We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Ranked #12 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2008

6 lads stayed at the Dom Pancho for 3 nights at the start of May. We had 2 rooms - each with one bedroom. These were perfect for what we wanted, and had twin beds in the bedrooms with a sofa bed in the lounge area.

The rooms were a good size and seemed to have been recently refurbished. They were spotlessly clean and included a nice bathroom, table and 4 chairs, TV, balcony, and a new kitchen area with a couple of hobs, microwave, fridge and cutlery/crockery - ideal for what we needed. If you were planning to prepare meals then this could potentially be a problem. We didn't prepare any food in the room, so I can't comment on this.

Checking in was easy. All the staff are polite, both at reception and in the pool/bar area. The pool area was great, with a large main pool and small kid's pool, sun loungers and surrounding grassed area. Even though we were a group of 6 lads aged between 26 and 30 on a stag trip, the apartments were filled mainly with families, groups of women and couples, so they're ideal for any type of holiday. The pool area was relaxed and fairly quiet.

There are tennis courts but we didn't use them. The bar area has outdoor seating and serves a range of drinks, as well as food during the day. The bar/restaurant inside is a good size and has various things going on during certain nights. We didn't use this though.

The apartments are a 2-5 minute walk from the 'strip', and you arrive right in the middle. From there, you can go either right (up) or left (down towards the beach). There's a large choice of restaurants, pubs and bars. The beach is about a 20-25 minute walk from the apartments, and was really nice.

All in all, the Dom Pancho was a great place to stay, especially for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timboUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2008

my family have just came back from this place and i did not like the hotel at all when we got there we had paid for a t1 room and they had put us in to a studio when wee went down they told us we would need to pay 105 euros extra if not we would have to stay in the studio we were in room 332 that looks on to the pool in the week we were there it was full of guys on stag weekends i have a son who is autistic and i go when its not very busy but the things that these people were doing and the over all carry on was not suitable for families the bar that you have to pass to get on to the main street was fullof people that were walking out in the street with knives i saw it with my own eyes i was scared the hotel to me is not suitable for families and the towels should be changed more often the indoor pool was closed there was a bit of waste land and the only thing stopping some body getting in was a bit of mess after what has happend in portugal last year i did not feel that there was enough security in place the goo tings was wee found some were to eat round from us it was called gs the food was exellent i would go back to portugal but never in to that hotel my son was very upset ad i nearly came home after 3 day

Stayed: April 2008
2  Thank biffhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Rooms were clean and a good size. Other guests varied from families to young couples and groups of friends. The location is great - very close to amenities and a short stroll from the beach on a fairly quiet side road. I'd definitely recommend it.

Ali

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Stayed at the Dom Pancho at the end of March, nice hotel, good location, had a pool view, bathroom had a great power shower, the weather was a bit hit and miss so sat by the pool a couple of times.
I can imagine that its a big problem in the summer with the sunbeds as alot of them around the pool are broken, and definately need some more!
Alot of cobelly pavements so is best to wear flat shoes!
During our stay there was a lovely stray dog, that would be outside the hotel most days, alot of people made a fuss of her, just wish someone would take her in!!
One thing i was really annoyed about is, we had a taxi transfer from the airport to the Dom Pancho and it cost 73 euros!!!
the taxi from the hotel back to airport cost 34 euros!!! make sure you agree a price with the driver b4 you get in!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WellandGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

had a good week at the Dom Pancho, 1 bed apartment pool view, found it a good base for the strip and the old town, plenty of places to eat, would recommend the Geordie Pride for english meals and a great breakfast, Rumours bar is also very handy with great staff.
the best steak we found was at Wild&co at the sea end of the strip.
we found the accommodation very clean, towels are changed every 4th day, bedding each week, this wasn't a problem, beds were a bit firm for us.
Do wear good walking shoes, as everywhere around the town is paved with shiney, uneven at times cobbles.
Take the small train to the old town costs 3 euro for an all day ticket, catch it at the top of the strip.
Zoomarine well worth a look and can be booked easily from Paradise tours across from the hotel.
Ali super market is good with a lot of your usual brands eg nescafe, pg tips, english papers etc.
Dislikes:
Having to pay deposits on tv remote, air con remote, safety deposit box, all comes to 60 euros, you get 45 euro back on check out.
The apartments can be noisy due to other guests inconsiderate behaviour, and the all tiled floors.
Staff were always polite and efficient

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank UkAndyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I stayed with a friend for three nights at Dom Pancho and we were quite happy with most things, except that they didn't clean our room on Sunday and hadn't left enough loo paper to last until Monday afternoon. The towels weren't changed the whole time we were there, but that wasn't really a problem as we were only there for four days and had brought an extra towel in our suitcase (having read about the seldom-changed towels on a tripadvisor review).

All the staff we spoke to at Dom Pancho were very nice, and the communal areas were all spotless and nicely maintained. I think if we had had children with us we would have suffered a bit from the lack of clean towels and the bins not being emptied on Sunday etc, but as a couple of young people just looking for a relaxing break this was fine. Pretty close to shops, bars etc and with a really nice pool surrounded by decking and a lawn rather than hot slippery tiles.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AAC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Just had a short break at the Dom Pancho with a very good deal by Jet2 .com. Ignore previous complaints -this place has been fully refurbished apart from changing facilities in the indoor pool which hopefully will be done when it closes at the end of March for summer. The apartment - pool view - was excellent, all fixtures and fittings were brand new except the fridge. Kitchen is basic but I wasn't there to do cordon bleu cooking. It is perfect for brewing up, breakfast and snacks with a combi microwave and 2 rings on the ceramic hob. Only complaint was that the teapot leaked and the cups were too small for a decent sized cup of tea! Staff were friendly and helpful with maid service daily and towels changed on 4th day. It is ideally situated with supermarket across the road and plenty of eating places to suit all prices and tastes in the immediate area. Can recommmend Casa Velha for fresh, tasty meals and friendly staff. It is a 5 min walk to the Strip and the little train is good value into Albufeira Old Town. A 20 min walk to the lovely beach with cafes, toilets and showers, down a short steep hill but worth the effort.
I agree there might not be enough sunbeds around the pool in busy months and they do not have cushions so are very uncomfortable for long periods so you might be better on the grass anyway - there is plenty of garden space. Big outdoor pool too cold in March but the heated indoor pool was the warmest I've ever been in.
Can definately recommend Dom Pancho at this time of year and would go back again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ManchesterBusybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.0 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#41 of 154 in Albufeira
2,330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#83 of 154 in Albufeira
3,386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,806 reviews
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa

Address: Corcovada, Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-664, Portugal (Formerly Dom Pancho Aparthotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $23 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALBUFEIRA SOL HOTEL APARTAMENTO & SPA **** after a full renovation and redecoration asserts itself as a modern luxurious 4 ****, which provides guests with all the comfort and service of the highest quality in all inclusive. Its location, range of services, wellness and hospitality is the ideal choice for your stay. In vacation or working we bring you together all the conditions to offer "a relaxing and enjoyable stay". Share your holiday with us and enjoy excellent access to the best beaches in the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Albufeira
Dom Pancho Portugal
Dom Pancho Algarve
Dom Pancho Albufeira
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Dom Pancho
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing