We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option.”
Review of Hotel Topazio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Topazio
Ranked #47 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Good option.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is making a real effort to be a cut above some of its competitors and doing a good job. The staff were, without exception, friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with excellent air conditioning and a pleasant balcony.Room service arrived promptly and the food was fine. Breakfast was perfectly acceptable and wifi available in the lobby was very useful. The pool area is busy but nice enough. There is a small shop across the road run by a lovely lady who keeps it open until after midnight. A larger supermarket is at the top of the road for things you can't get there. There are beaches within five minutes walk and the Strip is just at the end of the road. The old town takes about 15 minutes to get to but there is a bit of a steep hill on the way back! The only downside to this hotel is that the nightclub makes it very noisy between midnight and 6am. If you are a light sleeper then you may need to go elsewhere. My room was on the side of the hotel. In spite of that, the hotel was fine for my needs and I'd recommend it for a good value break.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sorellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    328
    125
    33
    27
See reviews for
101
396
57
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Recently got back from a one week stay at Topazio hotel with a friend. Our first impressions of the hotel were not great, we had booked 'room only' and were fairly disappointed when we arrived. We were located slap bang opposite the nightclub 'kiss', which is literally just a few yards away and it's really not a pretty view to have from your balcony. Myself and my friend I travelled with are in our mid twenties so were out most evenings however we did not appreciate the noise coming from the club, I wore earplugs most nights but despite this the noise woke me up on several occasions. Furthermore the hotel plays music in the corridors, we had a speaker right outside our room and could often hear this too. The hotel room had more of a city hotel vibe rather than a holiday one.
There are also many basic things that the hotel falls short of, for example we had 2 hangers in our room - one each! Furthermore, there are not many plug sockets at all!... I had a ridiculously lumpy pillow which gave me neck ache but after asking reception for a new one they were fairly swift in getting this changed. The bathroom was nice and a high level of cleanliness was maintained, however the shower wasn't great - hot and cold and alternating between weak and strong.
The pool area is nice however fairly small, the sun loungers are made of wicker and not very comfortable at all but you do get used to them. Also the pool is freezing! I could only bear to go in once. The pool bar however is very nice, good cocktails and nice toasties - the staff are friendly too.
The main positive about this hotel is its location, just a short walk from the main strip with loads of restaurants / bars etc. I would recommend that you go to Libertos bar / club if you want a more sophisticated evening - they have live acoustic music every night and the place is beautiful with really friendly staff (they let us try wine before we bought it).
All in all Topazio is good but not great, there are a lot of improvements that could be made, however overall I enjoyed my stay and loved Albufeira as a location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having read all the reviews on this hotel, we were quite worried, which soon faded when we checked in.
We had a great time here, and we were not affected by the noise of the night club opposite (we did have a room on the side of the hotel though)
The rooms were modern and clean. Air conditioning was brilliant. Pool relaxing. Staff very friendly & helpful
Our only complaint was the beds were extremely hard, so first nights sleep was unbearable.
However, the staff next day brought us different matteresses (which were no better) so we resigned ourselves to using plenty of quilts underneath (which the staff were happy to supply as many as we wished) to make a very soft comfy bed - Thus problem solved!!
Location was brilliant. Approx 5min walk to strip - 20min walk to Albuferia old town (5 euros back in a taxi)
Myself & husband had an amazing first time in Portugal, cant wait to go again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katcreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed in Hotel TOPAZIO in Albufeira, Portugal, in June. The location is perfect, less then 5 min walk from the party Strip & shops and the same distance from two beaches. The hotel standard, the staff, hotel cleanliness. modern reception, restaurant and rooms, great breakfast and fruits selection, my room was massive and bathroom amazing. Seriously highly recommended and...cheap, booked last minute directly with the hotel, week before arriving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avnol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

It was our third return to this hotel and like always a brilliant stay. We choose to stay in the apartments overlooking the pool. Apartments as always spotless clean. The reception staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The only negativities I have was chlorine powders scattered around the rim of pool irritatated my legs really bad oh and the crazy abundance of birds around. I think they are all meeting on the roof of the apartments but they pop everywhere. Hazard when your on the loungers near by. Great location. Yes kiss nightclub opposite can be a pain but request a room far away from it or a apartment as you can't hear anything from there. I certainly wouldn't stay in a room opposite the nightclub.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundrum, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in the hotel in July 2013. The accommodation was excellent - we spoiled oursleves and got one of the new bungalows - well worth the money. The down side of the hotel is the noisey night club across the street so try and make sure not to get a room facing that and you will be okay. Centrally located it is ideal for night life, shopping, eating out and the visit to the seaside.

Albufeira is split in two with the new and old towns. This hotel is closer to the new town but the action for the evening is to be found in the old town. It's about a fifteen minute walk to the old town or a taxi will cost you 4.75 euro.

Having read other reviews we can't understand what reception staff the others met. THey couldn't have been more helpful and would get 120% from us for their efforts. They responded to every request as efficiently as we have ever seen. We saw them help other guests with a smile and co-operation.

The pool is small and cold - vital as the temperatures will climg to 30+ on the pool deck. One complaint that can't be gotten over is the lack of loungers. You need to be up early to get one. The crazy golf is a bit of fun and the grounds are exceptionally well maintained. If you are in a bungalow don't leave anything on the vernada or it will get wet!!!

All in all a very good hotel and worthy of it's three stars. We look forward to coming back to it at some stage in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fintan_Mac_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The reception staff or security guards as they are in the evening, have obviously been employed by someone with no clue on how to run a hotel. They were rude, ignorant and miserable.

On the plus side, the pool bar staff were a lot better and were very pleasant.

The noise in the evening 11pm - 7am is unbearable as this Hotel is OPPOSITE a nightclub called KISS and it is open from 11pm - 7am and believe me, the noise will wake you up.

The pool is small but adequate and the sun disappears behind the adjacent 4* hotel at 6.30pm leaving the pool in the shade.

All in all, we were disappointed.

Top tip for Hotel Topazio - Employ some friendly, helpful staff and get rid of the security guards!

Room Tip: Don't go if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulpjsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#16 of 154 in Albufeira
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,284 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#33 of 154 in Albufeira
744 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aparthotel Oceanus
Aparthotel Oceanus
#21 of 154 in Albufeira
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazio

Property: Hotel Topazio
Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Areias de São João, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topazio 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topazio is situated in Areias de S. Joao, 200 metres from Aveiros Beach. Its modern rooms and apartments have private balconies and there is an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms and apartments of the Topazio Hotel each include a satellite TV, minibar and air conditioning. The apartments also have a kitchenette with a microwave. Guests can enjoy breakfast with a swimming pool or garden view. The snack-bar serves a variety of snacks as well as refreshing drinks and cocktails. Sun loungers and parasols provide a relaxing setting to spend the afternoon by the pool. Children can play around in the pool's paddling section, have fun in the kid's park and play mini golf. Hotel Topazio is situated 300 metres from bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Albufeira is 2.5. km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topazio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topazio Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Topazio Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing