We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$162
View deal
Priceline
$162
View deal
Hotels.com
$162
$108
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/06/21
Expedia.com$108
eDreams$162
Orbitz.com$108
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
152
251
126
53
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
152
251
126
53
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ouratlantico apartments old town minute walk self catering outdoor pool fresh towels plenty of sun loungers restaurants and bars studio strip toaster oven maids nightlife
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 637 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We booked the holiday as a last minute deal and could not believe how cheap it was. This was my first ever travel agent booked holiday so I was slightly worried that you get what you pay for and it would be awfull.
The apartments were great although we did have two single beds pushed together which was not ideal but not the end of the world. The rooms are clean, toilet rolls etc were supplied daily and the all the staff were as friendly as could be, they could not have been more helpful. The apartments are over two floors with a kitchen / living area downstairs and a bedroom, bathroom and balcony with seats upstairs.
The swimming pool was lovelly and clean although ice cold and we found it impossible to go in it. There was a small area that sold great breakfasts and a shop selling all the essentials.
The area was great, because we went in november it was not too busy although the weather was lovely, the hotel is a three minute walk from the main strip which is full places to eat and drink. From what were heard when we were out there in the busyiest part of the season this area is manic, but it was great when we were there, the beaches are lovely and the places serving food near the sea had the freashest fish ever. Food and drink were good value for money, and as I said the fish is amazing!!

We loved the place and would go back!!

Date of stay: November 2007
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank munt4885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Just got back from the algarve a couple of days ago after staying at the ouratlantico for 10 days. Not the most comfy apartment but it was value for the money. Nice and clean. The towel and loo roll fairy called in many times.We did ask for a doule bed but got heavy twinbeds to push together instead. bit lumpy.But hey we did get 3 belconys!
Great location, just 5 mins from the strip so plenty of food and drink on tap, but far enough away for a bit of peace.
All in all enjoyed our stay. Booked through Travel republic, 1st time internet booked holiday, plane sailing. will do it again. and if i was to go back to this area of the algarve would stay here agian.

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WiltsHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Stayed here new year 2006. Fantastic location - away from the strip but within easy walking distance. Apartment was spacious and spotless ! Looking to stay here again later this year for a short break.

Date of stay: December 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We stayed for 1 week at the Ouratlantico and we found the place clean, the staff polite and helpful and the location super.

We were in a downstairs studio apartment and like other reviewers have said you are provided with 2 single sofa beds which cannot be pushed together - obviously not ideal for some but it enabled me and my partner to have the best week's sleep in 5 years! ;)
The room had a small kitchen area with fridge, hob, oven and microwave. Also a balcony with table and chairs which was super to sit and catch the sun.
The room was quite basic and the pillows were lumpy but we paid £100 each for the week so really I think it was super value for money. 3 star is never the same out of the UK as it is in the UK anyway.
The beds were made 5 days out of 7 and we had clean towels on 3 occasions.
When a fuse blew in our apartment a maintainance guy came straight away to fix it for us.

Location wise, you are a short walk from the strip with it's bars (very empty this time of year) and a short walk from 2 beaches. The beaches are by far the best thing about visiting here, you can walk to one and then by climbing over the rocks find private little coves or quieter beaches which can't be reached by the road - Absolutely beautiful.

Food wise - the restaurants on the strip weren't up to much apart from Senhor Frog's - the best pizza in Albufeira and if you walk to the main traffic lights on the strip and take a left towards the McDonalds the first indian restaurant you come to is the best Indian I have ever been to!
If you like going out for nice meals though, get a bus or taxi to the old town. Much nicer restaurants and a more romantic and laid back feel.

If you like trips there are lots to choose from and shop around as prices vary. We went on the historical algarve tour which was great value at 12E! Half the price of normal.

All in all my first trip to Portugal was a success and I can't find any real reason not to return to the Ouratlantico Apartments.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank teacher_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

First impressions were good. The outside of the complex is kept tidy and looked pretty. We booked for Easter starting from March 20th and had a 1 bed apartment for 2 adults and 1 child.

1 bed Apartment:
Cleanish (upon arrival). The furniture appeared unwiped/dusty in places with food leftovers in the microwave, and our feet were black within minutes of walking on the tiles. (no rugs) Bathroom/kitchen was clean, a bonus. Looked very spacious downstairs although cramped upstairs, much shin and leg banging against bed corners to get to & from balcony etc. Storage space very limited. 1 small wardrobe and 1 chest of drawers. Would have been a squeeze if fully occupied by 4 adults. TV has ITV & BBC for those that want them, plus CNN etc.
Beds nice clean sheets, but awful scratchy top covers. Cold at night in March/Early April so both heaters were used, but offered very little heat. Also the walls are SO THIN you can hear EVERYTHING from your neighbours. Listening to someone's toilet trips in the night/morning is not fun!! Their bathroom is next to your bedroom and leaves nothing to the imagination. Also you will hear bin collectors in the mornings (if on the entrance side) and some music from the strip. Some buidling works going on otherside of the Complex at the moment too, but not too bad on our side, not sure how loud it was for guests backing onto it.

Cooking Facilties:
Big let down on the cooking facilities (considering this was self catering & supposed to be for 4 people). 1 very small frying pan, enough to cook for 1-2 people. 1 tiny saucepan and 1 huge stock pot style saucepan. No toaster & no electric kettle!! (Found out too late that we should have had these, but was not supplied)Had old fashioned stove top whistling kettle! Like something from the dark ages. No tin opener, no vegetable peeler, very basic crockery, no mugs, just cups etc etc. Great if you plan to eat out most nights, but not if you want to cook a few family meals.

Complex Facilities:
Free Table Tennis, pay for the Pool Table (small size), two quite large outdoor pools (freezing & quite dirty!), indoor pool tiny but very warm! (avoid during the main parts of the day as gets very noisy & packed) Jacuzzi, switches on & off in 15min intervals automatically, so need to time it right. Had 2 internet facilities (1euro for 10 mins), games room, snack bar (expensive) and few shelves of groceries (very mini supermarket in reception), also more expensive than anwhere else. Tennis Court, very unkept. Weeds all around and net looked like it was put up in 1972! Lots of paint peeled off etc. Shame as was expensive at 10euros. Overall the areas were kept clean and gives a good overall impression, just dont expect much from it. Maid service was erratic and not as often as stated. They tended to do a quick flick round with a mop in the middle of the floor, empty bin and off they went.

Praia Da Oura:
This is actually part of Albufeira, and is just the 'new town' part of it. Old Town is a short way away. Use the novelty wally bus from the strip at 3euros each. Or as we did, we got a taxi for 3 euros (for all of us!) Think we went at wrong time of year as Old Town looked like a large building site, a lot of work going on. Beach front restaurants were nice but pricey. Preferred our area of Praia. The Strip is out of the Complex and turn right. Lots of restaurants & Bars, lots of variety. Too many large screen sports TV's everywhere for our taste. It was a bit 'chips with everything' in parts, but we would recommend El Rancho, very nice atmosphere and good food. The Chinese restaurants (we tried 2) were a little hit and miss. The first was just on the left when you enter the strip and has the crazy chinese man stood outside trying to entice you inside. We had a takeaway and we suffered very bad stomachs afterwards! We then tried a more expensive option Chinese Royal (turn left out of apartments and head for the roundabout, opposite there) the man who served us was very curt and unwelcoming. Disappointed & their main courses were from around 6euros to 15 euros each (not inc. rice etc), so wasnt that cheap either. But the best restaurant by far was, Paulu's Pasta/Pizzeria! (head for the above mentioned roundabout and turn left, its up on the left from there). Amazing quality!! Was very popular, so would need to book in high season. We needed to ask for half portions as they were HUGE! And they offer a 'tourist menu' at around 10euros which is 3 courses (choices are available) with a drink, so worth checking out. Overall we found most restaurants offer main courses a few pounds cheaper than UK, although if you order a bottle of wine with your meal they were often more than what we would expect to pay at home. So got pricey after a few nights out. Soft drinks more expensive than wine/local beer, which was very cheap. Cocktails, we tried at 4 different venues and they varied in taste & strength. Try to purchase during Happy Hour. Cafe by the beach was great too! Think it was called Bola D'agua something?? Thats a great place to relax during the day. Also try Julie's, a cafe/deli nearby the beach (you cant miss it if walking back from the beach it is on left at bottom of cardiac hill) Great freshly prepared food at a reasonable price. Fab beach, very clean and wasnt busy in early April. We got there by walking down the steep 'Cardiac Hill'. Watch out for slippy cobbled pavements!! Not ideal for those with walking difficulties.

Overall:
We loved Portugal & the great weather! Wouldnt go back to apartments as a little too basic and got VERY noisy during school holiday period! Bit pricey in parts, but go a little further out and you will get much better value. People were friendly (with the odd occasional exception), service was good, although some lacked a bit (Sunset on the strip in the evenings - good food, but service lacked if you just wanted drinks, they didnt seem too interested in you then.) We would go back to Portugal, just a different place. Fine if you dont mind noise (woken up several times a night!), and fairly basic standards. Good for a OK priced resort with good location but no more than that.

Date of stay: March 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank atomik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews