We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fab Holiday”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks from 20th September, it has changed its name to Albufeira Sol, we were in a 1 bedroom apartment with pool view. The room was very spacious, nice sitting room, bedroom with plenty of hanging space for clothes. Lovely bathroom with bath and shower which dont normally get, the kitchen had 2 hobs, a combination oven/microwave, toaster and plenty pans, plates etc.....

The rooms were cleaned everyday and cannot fault the place, we were self catering so never ate in the restaurant, just had a few snacks by the pool like chips and sandwiches, they were okay but did prefer to either do something in apartment or pop out for breakfast/lunch....... Supermarket is just along the road so very handy. Also like Rumours for breakfast or they did lovely homemade burgers for lunch, we also liked a bar at the end of the road where hotel was on the right hand side, was run by a local lad, 1 pint was just 1.50 euros.

We loved the pool and could always get a sunbed, was plenty and did not have to be up at a daft time for this ( some people have commented that couldnt get sunbeds,maybe is a problem in high season but not when we were there) The pool was very cold but very refreshing if you were hot from the sun...

On a night time we like a restaurant down the main street called Rania's, ate there around 4 times and never had a bad meal, also liked the food in Little Britian and a restaurant called Cockerel Kitchen (need to book for here ) Also the Dubliner irish bar very good, live music on a Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday, good laugh. We also liked a bar that was on the bottom road as if headiung for the strip, cant rem its name but it started with I and had cocktails half price before 10pm.

We personally were not taht keen on the strip, found it a bit OTT but liked the shops along there, on a night time prefered to go down the main street instead of the strip.. We also went into the old town which was fab, with all the different shops, bars, restaurants, live acts, music was great and plenty happening. We sometimes used the little train you can get (one way is 2.00 euros or all day 3.50 euros) or sometimes we just got a taxi as was only 4.50 euros

Overall I Think this area and apartments are fab and we would go back again

Room Tip: we paid a little extra and had a pool view room which was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisonandTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    555
    263
    120
    68
See reviews for
568
621
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

stayed here last year and am so glad went back again. the hotel is now called albufeira sol, but nothing has changed. if you are wanting a quiet getaway with excellent facilities then book here. everything you need for a self catering holiday. rooms spotless and cleaned everyday. receptionists are very polite and helpful, especially the lady whose name we didnt get, but she always had a smile on her face and we had a good laugh with her everytime we went to the reception. 5min walk to the lively 'strip' and 20 min walk to the old town. ideal in everyway. entertainment only on in the hotel every third day, but with everything close by its not needed in the hotel. will be returning next year.

Room Tip: depends what you want, all rooms have balconys. we always pay that bit extra for the pool view as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of July and loved it! Good mix of people- families, young groups and couples. Huge pool, never over crowded. Always sun beds available and plenty of shade. Rooms are well equipped and spacious. We were lucky and had a view over looking the pool :). Staff very friendly and helpful with 24 hr reception. Location was spot on. About a 20 min walk to the beach. A great choice of restaurants on doorstep. Close to the strip of bars but not too close to be disturbed. Old Town is a must visit, especially in the evening when it comes alive. Outside escalators take you down to a different world. Loved it. Loads of bars, restaurants and live music. Great beach. About 6 euro from the hotel or a 40 min walk. Would definitely recommend. Everywhere was very welcoming. Ps. Being a light jacket as gets windy in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bexter_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

myself, my husband and 3 best friends visited this hotel for 8 days on the 24th sept 2012, it was a honeymoon/20th wedding anniversary celebrations and we were not dissapointed. From checking in to checking out the staff were helpful, polite and friendly. The rooms were clean, spacious, well equipped....the bathroom had flowers which was a nice touch, shower was powerful and hot (not always when abroad) and there was complementary toilettries. The beds were comfortable, bedding clean and there is a lovely dressing table with lights for the ladies!! The balcony was spacious and had a washing line to dry clothes upon. Both rooms had air condition and there was a TV which received ITV (sad i know but at least we knew what was going on with X Factor lol). The pool area was well maintained, very clean, has two pools but no inflatables were allowed; however a positive of this is the pool area was quiet and relaxed. This hotel probably would't be good for families due to this and the pool was very deep. Snacks and drinks were available from the pool side bar; staff friendly and helpful and the food is good. We often took soft drinks sound the pool and there was not a problem with this. We felt that there was only two negatives to this hotel, one being the towel changes were not frequent enough (maid did visit daily and the rooms were kept spotless) and we were booked for bed and breakfast but the breakfast was poor (bread, ham and cheeses ), however we found the bar at the end of the road called Rumours did a cracking breakfast and they were very helpful even making us breakfast sandwiches to take with us on our last day (they also do food all day and night which was good). There is also a supermarket at the end of the road selling everything u will need with a cash point machine. I would def return to Albufeira again and would stay at this hotel but would more than likely choose another only to experience another hotel and a different part of the resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discofairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just back from spending a week in this hotel.it has changed its name to alberferia sol hotel. could not fault it staff were very helpful and friendly the rooms were clean and fresh they had complimentry shampoo and conditioner all the room had hair driers and the maid service was excellent came every day to clean and put fresh towels and asked if you needed anything. the pool and area around it was cleaned every morning..would defo go back there

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed from 11th - 20th sept on half board ! This is not a four star hotel specially were the food is concerned...... Breakfast and dinner was a joke, we went down for dinner to find 2 people in the restaurant, who Came straight over to tell us the set up with the menu ! Sorry very small menu of 2 starters, 2main, and 2 deserts. Food was terrible ! So we had to eat out for 8 nights after paying for " half board " ! We went down for breakfast on are first day to find there was no hot food at all ! But they more than willing to make it for you if you payed for it ! It was that bad a lady boiled her eggs in her room and brought them down with her ! No joke ! This hotel should not offer half board as they do not know how to cater for people ! On a good note, we were on the 4th floor and the room was spacious and clean. Hotel location was great for the younger crowd, but a no go for older people as it was a 15 min walk down hill to the beach, And would be a struggle on the way back up !!! We will not be returning to albufeira any time soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmca1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Went to this hotel on the 13th of September for one week ,we had a short wait to get into are room but nothing too drastic reception staff really nice and helpfull.

Upon walking into this hotel we were a bit dissapointed as the reception area looked a bit drab and outdated very 1970s,but the room we were allocated 313 on the third floor was lovely newly refurbished very clean and comfortable. When booking i requested a couple of extra pillows which were waiting for us when we came back from dinner that night.

With regard to the resturaunt dont really no where to start on the first two nights we ate from the limited menu then it went downhill thereafter, There is no buffet option at all
We where given a sheet of paper with only a handfull of choices on it , starter was soup or salad if they had it
Main course was either 1 meat dish 1 fish dish 2 pasta dishes or pizza you had to emphasize strongly if you wanted veg otherwise you got salad with everything or nothing at all. The sweet menu was the same every night four options from a chiller

They chose a meat and a fish dish to put on the menu if you didnt like them then that was tough.
If you were paying for your meal on the night you got the choice of another menu so much for half board this hotel is really set up to be a self caterer as per cooking facitliys in the room.

If you have children 5 upwards your not goin to like this place as there is no menu variations at all and it doesnt cator for kids.

Very little to do in this hotel day or night, except sunbathe which we did for 3 days the pool needed a really good clean as it had 1 inch of black mould around the top of it, i think they did do try a bit but just enough to get by.

The corridors could do with updating as they wre very dark and gloomy.

Although on a good point we had 7 nights good sleep whilst there and everything worked although the water was red hot regardless of setting ( Try cleaning your teeth with hot water )

In our opinions its ideal for self caterers . close to strip. 5 out of 10.been to much better close by.

Room Tip: Stay in 313
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripleaaa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#78 of 154 in Albufeira
3,285 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
Real Bellavista Hotel & Spa
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
2,174 reviews
3.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clube Humbria by 3HB
Clube Humbria by 3HB
#1 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa

Property: Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa
Address: Corcovada, Areias de Sao Joao, Albufeira 8200-664, Portugal (Formerly Dom Pancho Aparthotel)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ALBUFEIRA SOL HOTEL APARTAMENTO & SPA **** after a full renovation and redecoration asserts itself as a modern luxurious 4 ****, which provides guests with all the comfort and service of the highest quality in all inclusive. Its location, range of services, wellness and hospitality is the ideal choice for your stay. In vacation or working we bring you together all the conditions to offer "a relaxing and enjoyable stay". Share your holiday with us and enjoy excellent access to the best beaches in the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Albufeira
Dom Pancho Portugal
Dom Pancho Algarve
Dom Pancho Albufeira
Dom Pancho Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira
Albufeira Dom Pancho
Albufeira Sol Suite Hotel & Spa Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing