We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Janelas do Mar Apartments
Ranked #29 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights after the apartment we originally booked had move us due to our original apt, raining in, everything didn't work properly, the bathroom was filthy, the bath had a tiny patch showing the original colour of the suite, the cleanliness was really bad, The staff couldn't be faulted, they were friendly & efficient, the location was dreadful, think again if your booking the new town, it's grubby, dated & very tacky, there is very little around here, 1 bar Milly O'Nairs which is ok but grubby, the staff were friendly enough,

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 551 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

This apartment was basic. 3 star, so did not expect luxury. The room was average, but very damp and cold with condensation making the windows wet at night. I asked for an extra heater, but was told there was only one per room, even though there were 4 of us in a two room apartment. The hot water was temperamental and I was disappointed with the cleanliness. On site amenities were poor. Considering this was self catering, the on site mini market was NEVER open. This was disappointing as town was a 15-20 minute walk away. The bar did not do tea or coffee, although the small, day time cafe was very pleasant with cheerful staff.
If you are looking for a hotel n which to relax and spend time in, then I would not recommend this one. If you are looking for a cheap bed to get your head down then this could be OK. I was not impressed and would have preferred an apartment with better staff, better amenities and cleaner rooms. It would probably be OK for lads holidays, or for holiday makers who planned on spending minimal time at the hotel. I would not recommend this hotel for families or older travellers as it is a long and hilly walk to anywhere of interest.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar. But I would aim for one in the main block where you have better access to rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Looks nice from the outside and has nice pools. The room was very basic and looked more like a shelter for the homeless. Bathroom was run down, hot water if your lucky, plug in radiator that had the potential to electricute anyone walking past and there was a load of unswept stale food under the kitchen cabinets. However, it was cheap so cant complain for the price. Would not recommend it for a romantic weekend away though!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This is everything that you would think it is, a cheap stay! We went for a apartment room which has a living room a kitchen and the bedroom separate. Take a hair dryer toothpaste and your wash bag as there's none there. Use it as a base like we done, we rented a car and just went back to the hotel to sleep and that was pretty much it, it's nothing special but the price is good. I wouldn't stay here unless you are a young couple like us who just like exploring countries, if your looking to sit around the pool all day and chill I would recommend going for a different hotel. Head to the strip on your first day and rent a car as getting to the old town or strip costs €5 a time and leaving the area can be €15+ a car only cost us €140 for 4 days and I'm 22 (a young driver who has to pay more)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vittorio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The room was spacious and had two balcony's.......that was the only good points! It was damp and cold and in a four bedded apartment there was only enough hot water for two people! Three out of four of us have left with chest infections........not good!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great hotel apartment complex. Maybe a little dated if your are extremely picky, but it has everything you need and more besides. Great staff, friendly service and nothing is too much trouble. I'd definitely come back

Room Tip: Floor 7 on any block gives a great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mephoto1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Here to starts got transferred from a different hotel due to water problems, we was in the room for 5 minutes before having to complain! Heating tripped all the electricity! Room freezing cold!! Ants everywhere! Reception staff(Vanya) was such a rude unapproachable person! After 5 minutes of getting the key I was straight on the phone to Low Cost Holiday/EasyJet Holidays, the staff back in the UK were amazing! Called reservations and got us an apartment back in Patio within 2 minutes of ending the call including transfers! back to the apartment(705) the beds were hard, sofa beds were a mattress, the curtains were moving when the door wasn't open, plugs were coming off the walls!! When 'checking-out' we mentioned all the problems to reception of which the reply was 'We shall get someone to look onto this. Are you staying?' This is after EasyJet Holidays spoke to her!! To sum up, I wouldn't recommend this place to an enemy!!

Room Tip: DON'T GO!! Save your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastendJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
2,432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#47 of 154 in Albufeira
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ouratlantico Apartamento Turisticos
1.5 mi away
Pateo Village Apartments
Pateo Village Apartments
#75 of 154 in Albufeira
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Janelas do Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janelas do Mar Apartments

Address: Rua da Correeira 215 | Urbanização de Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-112, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $27 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Janelas do Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Otel, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Janelas do Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Janelas Mar Albufeira
Janelas Do Mar Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing