We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We stayed here from the 15th-22nd of May. I had read the earlier reviews and knew not to expect anything great.
When we arrived at the hotel at 1pm we were told our room wasnt ready until after 2.30pm, not really a problem for us so we headed for st. eulalia beach, which is lovely and about a 10/15 minute walk from the hotel.Got to our room which was on the 5th floor, and it was spotlessly clean, and more than adequate for us both. the balcony was a good size, compared to some of the others.And the bed was very comfortable.
I had read on earlier reviews that you only get one change of towels, this is quite true, the maids didnt leave any clean towels and I had to ask reception for them and within 30 minutes we got them.
Reception staff seemed helpful and friendly enough,.
There are 2 small lifts in the main reception area, one of which was out of order most of the time and when it did work some poor sod was stuck in for ages till the engineer got them out. The pool area looked to be clean enough from our balcony, but the one time we sat around the pool was enough, the grass is covered with cigarette butts and is sodden squelchy wet. The sun loungers need to be cleaned if not renewed.
The barman seems to work all the hours God sends, and despite this he stayed friendly and polite. The entertainment was awful, Fred West is alive and well and making a living as an Elvis impersonator, it is so awful its worth watching, but only if you have a few drinks beforehand
The hotel is situated on a back road and about 5-10 minute walk from the main strip which is bars restaurants shops and more bars restaurants and shops.
We hired a car for the week and went to different places, Vilamoura is a lot more upmarket than Albufeira.The island of Tavira is well worth a visit if you get sick of the bars restaurants and shops and want a fantastic beach.
Overall the hotel was very good value for money it cost £100 for both of us for the week, and our flights were cheap too, So for a couple of hundred quid it was a bargain, If you want a clean and basic hotel, enjoy a few drinks, like to watch the drunks make fools of themselves and see Fred West in action then its a giggle.
You only ever get what you pay for, and a holiday is only what you make it, The Dom Pancho isnt the Ritz but it aint that bad either

  • Liked — clean and cheap
  • Disliked — nothing, I got what I paid for and could have done a lot worse
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    520
    250
    114
    62
See reviews for
517
598
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Stayed here on a long weekend at the end of April 08. I believe that I was there at the same time as "biffhamilton" who wrote the review below. I agree that there was a large stag party there who were rather loud but did see the hotel barman approach them several times and ask them to quieten down. Not really the fault of the hotel if some guests don't know how to behave!

We had booked a bargain rate via Expedia and were pleasantly surprised by the accommodation. Staff were all friendly and helpful. Rooms were a good size and well maintained. The bathroom had an excellent power shower. Everything was spotless in the rooms and public areas.

We found the location ideal - a short walk to the beach and 'The Strip' for restaurants and bars with a few local places right outside. "Rumours" at the top of the entrance road to was very good value. The supermarket just over the road from the hotel was useful for supplies and ideal if you wished to make use of the cooking facilities in the apartments.

As others have mentioned you need to pay deposits for air con and TV remote controls and the in-room safe although we didn't make use of any of these - we simply left the balcony door open at night and that cooled the room just fine.

Would happily stay here again and have recommended it to others.

  • Liked — Location, room size and cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hzv5wk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2008

The Dom Pancho was a brilliant place to stay
The apartment block was huge, the reception, bar and restaurant were all very classy. The rooms have everything you need even when staying for 2 weeks like I did. The view from the apartments is amazing whether you're at the front or back of the hotel. I was very lucky; I got a top floor, front view room, it was lovely waking up to that view every morning!!
There's entertainment every night in the hotel bar from karaoke to quizzes to singers and musicians and the staff are really friendly.
It is close to everything you need; there are numerous cafe's just outside the complex and about 5 minutes walk away is the strip....covered with amazing bars and restaurants. In particular Cafe Del Mar....I recommend anyone who's in the area visit this bar; the drinks are reasonably priced and the staff are all really friendly! Also 5 mins from the hotel is a train stop which takes you straight to the Old Town....the furthest thing from the hotel are beaches, Oura Beach is about 25 mins walk away but it is a nice pleasant walk.
I give Dom Pancho two big thumbs up!!!! Our holiday wouldn't have been the same if we stayed anywhere else!

  • Liked — Location and convenience
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SCaseySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2008

I booked our four-night stay at the apartments because of the short distance to the beach, otherwise this place is nothing special.
We booked a studio apartment even though we are two adults, a child and a baby and I was surprised that it was actually much smaller that I expected. The room was nice and clean but even though the place is supposed to have had a recent refurbishment, the decor is rather cheap looking. The cot that we had requested had seen better days and stood quite wonky.
The kitchenette was ok but the two things I fully expected to function were the microwave/grill and the hob kettle. The kettle was useless, it took an absolute age to boil and I ended up using the steel mug to boil water for the baby's feeds and tea. The only reason I did not take my own travel kettle was because I assumed a decent one would be provided. The grill took almost as long to make toast so after a couple of days we gave up and went out for breakfast instead.
I am used to the cleaning of a hotel/apartment room being done round lunchtime when you are sure to be out. For every day that we were there, the maid - even though she was very nice - would come in the late afternoon when we were normally coming back with the kids and just wanted to relax. This was quite awkward because we normally ended up hovering on the balcony while she cleaned.
There are lots of places to eat aroud the apartments and the beach is definately walking distance. The Old Town is lovely and I actually prefered the stretch of beach over there than that near the apartments.
It irked me that we had to pay one euro every time reception staff ordered us a taxi - and I felt they were over efficient to the point of being dismissive.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the useless kettle and grill
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lutongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2008

6 lads stayed at the Dom Pancho for 3 nights at the start of May. We had 2 rooms - each with one bedroom. These were perfect for what we wanted, and had twin beds in the bedrooms with a sofa bed in the lounge area.

The rooms were a good size and seemed to have been recently refurbished. They were spotlessly clean and included a nice bathroom, table and 4 chairs, TV, balcony, and a new kitchen area with a couple of hobs, microwave, fridge and cutlery/crockery - ideal for what we needed. If you were planning to prepare meals then this could potentially be a problem. We didn't prepare any food in the room, so I can't comment on this.

Checking in was easy. All the staff are polite, both at reception and in the pool/bar area. The pool area was great, with a large main pool and small kid's pool, sun loungers and surrounding grassed area. Even though we were a group of 6 lads aged between 26 and 30 on a stag trip, the apartments were filled mainly with families, groups of women and couples, so they're ideal for any type of holiday. The pool area was relaxed and fairly quiet.

There are tennis courts but we didn't use them. The bar area has outdoor seating and serves a range of drinks, as well as food during the day. The bar/restaurant inside is a good size and has various things going on during certain nights. We didn't use this though.

The apartments are a 2-5 minute walk from the 'strip', and you arrive right in the middle. From there, you can go either right (up) or left (down towards the beach). There's a large choice of restaurants, pubs and bars. The beach is about a 20-25 minute walk from the apartments, and was really nice.

All in all, the Dom Pancho was a great place to stay, especially for the money.

  • Liked — Location, rooms, just about everything
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timboUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

my family have just came back from this place and i did not like the hotel at all when we got there we had paid for a t1 room and they had put us in to a studio when wee went down they told us we would need to pay 105 euros extra if not we would have to stay in the studio we were in room 332 that looks on to the pool in the week we were there it was full of guys on stag weekends i have a son who is autistic and i go when its not very busy but the things that these people were doing and the over all carry on was not suitable for families the bar that you have to pass to get on to the main street was fullof people that were walking out in the street with knives i saw it with my own eyes i was scared the hotel to me is not suitable for families and the towels should be changed more often the indoor pool was closed there was a bit of waste land and the only thing stopping some body getting in was a bit of mess after what has happend in portugal last year i did not feel that there was enough security in place the goo tings was wee found some were to eat round from us it was called gs the food was exellent i would go back to portugal but never in to that hotel my son was very upset ad i nearly came home after 3 day

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank biffhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Rooms were clean and a good size. Other guests varied from families to young couples and groups of friends. The location is great - very close to amenities and a short stroll from the beach on a fairly quiet side road. I'd definitely recommend it.

Ali

  • Liked — Location and good room size
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
Clube Humbria
Clube Humbria
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#91 of 154 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa

Property: Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Address: Corcovada, Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-664, Portugal (Formerly Dom Pancho Aparthotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALBUFEIRA SOL HOTEL APARTAMENTO & SPA **** after a full renovation and redecoration asserts itself as a modern luxurious 4 ****, which provides guests with all the comfort and service of the highest quality in all inclusive. Its location, range of services, wellness and hospitality is the ideal choice for your stay. In vacation or working we bring you together all the conditions to offer "a relaxing and enjoyable stay". Share your holiday with us and enjoy excellent access to the best beaches in the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Albufeira
Dom Pancho Portugal
Dom Pancho Algarve
Dom Pancho Albufeira
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Dom Pancho
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing