We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location to beach/Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colina do Mar Hotel
Ranked #87 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient location to beach/Old Town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

Colina Do Mar is ideally situated if you don't walk a long walk to either beach or shops/restaurants etc. We were booked into a room on the 4th floor which was directly under the rooftop pool. Although not a problem in March (other than the continuous drone of the filter overhead), I could foresee it being quite noisy in busier months.
There were some new buildings being worked on across the road but other than being a little unsightly (huge crane), we were not disturbed by any noisy building works.
Our room smelt quite damp and fusty but was clean on arrival & covered basic needs. There were 2 large single beds pushed together, a small fridge, dressing table, 1 wicker chair, 2 large built in wardrobes (with a safe inside 1) and en-suite bathroom with bath and shower head. The bathroom was very clean
The hotel had us a their guests, we in turn had tiny little ants...... and quite a few of them, especially in the wardrobe with the safe in it! On the shelf & in the drawers. I felt the need to check the bed before I hopped in just to make sure I hadn't extra company!
A buffet breakfast sered its purpose to fuel up for the morning.....toast, bread rolls, ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurts, fruit juice, oh and cold hard boiled eggs.
Rooms were cleaned daily, beds made and towels changed.
The TV room and bar were not opened during our stay despite requests by other guests, being told they would remain closed as the season hadn't properly started.
It is a very cheap place to stay so you get what you pay for!
Upside to the hotel is its convenience to the beach and main square of the old town, both of which can be reached within 5 mins or so.
If you want a convenient, basic, cheap hotel to stay - this could be it but personally wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happysnapper60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    117
    79
    27
    23
See reviews for
27
165
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

The hotel is located in the centre of Albufeira old town, rooms are basic but cleaned everyday (however take shower gel shampoo as these are only supplied on arrival, one sachet per person per week).
Breakfast is buffet, but good for the money (fruit, salad, jam, butter, boiled eggs, etc).
The road is very steep but not very long to get to the hotel.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Ok so this might be a long review but I'm going to list every good and bad point about this hotel!
We stayed in Albufiera the same time last year in a different hotel and loved it so we thought we'd stay again and we wern't dissapointed, Albufiera is a gorgeous place to stay.
We booked Colina Do Mar off teletext holidays for a 4 night stay in March 2010. On arrival we were surprised by the area, it is in a quiet location of the town but there were some apartments being built across the road that were unfinished and the street looked abit like a building site.
The receptionist spoke good English and welcomed us to the Hotel giving us all the information we needed. We stayed in room 31 on the 3rd floor.
The room smelt quite damp and fusty but was quite comfortable for us. There were 2 large single beds pushed together, a small fridge, dressing table, 1 wicker chair, 2 large built in wardrobes (with a safe inside 1) and en-suite bathroom with bath and shower head. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was lovely and warm. Well so far so good!
We'd had no sleep so decided to take a siesta! When I awoke I was startled to find there was an ant on my pillow. Ok so one ant wouldn't hurt?! But on close inspection we had been invaded! We went down to reception to tell the receptionist thinking they might move us to another room, but instead she gave us a can of insect killer spray! This had the desired effect for a day then we were invaded again but this time in the wardrobe, so the spray came out again! only advice would be to don't eat in your room and don't leave any rubbish lying around.
The breakfast buffet was very basic. Toast, bread rolls, ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurts, fruit juice and a boiled egg if you were up early enough to get one!
Cleaners would make your bed and leave clean towels and a new toilet roll everyday.
It is a very cheap place to stay so you get what you pay for!
The best thing about this hotel would be its location to the old town and the beach, and this is probably the only reason we would perhaps stay there again. it is probably a two minute walk to town and five minutes to the beach. Gets a thumbs up for location to town and beach but a thumbs down for just all the small inconveniences!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ-n-Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Apart from being located a 100 yards up a steep hill, the location was first class. Staff were very helpful. Getting an early breakfast was no problem. Continental breakfast was very good, both in choice and quantity. Roof top pool was fine.
Noise from building work across the street did not materialise.
Bedrooms were fine.
No tea making facilities in room so bring your own.
Would stay again, especially in the winter period

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradisesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

What can i say, this hotel is great if you want to stay somewhere that is cheap and right in the middle of everything. We got such a bargin for our 2 week stay, i would highly recommend staying here. The staff were very helpful, and chatty. The pool was great, not very big but this did not bother us as it never seemed to get busy, and the views are amazing, perfect for sunbathing. The only bad points i will mention are, the breakfast was not great... and you can sometimes here people with their luggage leaving quite early in the morning, it was quite loud in the hallway. But that would not stop me staying again, you get what you pay for. And it is literally a 5 min walk to the beach, perfect.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is definitely not a luxury hotel however it is in a fantastic location just steps away from the centre of Old Town and a two minute walk to the beach on a side street away from the noise and bustle. Fine, if location is your main factor for choosing a hotel. If you are looking for a lovely place to relax then personally I would recommend someplace with nicer surroundings. The staff are very nice and helpful though. The rooms have a grey feeling about them but are clean, the bathrooms are a good size, white and very clean. The rooms are basic, but have good air con, small fridge, TV, safe, and hairdryer. The view from the rooms at the moment is not great as they overlook a building site, and I would recommend asking for a room on the higher floors as we stayed on the lower floor and if you leant out the window you could touch the parked cars. no joke. The breakfast isn’t great, very basic, but to eat out in Old Town is cheap, most places serve a selection of different meals for five euros. Just one bad thing about location, the hotel is located on a hill which is quite steep, perhaps elderly or disabled may find it hard, but overall it shouldn’t cause a problem as its not far up the hill. Overall, location is fantastic, rooms are clean, but grey and boring with bad views, staff are nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

Clean hotel with aircon, brilliant view through the windows and at the swimming pool on the roof top, best location close to the centre and the beach, and its great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petermwas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#89 of 163 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#64 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Branca
Vila Branca
#75 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
Hotel Mansao Bertolina
#150 of 163 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colina do Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina do Mar Hotel

Property: Colina do Mar Hotel
Address: Rua Maria Teresa Semedo de Azevedo 3, Albufeira 8200-155, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colina do Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colina do Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Do Mar Residencial Hotel Albufeira
Colina Do Mar Residencial Albufeira
Colina Do Mar Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing