We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Topazio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Topazio
Ranked #39 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Topazio Hotel in October 2012. We went self catering and had a 1-bedroom apartment with pool view . Our rooms were very clean and tide. The kitchen had everything you need except a toaster. Our apartment was cleaned daily and also towels were changed every day. The hotel has free wifi but unfortunately it is pretty slow. Over there is a night club opposite the hotel and some people was complaining in their reviews about the noise coming from the club but I can say that we didn't hear any noise and had a good sleep.
The people at the reception were very helpful and polite. A huge thanks especially for Tanja, she helped us a lot(there was a problem with checking in because the hotel was overbooked)! After, when we got to our room, they were surprised us with a bottle of champagne :-).

The hotel is about 5 min walk away from the strip and 20 min from Albufeira city centre. Around 10 min walk to the nice beach.
Every coffee shop nearby serves you a good english breakfast from 3.50 euros.
All in all, we had an excellent holiday full of sunshine and +30 degrees every day! What else do you need :-) ???

P.S. A really cheap airport transfer you can book through Resorthoppa. We paid only 24 euros for return tickets for two of us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemmelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    310
    111
    28
    21
See reviews for
93
370
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is lovely, the room was amazing, clean, spacious. Bathroom was very clean and very very modern!! The staff are friendly and helpful. The strip is a 3 minute walk up the road, with lots of restaurants. There is a supermarket across the road, the beach is a 8 minute walk away. Free Wi-Fi worked most of the time. Good music around the pool area. The nightclub opposite didn't affect us sleeping at all. There are fridges in the rooms with food/drink inside, however we took all of this out and left it on the floor to put our own snacks in, which the receptionist said was fine to do. The old town is a short taxi drive away.I would recommend to anyone to stay at this hotel, it really is lovely!!!

Room Tip: Pool view is the best! The other side of the hotel looks out on a road/nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billie12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went for this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and were delighted. We had a self catering apartment which was perfect in size, cleanliness and location(at the pool end of the complex). I just had to buy a sharp knife for chopping n peeling veg, and a fish slice would've been useful but that us being VERY picky!
It's perfectly located. 10 min walk left from the hotel is the strip and a couple of supermarkets, 15 minutes (at a very leisurely pace) is the beach, which is a beautiful little cove between oura beach n the albufeira beach. And twenty minutes from here along the albufeira beach is albufeira town.

We loved our stay, were not at all bothered by the night club (apart from some comings and goings from the girls upstairs, but hey, we're all on holiday- live n let live!) and we have booked again for 2013. First time we've ever decided to go back to the same place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tinkerloo2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Staff were very helpful and friendly, catered for every need. The pool area got the sun from about 10:30am till late evening. The pool was freezing however as it didnt get that much fun, so it was great for cooling off. Sun beds were quite ample provided you got down there for before 11:00am. If not there was a grassy area to lay a towel down which was fine. Room was incredible, more than what we expected. A view of the sea from our balcony at the top of the hotel. Overlooked the road and Kiss nightclub was just around the corner. It kept us up one night of the week we stayed. Nothing a snooze on the beach couldnt fix. The beach by the way is about fifteen minutes walk around the back of a few hotels. Its a nice walk at that. On the beach there are some restaurants and things to sort you out for lunch. The hotel had its own bar which provided food during the day for a poolside munch and plenty of cold beers. All well priced if you went for the local brew. The clientel of the hotel was mostly mainland Europe tourists and very little from the U.K...which was good! kept it quiet and relaxing, in saying that its not a hotel for the party type anyway. 3 minutes to the nearest supermarket which is large enough to have everything you will need through the week. 2 minutes beyond that is the strip which is good if you are up for that sort of cheap and cheerful night. Plenty of shops and some stall vendors and markets along it as well. Old town is about a twenty minute walk and it follows the coast the whole way. You could walk along the beach the entire way if you wanted to. Alternatively a taxi is about 5 euro before tip. Im glad we walk as we discovered the nicest restaurant we had been to along the way. The Setima Onda, a very cool chillout bar and nightclub downstairs but a luxurious restaurant where you can have your meal whilst watching the waves as the restaurant touches the sand. The old town has mso many bars and restaurants that it makes it a difficult choice were to eat or drink. plenty of shops and stalls here too but not a lot on offer right on the shore, the majority of the old town winds inland. All in all a great week and we will be back!

Room Tip: We booked in April for late August. We got what felt like the best appartment in the hotel probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonholsgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

visited this hotel in september, hotel was nice, nice rooms. we had a hotel room not an apartment. room had a flat screen tv, air con, mini bar.
we over looked Kiss night club, (the night club is right over the road from this hotel!) but only had noise from the night club one night (this didnt bother us much as we wernt sleeping untill early morning anyway) - night club was full of locals and made us feel unwelcome.
hotel isnt far from all the main strip. we went to the beach a few times in the old part, 5euros in a taxi.
the old resort is the nicest. - loads more nice bars and more traditional.
Main strip has a lot of bars, a few nightclubs and lots of nice places to eat.
hotel staff was lovely apart from the night guard, he was grumpy and told us off for asking for toilet roll on a night. also wasnt happy that we wernt coming in untill about 4am (when the bars/clubs closed) - this is ment to be a 24hr reception but was told off like school children about times?!!
the bar staff were friendley and made us feel welcome.
pool area is nice, cold pool as not heated. did have to resurve sun beds so wer were putting ours down when we got in on a night.
maids cleaned our room every day about 4pm
would recomend this hotel but watch out for the grumpy reception guard.

all in all FAB holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chelseyf1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights, spending my birthday here also. Weather was excellent only 2 days overcast... Hotel was flawless, exceptional . Very clean, rooms cleaned every day & towels changed. Staff where extremely helpful and friendly. Beware there is a night club at the front, but you need to request a room at the rear as I didn't hear anything. Obviously might be a bit mad in the summer, but because I was there out of season, was nice and peaceful. Nice restaurants and bars in walking distance. I'm a frequent visitor to Portugal. Go every year, but would highly recommend this hotel. Well worth visiting.. :))

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room at the rear, as there is a night club at front of building, although wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul190748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Because of it being my birthday I came here on the 16th novemeber until the 19th. We weren't expecting nice weather so we didn't pack 'holiday clothes' which we truly regretted. Weather was amazing. A lot of places such as bars and restaurants were closed due to the seasons but some are still open and were still very busy!! Bars were packed. I would definitely come in November again.

As for the hotel - Wow.. I was genuinely shocked. After reading all these reviews before going to hotel topazio I had prepared myself for an average hotel.. I really wasn't expecting it to be good. Outstanding hotel - how it is a 3* hotel I have no idea. We stayed in a studio, and it was lovely. Very clean, spacious and modern. Pictures don't do it justice - it's even better.
As for the area, for my age group (18+) it was great! The strip is so close and easy to get to and you are guaranteed a great night.

Considering how cheap it is and the standards of hotels abroad I would say this is the best I have ever stayed in. Staff are so friendly too. We forgot to take our adapter plug but the receptionist was so helpful, and also helped us with directions to different places. Wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Room8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.6 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clube Praia da Oura
Clube Praia da Oura
#64 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paladim Aparthotel
Paladim Aparthotel
#18 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.1 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#3 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazio

Property: Hotel Topazio
Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Areias de São João, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topazio 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topazio is situated in Areias de S. Joao, 200 metres from Aveiros Beach. Its modern rooms and apartments have private balconies and there is an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms and apartments of the Topazio Hotel each include a satellite TV, minibar and air conditioning. The apartments also have a kitchenette with a microwave. Guests can enjoy breakfast with a swimming pool or garden view. The snack-bar serves a variety of snacks as well as refreshing drinks and cocktails. Sun loungers and parasols provide a relaxing setting to spend the afternoon by the pool. Children can play around in the pool's paddling section, have fun in the kid's park and play mini golf. Hotel Topazio is situated 300 metres from bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Albufeira is 2.5. km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Topazio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topazio Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Topazio Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing