We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just back from another stay at topazio”
Review of Hotel Topazio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Topazio
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed October 9, 2012

hi im a single male traveller who has just got back from another stay at the topazio,what can i say great hotel great staff super rooms,i booked a hotel room only but got upgraded free of charge to a apartment which was superb,yes some things are not quite right but nothing to worry about if anyone wants to moan about trivial things dont pull this hotel down,its a ,great family hotel which is run proffesionaly.ive stayed here for the last two years with no problems at all,and even though i only got back on 03/10/12 ive already booked for next year,you will have read about the club kiss by the hotel so if you go dont moan you wont hear it anyway,have agood stay here

Room Tip: all rooms great ask for rear rooms to avoid any noise from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 796 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Topazio 22-29 September. We arrived & were checked in to our apartment at 12pm which was very welcome as we were earlier than rooms are normally available so that was very much appreciated. The apartment was spotless on the ground floor facing the gardens/mini golf. The room had everything you need, the beds a little uncomfortable 2 pushed together)but like people said before certainly not the worse i've ever had abroad. All was great until a group of 4 foul mouthed lads arrived in two of the villas-I pity the 2 villas in between.... They were so disgusting (constantly spitting up on the floor)& clearly know no other words other than f@*k that we asked to move. Unfortunately the girl in reception had already asked them twice that day to behave but they didn't listen. Think they should have had a final warning but that didn't happen. We moved to the only available room in the hotel which was a downgrade to a room only but were allowed to take our kettle so it was fine - however it was bang opposite the notorious Kiss nightclub. But during our 5 nights in this room we didn't hear it at all & thought it was shut (we did have earplugs though). All in all the room was absolutely fine & for the amount we paid we think it was excellent value for money. Nice rooms nice bar, pool area ok but in shade a lot. If you want to be near the strip it is just 2mins walk & 25 mins walk to the old town which was fab. Beach was only 10 min walk & very peaceful. Great holiday just shame about the yobs!!

Room Tip: Apartment 21 on ground floor facing garden & mini golf in very good position. Room 409 opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pool22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great hotel, clean, massive rooms. Brilliantly friendly staff. Can't fault! Close to old town and beach. Already planning to go back on a girls holiday! Too many jugs of sangria but all in all an amazing holiday! Boat trip in the caves a real treat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilymaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Firstly I'll start by saying that I work in hospitality and know the repercusions of potentially business damaging reviews that aren't always accurate so with this in mind I felt I needed to honestly and accurately describe my stay at the Topazio.

Upon arrival (midday) we came to check in knowing it was 4 hours prior to the hotels check in time, however as our room wasn't occupied the previous night we were checked in immediately - thank you! The receptionist was helpful in giving us a map as this was our first time in the area.
First impressions of the hotel were very complimentary, it has a lovely modern feel upon entry and is located slightly away from the busy strip but as most reviews mention KISS is across the road.
We booked on room only basis and the room was clean, modern and looks exactly as the pictures on the website however not without its faults...
There was only three plug sockets in the room, one for each bedside lamp and one for the mini fridge so short of unplugging everything we had no spare socket and when you are using cameras/ipods/phones daily which need charging this really wasn't adequate. None of the plugs were near to the large wall mounted mirror which made styling my hair impossible! Small things but definite design faults. As others have mentioned the beds are quite hard and not the most comfortable but I think all beds abroad are like this to be honest! I've yet to find a comfortable one!! They were also two singles pushed together, not ideal for a couple but the best way for a hotel to ensure maximum adaptabilty. My biggest disappointment was the soundproofing or lack of! We actually brought ear plugs with us after reading the reviews regarding KISS night club however despite being able to see the nightclub from our balcony we heard no noise at all and the club was open for the duration of our stay, this does not mean we had a restful night each night....the walls are so thin we could hear everything our neighbours were doing..everything!!!! From turning on the aircon, watching the TV, talking to using the toilet and having sex. Awful. Which meant in turn they could hear everything we did and this felt incredibily intrusive. We found ourselves whispering to each other just because we didn't want to share our conversations with strangers next door.
There was some postives to the room such as quite simply the best power shower i have ever used-amazing! The maid service was good too but could be excellent, bedding was changed daily as were the towels but things like the glasses weren't washed, the balcony wasn't cleaned once in the two weeks we were there, i actually did it myself! Small things but it would really raise the bar.

The pool was freezing and I mean freezing! It was breath taking! Probably due to it being in the shade most of the day. It was also very cloudy to the point where you could not see the bottom, this gave it a very unclean look, whether this was the case i'm not sure. There are plenty of sun loungers around the pool but unless you are down a reasonable time in the morning you wont get one in the sun.

The bar was nice and comtempary however lacked any sort of atmosphere, but perhaps this was as it was quiet. Drinks were reasonable at 2euros for a large beer and 10 euros for 2 jugs of sangria. We ate lunch at the bar on a couple of occasions and it was adequate and cheaply priced, it is what it is, bar snacks.
All staff we encountered were efficient but not particulary friendly, they just did the job and no small talk however we found this to be the case in the entire area. Not a problem, just an observation. The only friendly employee was the male on reception who always nodded at us, the rest didn't even look up or acknowledge us despite walking past them at the reception desk on numerous occasions during our two week stay.

I wish I could have scored this hotel higher but the lack of soundproofing really affected our stay and made the negatives far outweigh the postives. Unfortunately i couldn't reccommend this hotel based on that. Sort the soundproofing and I'd definitely give it another chance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at the Topazio in a studio room.
The rooms are clean, spacious and quite smart considering the cheap price of the stay. We had two twin beds pushed together which wasn't ideal, and the beds themselves were terribly uncomfortable and hard. The bathroom was clean, large and nicely decorated apart from some mould around the shower head and tiles. The balcony is small and without somewhere to sit.
Kiss club across the road proved a problem for us. I am surprised at the amount of people who seem to think it's not open- it definitely is, and one night in particular I was woken at about 3pm to feel the bass of the music resonating through the hotel. If you are a deep sleeper, the noise will not bother you. Once awake it is hard to get back to sleep however, especially once the crowd start to clear out and congregate in the road next to the hotel- lots of shouting, screaming etc. I know that this is not Topazio's fault, but that's not really the point when it comes to booking a hotel.
The pool is clean although small, and there aren't enough sunbeds. It is also shaded for most of the day.
The staff were friendly and helpful, sheets were changed twice and we had fresh towels every day.
The location is great- extremely close to the beach and the strip and a 20 minute walk to old town.
The strip itself is tacky and noisy, and looks particularly dodgy in the day time. After the first night we took to eating in Old Town Albufeira, which has much nicer restaurants and a great atmosphere. You can walk there and get the train home for £2, and the Italian restaurant Cais D'Italia is amazing!!
All in all, nice stay but would recommend a hotel in Old Town if you're not up for a week in bars and clubs!

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at the Top: for two weeks in August 2010.The hotel was nice and modern, following a refit, I believe.
The breakfast was very good and varied, especially the fresh wholemeal bread. Good unhurried grub.
I had a balcony which was great, and the air con was the necessary thing.
The cleaners were a bit hit and miss, but I would like to say thankyou to the lovely lady manager who was able to source a kettle for me to use in the room for our daily cuppas. Thank you.
The poolside bar man Rubin, was very pleasant and helpful. In fact all the staff were well trained and good.
We were not disturbed by the night club, but we were not opposite it.
A pleasure to stay at the Topazio.
I didn't like the Strip where there were endless bars, and tacky people. I don't drink, but know how to enjoy myself, but I didn't walking up and down the Strip. But its horses for courses.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed a this lovely little hotel from 23rd to 28th September and we enjoyed our stay much. Perfectly located, within walking distance to the strip where there is huge selection of pubs bars and restaurants to choose from. You can walk to the beach in 5 minutes and from there you can reach the old town by walking along the beach. You can also take the tourist train from the stripto the old town (€1.50 each way) and this only takes about 10 minutes. We stayed in one of the one bed apartments which had a great view of the lovely pool area, ( bit disappointed that the pool bar wasn't open during our stay but this was probably due to it being the end of season). We arrived quite late on a Friday evening and tried to have a meal in the hotel but this wasn't really possible as their were only snacks available so we walked straight across the road to the wonderful Cepa Vehla restaurant where we had a wonderful meal of sea bass and sangria! Highly recommend this lovely restaurant, make sure to visit on a Thursday night as you will be treated to the wonderful sound of live traditional Portuguese music!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,378 reviews
3.3 mi away
Baia Grande
Baia Grande
#2 of 3 in Sesmarias
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#74 of 154 in Albufeira
254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
Muthu Oura Praia Hotel
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Topazio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Topazio

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama | Areias de São João, Albufeira 8200-294, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#21 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $38 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Topazio 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Topazio is situated in Areias de S. Joao, 200 metres from Aveiros Beach. Its modern rooms and apartments have private balconies and there is an outdoor swimming pool. The rooms and apartments of the Topazio Hotel each include a satellite TV, minibar and air conditioning. The apartments also have a kitchenette with a microwave. Guests can enjoy breakfast with a swimming pool or garden view. The snack-bar serves a variety of snacks as well as refreshing drinks and cocktails. Sun loungers and parasols provide a relaxing setting to spend the afternoon by the pool. Children can play around in the pool's paddling section, have fun in the kid's park and play mini golf. Hotel Topazio is situated 300 metres from bars, restaurants, shops and supermarkets. Albufeira is 2.5. km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Topazio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topazio Hotel Albufeira
Hotel Topazio Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing