We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely restful holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oura Praia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oura Praia Hotel
Ranked #80 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely restful holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

lovely hotel. we stayed in a studio apt overlooking the pool. very friendly staff.lots of English people who go back year after year. surrounded by family run restaurants offering excellent quality fish and steaks as well as local and vegetarian meals. supermarket adjacent for selfcatering. you are able to use all facilities in the neighbouring sister hotels in the ora praia group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacqui p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for submitting your review about your recent stay at Oura Praia Hotel.
It’s nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope that you will return again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    249
    111
    48
    56
See reviews for
181
304
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was my first visit to Portugal and, thanks to the wonderful days we spent there, we are definitely considering going back for another holiday. My husband, my mother and myself shared a 2 bed apartment. We felt very much like home, the apartment is very cosy and intimate. Among other things, I was very happy for having central heat. I'm always cold and being able to heat the rooms made me very comfortable. For self-catering it's always useful to have a well-equiped kitchen and there was nothing you needed and not being provided. The only (very little!) problem was the soaps in the bathroom, but it's not the end of the world to buy a soap and a bit of shampoo. Otherwise, everything nice and clean, very friendly staff and very professional. I read the review from "melaura" but I must say there was no noise, smokes, karaoke or anything to spoil our sleep; but maybe because it was just March and not high season. Over all we had a perfect 7 days holiday and summer-like weather helped as well. Special thanks to Patricia (one of the receptionists) who helped us booking for a fado music concert in a very busy location. Nobody else knew where we could attend such an event. We intended a fado evening as a surprise for my mother and, without Patricia's help, we would have failed. Muito obrigado, Patricia! We will definitely be back to Oura Praia!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Oura Praia Hotel for your recent stay. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them as our guests satisfaction is our main priority.

Your kind words will definitely be passed on to Patricia.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

we stayed i 1 bed apts over round about i dident here any noise apts was lovey every thin you need in it staff are great they will do any thin to help you they phoned for are shuttle to pick us up for air port free shuttle bus to get yu ar xxound thank you all will return

Room Tip: hifh floor near roun about lovely sea veiws and you can see faro plaines cuming in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 506helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Oura Praia Hotel for your recent stay in Algarve. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Myself and my cousin stayed here for a short break of four nights last week. The staff were really pleasant and helpful and spoke very good English!
The Trevi restaurant was rather busy one night and couldn't really cope, had to wait too long for our meal. We had a choice of eating at other hotels within the Petchey group, we chose the one just down the hill which was nice, buffet only within the price, some choices were extra money.
The entertainment at the piano bar was good, there was a chap singing and playing the piano one night, although we we're expecting a saxophonist!
Close to amenities, we were there out of season which for me was good!
The local 'strip' as they call it has plenty of restaurants and nightlife, although very English which I personally do not want on holiday!
Comfortable and spacious rooms, although ours 213 was close to karaoke bar downstairs.
Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Oura Praia Hotel for your recent stay in Algarve. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Oura Praia Hotel is located on a main road and close to all ameneties; namely, supermarket, pharmacy, launderette and many restaurants and bars. The apartment is spacious and access to balcony is by double-sliding doors from bedroom as well as lounge. There is even a DVD player and WiFi, but you have to pay 7 Euros; however, adequae free WiFi is available in the hotel lobby. Bed was very comfortable and there is ample supply of pillows and covers as well as towels. (Bring a beach towel as those are not supplied) The only items provided in the bathroom are 2 miniscule pieces of soap and a shower cap. We had to buy handsoap, shower getl and shampoo; however, water-diluted dishwashing soap and a frest scrubby are provided. The noise and fumes from traffic as well as the smoking and loud people eating and drinking in the pubs under our balcony was annoying and prevented us from enjoying the balcony. Also, from 9 till 3 a.m., people loudly wailing in the karaoke bar kept us awake, so we had to take naps in the afternoon to catch up on our sleep. We realize that the hotel has no control over traffic nor the pubs, but unless you are hearing impaired and don't mind the fumes from 2-cycle motor bikes, your stay at the Oura Praia will be negatively impacted if you have a room facing the street.
Half-board was included in our package deal so we had breakfast and dinner at the hotel's Trevi Bistro/Cafe. Breakfast was adequate and items, such as decaf coffee or brown bread were provided with a smile. If you didn't fancy the usual scrambled eggs from the buffet, poached or boiled eggs would be made to order as well as a full English breakfast. Dinner was a la carte and we were allowed to have a starter, main, plus dessert. Best dish we had was the Portuguese sirloin steak. House wines, both white and red, were excellent and reasonably priced.
Unfortunately, after five days, we were told the restaurant was being closed for kitchen renovations and we had to take our dinner at Jac's restaurant located at a sister property.
Jac's boasts of an international buffet featuring dishes from a specific area: curry, chinese, american, mediterranean, portuguese etc.which is 17.50 Euros; however, if we wanted a la carte, then we were liminted to 14 Euros each as half-board clients, so that if we wanted the same meal as at Trevi's, we had to pay extra for starters and dessert. This was very unfair of management because we had to either walk or take the shuttle bus to Jac's and then climb very steep stairs to get to the restaurant as there was NO ELEVATOR access. After seven evenings at Jac's, we were overjoyed to hear that Trevi Bistro/Cafe was being re-opened. (Still don't understand why the Trevi kitchen could function for breakfast but not for dinner meals)
Special mention of Pedro and Vanessa, staff at the Trevi, who with their smile and attention made our meals such a pleasure.
Loved the fact that the Canadian Maple Leaf was flying in amongst the other flags!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street and bring earplugs if you want to sleep before 3 a.m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank melaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on the hotel. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them.

We strive every day to ensure that our guests have a wonderful service during their stay and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just back from a months stay the same as last year, we were very impressed with the improvement over our last stay now there is an entertainments program and better service which can be seen in all departments, there is a great investment going on by the new management and all the staff were really making an effort for an enjoyable stay so much so we booked for next year before leaving, hope everyone keeps up the standard and wish all concerned every success for the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grapam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your positive comments.

Your kind words on the services received will definitely be passed on to our team members. We are glad that you have noticed the great investment going on by the new management.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Oura Praia Hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

just returned back on the 3rd of march 2014 after a 1 week stay at the apartment hotel,we was booked into a studio but when arrived was given a 1 bed apartmant on the 6th floor,very nice of them to do that and what a suprise when we saw the room,very spacious and nicely furnished and decorated,nice large balcony with sea view.it had everything you needed like home from home.hotel was spotless and well kept,we really enjoyed our stay and would def return again.if you get the chance go i think you will be quite surprised at the standard.hope this helps

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Oura Praia Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

We strive every day to ensure that our guests have a wonderful service during their stay. We can assure that your comments will not only motivate the team but also encourage our staff to maintain and improve on the service to all our future guests

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
0.8 mi away
MGM Muthu Forte Da Oura
MGM Muthu Forte Da Oura
#98 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
Quinta Pedra dos Bicos
#37 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#24 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oura Praia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oura Praia Hotel

Property: Oura Praia Hotel
Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-269, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oura Praia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 300 meters from Praia da Oura beach, Santa Eulália beach and the main entertainment area of Albufeira, this resort features self-catering apartments with furnished balconies. The air-conditioned apartments have a fully equipped kitchenette, en suite bathroom and a seating and dining area to relax with satellite tv.Apart from the outdoor swimming pools and tennis court, Oura Praia Hotel has a gym, a sauna and a Golf Desk where all golf courses in the Algarve can be booked. Guests can also enjoy a massage in our massage room. For a change of scenery, guests can take a 5-minute walk to the sandy Algarve coastline or the main entertainment area of Albufeira.The atrium-style lobby with its glass roof, tropical plants and fountains offer a variety of seating areas to relax.In addition, it houses the modern Café Latte bar decorated in red and white, and the Trevi à la Carte Restaurant.Guests can enjoy a variety of different dining options at our restaurants in our sister resorts, a 5 minutes’ walk away.The bustling streets of the old town center of Albufeira are located 2 km away. Bikes and cars can be rented at the 24-hour reception, and shuttle services to Faro Airport are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Oura Praia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oura Praia Albufeira
Oura Praia Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing