We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveler rating
147
124
44
12
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
124
44
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews these apartments fat cats pool bar old town air con minute walk on arrival main road clay oven large apartment tourist train large supermarket would definitely stay here again self catering great holiday lounge area location is ideal
Filter
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 344 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2011

What a welcome. Stayed at the Eirasol for one week in Sept 2011. Having originally booked at another complex we were so glad that we changed. We arrived at the apartments and were greeted by Michael at reception, even though it was early in the morning nothing was too much problem for him. He showed us to our apartment and explained everything to us, air con, safe, etc.
Our apartment was large and very clean, with the maids coming in every day,apart from Sunday, to clean. The pool area and pool was very clean and it was obvious that they had worked very hard to acheive this. Christina, Michael's wife, was fantastic, she served us with drinks in the pool bar and made us snacks and was even making our breakfast in the bar in the mornings!! Even when they were busy they made time to stop and talk.
Then there were Caroltta and Phillipa(Christina's sister) who were in the bar, again nothing was too much trouble for them. Michael was also on hand to book taxis and even booked restaurants for us.
I can only wish this couple every success in their new venture and hope to see them again very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186466mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have stayed in Sao Joao area for a number of years, usually in 4-star accommodation, but couldn’t find vacancies for September at our usual places. When out there in May we heard that Eirasol was under new management and they had spent the winter months carrying out improvements as the place had gone slowly down hill in recent years. We decided to give it a go and were reasonably happy there. We tried to avoid comparing it with our usual 4-star venues, after all it was about £300 cheaper for a reason. New managers, Miguel and Christiana have worked hard on the place, and still are doing. Every apartment has had a new air con unit installed (free, you just obtain remote from reception for returnable €20 fee). In the kitchen area there is a hot water heater delivering instant piping hot water 24/7. The apartments have been re-painted and there were new wall cupboards and base units in the kitchen. There was a new electric jug kettle, toaster and microwave and plenty of crockery and utensils. The standard 2-hotplate hob and a fridge complete the equipment. The door of the fridge’s freezer compartment was missing but it still semmed to work. There are new heavily lined curtains in the lounge and bedroom, which keep out early morning sunlight for late sleepers. The twin-bedded bedroom was adequate with a dressing table and mirror fixed to the wall (no drawers) and three rather dim wall lights (energy saver bulbs are useless and one was broken). There was no wardrobe, but I found out that some apartments do have one. We found the beds comfortable enough.
There is a large wardrobe in the hallway with a three-drawer unit inside. There wasn’t a clothes hanger in sight, but a quick word to Miguel and he rustled up half a dozen for us. There were only two of us, but I would think the lack of space for clothing would be a nuisance for four people. Most of our stuff had to be kept in our cases.
The lounge itself is large, but once again the three wall lights are very dim because of those dreaded energy saver bulbs and one of them wasn’t working. A couple of table lamps would be useful. The TV is set up high on the wall in one corner. The tiny screen is about 10” and ours only provided two English channels: BBC1 and US channel CNN. There were four Portuguese channels, a Dutch channel, and a German shopping channel a bit like QVC (why???). This was the first apartment TV I’ve come across which didn’t have Eurosport. The original remote for it had gone missing and a basic remote which only changed channels and volume was supplied, which meant the TV couldn’t be tuned to find other channels. We weren’t too bothered because we are out every night, but a couple with kids may find this a problem.
You can get the internet for free on your wi-fi laptop. They print out a ticket at reception with the access code. The ticket lasts 24 hours, then you can obtain another for the next 24 hours, and so on.
Miguel told me his next job is to re-tile the floors in all apartments, but I hope he also upgrades the bathrooms, which are quite tatty. The dark blue tiles and suite are showing signs of age. The toilet cistern is a slimline plastic one which required two or sometimes even three flushes to do the job. The flimsy toilet seat had one of the fixing bolts missing and wobbled about. Once again you have to remember that this 3-star and such things must be taken with a pinch of salt. I'm sure they'll get round to these jobs eventually.
The saving grace is that the rooms are cleaned daily and clean towels appear every two days. We stayed 14 nights and the bed linen was changed on the middle Saturday. The pool area is fine and maintained daily. The snack bar is ok for sandwiches, toasties, omelettes, burgers, etc. The comfortable bar is also well kept, but as you enter from reception you find that it overlooks the pool from two floors up so there is no outside seating on warm nights. We were a bit surprised to see that smoking was allowed. There were also ashtrays provided in the apartment and no notices asking people not to smoke inside. However, our room didn’t smell of cigarette smoke.
Now for the one big downside to our particular apartment. We had Room 105 which was down a flight off stairs from reception. However, when you entered and went through to the balcony you were actually one floor above pool level, so that was ok.
However, all the apartments on this floor are along a narrow corridor which acts like a giant echo chamber. Every footstep, every door closing is magnified. This reached it’s peak Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays as the long weekend stags and hens returned around 4-30 a.m. from the clubs and the shouting, arguing and door banging were horrendous. Late stragglers were banging on doors (including ours) as they tried to find their mates. Later there would be suitcases trundling along and then at 8-30 a.m. the cleaners arrive chatting loudly and dragging mop buckets around. Perhaps the rooms on higher floors are not so bad because they are accessed via an open verandah, but avoid the rooms below reception level like the plague.
Having said all this, the place is value for money and if Miguel and Christiana can carry on the improvements, they could achieve their ambition of achieving that fourth star. I hope so – they are a nice genuine couple a deserve to succeed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms beginning with '0' or '1' downstairs accessed along a corridor. Rooms on higher floors have open verandahs which may be less noisier.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TomGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed for four night's at the start of September, we stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was very clean and huge. Maids came every day to change towels and give the apartment a quick clean. They like the rest of the staff in the apartment's very friendly and nice.

A few minor niggles that may affect some people. But to be honest did not really bother me to much.Nosie at night may be a problem for some people as the door and bedroom of the apartment's face onto a busy road. Take a pair of earplugs if you think it will bother you!!

The sun did not reach to pool area to about midday, again it may well be to do with the time of the year. My main gripe was the freezer compartment in the fridge was not to clever. I checked one morning to find my tub of Hagen Daas ice cream had melted!!! I think it was something to do with the apartment key, as you have to leave in a slot to keep the electricity on.

But apart from a few minor points, I would go back again no problem at all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank a1424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at Eirasol on the last week of August. Miguel was waiting for us well after his shift ended. We didnt arrive until 12.30 at night. The place couldnt be run by better management, Miguel and Christiana are now our Portugese new found friends. Apartment was huge, (air-con) pool was a decent size with plenty of sun loungers. Will definatly return in the future. Staff were really friendly, drink was cheap. Would have loved to have stayed longer, didnt want to go home! Food was excellent. Would recommend asking Miguel for his favourite cocktail and trying the excellent ham and cheese omellete. Overall an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed for 18 ngts July - August 2011. Apartments were spacious ,clean and fairly well equipped with an adequate sized kitchen area,all that was missing was an English sized mug. The pool area was also kept very tidy and water was treated daily, shame the sun didnt get onto the patio area until mid day when it was very hot. The maid service was daily except for sundays.
Michael,Christina and family were lovely friendy people who would do anything for you eg book taxi's, trips and even resturant tables, nothing was to much trouble.
Great place to stay within easy access of the old town, beaches, supermarket and the strip, we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyellam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews