We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel yet!”
Review of Acqua Maris Balaia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Acqua Maris Balaia
Ranked #120 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Reviewed June 7, 2006

I wish I knew about this website when I booked because I would have avoided this hotel. It was closing at the end of October 2005 for refurbishment and I would say not before time. We were unlucky and had a lot of rain, this meant buckets and towels laid out in reception due to a leaky roof. The apartment we had was tired and dated, the bathroom had mould covering the ceiling and was not what we expected. The bedding felt damp and the wardrobe was damp. There were only a few people staying at the hotel - it resembled the Mary Celest most of the time. The bar and restaurant were understaffed - one lady worked day and night to man the pool bar, restaurant and indoor bar - she was fantastic.

All in all I think this hotel would have been great when it was built and I can only hope that it gets a complete make-over to bring it to an acceptable standard.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Petal_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Acqua Maris Balaia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 86 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2005

These have to be the worst apartments we have ever stayed in. Furniture falling apart. Tiles cracked and broken. Rust on baths, and mildew on shower curtains. Pool area just as bad, with tiles missing from bottom of pool, which had debris floating in it. Pool shower, rusted solid, with cobwebs hanging off it. Jacuzzi empty, (looked as if it hadn't been used in years). Large cracks on outside of building and steps. Wooden balcony rails rotted through. I'd advise anyone to give this place a wide berth.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Snowbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Aberdeen Scotland
15
Reviewed October 4, 2005

Well past its sell by date good 10 minutes from town. Needs complete refurbishment.Peculiar fencing of pool from adjacent Hotel with shared bar? Air conditioning didnt work plastic chairs were broken(promptly replaced) and one of the showers was useless.On the plus side rooms were large and there vwere three balconies

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2004

Lovely reception but first look at the single room unit a bit of a shock. Furniture, fittings and decor all passed their prime and a bit staid. Kitchen equipment basic, only an electric hob, microwave oven and no grill. No toaster until we obtained one from reception, (very helpful on all aspects) but only one of those continental flap types which are totally alien to Brits. Air conditioning and Ice maker in fridge were the best we have ever found on our travels.Shared amenities with sister hotel next door but obviously having staff problems, bar staff walked out whilst we were there but no loss. Organised entertainment non existent during our stay in Sept. however very few people staying at that time. Excellent pool and surroundings with reasonably priced snack bar. Ask for front, sea, facing room. Did not try on site "Goodies" restaurant, but found brilliant restaurant 10 minutes walk towards Olhos D'Agua, 3 Marias. Dish of the day served with excellent sauces, great house wine and super service, under 30 euros for 2- a must for anyone who likes eating.

Steep walk to lovely beach if do not want to drive.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bojitoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2003

tHE dOMINIO DO sOL IS A 45 Minute drive from Faro Airport. It's quick and easy to get a taxi or hire a car at Faro Airport. If you get a taxi from the airport, the receptionist at Dominio do Sol can organise a mini bus back for you at a reasonable cost. The area around Dominio do Sol is nice and quiet, with a sister hotel next door, the Balaia Plaza, which allows Dominio do Sol residents to use all their facilities (indoor and outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, evening entertainment etc). The apartments at Dominio do Sol are spacious and clean. The furniture is basic but adequate and the kitchens have hob and oven, microwave oven, fridge, kettle, toaster, pots, dishes and cutlery provided. Dominio do Sol has 2 lovely outdoor swimming pools of its own apart from access to the pools at the Balaia Plaza. The water's cold, though, but that's true of all the pools I've experienced in the Algarve. The restaurant is lovely and worth a try. There is a snooker room just off the reception area and the tables cost 5 Euros an hour to hire. There are many shops and good restaurants within 2 miles of the aparthotel, including the Albufeira Strip, so there is always plenty to do. The Balaia Plaza Hotel has entertainment every night, such as quiz nights, karaoke and guest singers. The staff at Dominio do Sol are pleasant and helpful and complaints are dealt with promptly at reception. There are 2 fantastic beaches a few hundred yards across the road from Dominio do Sol, Maria Luisa Beach and Santa Eulalia beach.
They have fantastic golden sand and the Atlantic waves lapping the shore. There are water sports available for the more energetic and daring. Both beaches have sea food restaurants, where you can get anything from a glass of beer to a banquet. We have had 3 fabulous holidays at Dominio do Sol and can't wait to go back.

20  Thank Scotlandcag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank marisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Nádia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Muthu Forte da Oura
Muthu Forte da Oura
#86 of 154 in Albufeira
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solar de Sao Joao
Solar de Sao Joao
#100 of 154 in Albufeira
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
Apartamentos Turisticos Regina
#135 of 154 in Albufeira
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
#147 of 154 in Albufeira
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#69 of 154 in Albufeira
443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acqua Maris Balaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acqua Maris Balaia

Address: Estrada de Santa Eulalia | Apartado 978, Areias de S.João, Albufeira 8200-269, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $33 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acqua Maris Balaia 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acqua Maris Balaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acqua Maris Balaia Hotel Albufeira
Dominio Do Sol Albufeira
Dominio Sol
Acqua Maris Balaia Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing