We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average, could be much better!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montechoro Clube 99

Montechoro Clube 99
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montechoro Clube 99
Ranked #99 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just average, could be much better!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The lady at the reception was rather unwelcoming, she insisted on giving us two single beds and even claimed they dont have a double bedroom available however to our surprise, a few minutes of kicking off actually resulted in them having a double room for us.
it's just ok, Faro didn't do it for me so overall I wouldn't recommend. I'm more of a sightseeing person as opposed to lie on the beach so I think it depends what you're into to like Faro or not!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asad U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 for 5 nights, I'm pleased we where not there any longer. The hotel is large with very dated rooms, we had a room on the 6th floor although the room was a good size the carpets where very dirty and stained, the beds where hard and the pillows a absolute nightmare the worst I have ever encounted, they felt like they had been filled with cubes of hard foam, even when we asked for other pillows the replacements where just the same, so if yo are going take a pillow from home.
Breakfast was not up to much, cheap nasty packets of cereal, a couple of days there was eggs and bacon and the usual cheese, bread yogurts, we did notice that the breakfast improved the day the hotel had some football teams staying there who where competing in a tornament.
We had to hire a kettle from reception for 1E per day as no tea and coffee making facility in the room.
The sun loungers around the pool where very worn although there did appear to be plenty it was difficult to find one that did not dip badly in the middle, so anyone with a back problem like myself would struggle on these loungers.
Location of the hotel is a long way from the beach but in easy reach of the strip, plenty of choice with bars and resturants.
The weather was great for the time we went so that made up for everything else.

Room Tip: If you do stay here ask for a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunburn15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albufeira hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

this hotel is in a good location just a short walk from "the strip" with a great irish bar over the road, we were golfing and it suited us down to the ground. they have a free minbus that takes you the the old town or beach every hour.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank c8hoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

do not go there we stayed in the 99 club apartments also part of the hotel where the rooms are only fear and the staf were lazy and light fingered , on the second day my wifes ring was stolen from the room and got no sadisfaction from the mangaement or the police, we did not see the cleaning that were working on that day for the rest of the week, so take my advice if your going to stay there dont not leve any thing in the room

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank derek41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks in Clube 99. Started in GO4 which is spacious compared to apartments in block 99. We arrived as a group of 12 and were situated in two different parts of the hotel. One group placed on the third floor, with no lift, buggy and suitcases. After much determination eventually moved after 3 days. Our apartment was very clean. Security grills on windows made you feel secure at night and could be opened to let in sunlight. Kitchen okay but no oven - only a mircowave oven which was hard to cook in. Beds hard and small singles - fine if you are 11 years old. . No double bed, sofa beds in the front room more comfortable and spacious. Pillows found in cupboards. Terrace spacious and fantastic view. One bed ensuite with other bathroom right next door to bedroom. Great for two sets of family sharing as can make your space your own. Staff very friendly, one even translated instructions for medication I had to buy out there. Portugal overall quite expensive especially in comparison to spain. Save costs by travelling to modeleo supermarket where prices are much cheaper - approximately 5 euros in the cab and can stock up. Hotel provides courteous bus to old town and beach every day except monday and sunday which is a bonus. Buses run every hour. Beach in old town much nicer other one has lots of pebbles. Sun lounger on beach very expensive - 15 euros for 2. Clube 99 swimming pool much quieter, lots of space for children and buggies, however poolside bar very expensive - 2.50 for a small can of coke. Suggest you take snacks. Ticket shop (on the strip) great prices for outings - 6 euros for market, 11 euros for lisbona, 29 for auqashow and 12.50 for sunset safari. Bargain prices in comparison to others. Apartments easy access of strip however far away enough from noise. Lorna (think that's how it's spelt) cocktail bar fantastic - cocktails specials and non alcoholic cocktails for the kids which was a hit. Not very far down the strip either. Overall fab holiday and good accommodation. Apartments def a 3 stars but overall good for family needs.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greenbee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

We are just back from a week break in Clube 99 Montechero, these appartements are very basic and in bad need of repair. We complained to the management of the Montechero Hotel who run these appartments but we found them very rude and no ways helpful. The cooker had no markings on it so it was impossible to know whether it was on or not. We also complained about the bathroom as the toilet seat needed replacement as it had pieces coming off it, also the base of the bath was also in need of replacement as there was pieces of the bath coming away from the base. The ceiling in the bathroom was very poor and was also in need of replacement, you would think it was going to come down on you with the steam, no fan in the bathroom. The shower was just a disaster, when you put on the shower the pressure would sent the hose all over the place and this left the bathroom resembling a swimming pool on the floor. We complained several times as regards the above but it got us no where. The staff on the front dest of the hotel were extremely rude and no ways helpful. I requested a room at the back of the block as we have small children but instead we were put at the front and the noise and racket at night was terrible. I explained that the bathroom was no ways health to have people using it in thoses conditions but they passed no head on me. The swimming pool was lovely and clean but that is all I could say as regards this accommodation. I would not recommend these appartments to anyone and certainly not anyone with small children. Dreadful is how I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Irish6733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

I recently spent a week in montechoro clube 99. i travelled with 3 children ages ranging from 5 -14 and my mother. we arrived at the hotel at 1.15 in the day and they told us our bungalow was not ready but to come back in half an hour, but after an hour it still was not ready, Finally at 4 oclock we got into it, they told us it needed a big cleaning and that was what caused the delay. T he bungalow was lovely , exactly what i had requested directly opposite the pool. The pool was lovely , very clean and not very busy so it was very easy to watch the children, so after the bad start we were happy enough. Thankfully my husband and i decided to sleep downstairs because at 4.00 in the morning i was woken to breaking glass. i thought somebody was breaking in. My husband looked out the window and saw 2 guys standing at the front firing bottles at the windows.They broke the toilet window and stood outside staring in for ten minutes. Itwas acomplete nightmare. I rang reception and asked for help, at this stage the children were up and extremly frightened. 10 to 15 min later a security gaurd from the hotel arrived.He looked around, handed my husband a baseball bat and asked my husband to help him look for them! Naturally they were gone. So no sleep night one! In the morning the manager at reception told us these things happen and is totally out of their control.They moved us to a villa behind the hotel which was fine, but all the villas have shutters on the windows for security which is quiet off putting after night one. Ther was graffiti on the wall outside this villa saying"we are watching you" and "thieves around". Children can read!!"The rest of the week was fine , little things like when the toilet upstairs was flushed the smell of sewage downstairs was terrible and lingered for hours. W e made acomplaint to management about the whole thing .He smiled nicely abd told me he would look into it.From what i heard all week they are well used to getting complaints. It turned out there was a major party for 3 nights in a row in the first place we had been given and the guys came back to get revenge on the people who had been staying there. Basically we spent our nights afraid. If anybody threathens you in the bungalows or villas you are really on your own. When we were checking out at 4 am in the morning the girl at reception was rude and unfriendly. At the end of the day you work hard for your holiday, i dont expect 5 star in sef catering, but i never had to complain anywhere i stayed before . Montechoro Clube 99 never again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank deedee_090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#96 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Choromar Apartments
Choromar Apartments
#65 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#156 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#89 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Quinta do Sol
#78 of 119 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montechoro Clube 99? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montechoro Clube 99

Property: Montechoro Clube 99
Address: Rua Alexandre O'Neil | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-343, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Montechoro Clube 99 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All one bedroom apartments are twin bedded with separate living area with single beds, kitchenette with fridge, electric cooking ring, microwave, dishwasher and kettle, telephone, safe (payable locally), satellite TV, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, bathroom with bath, shower and wc and private balcony or terrace. Studios located on the ground floor are also available with the same facilities but do not have a separate bedroom or a balcony/terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Montechoro Clube 99 Hotel Albufeira
Montechoro Clube 99 Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing