyond us.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank annaandgemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#15 of 154 in Albufeira
1,825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
257 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#11 of 154 in Albufeira
1,001 reviews
1.1 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
809 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#84 of 154 in Albufeira
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paladim Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paladim Aparthotel

Address: Rua do Municipio, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: $24 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paladim Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paladim Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paladim Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Paladim Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Paladim Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing