We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would be heaven if they ditched the constant piped music from 8am”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cerro da Marina Hotel
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Booked this hotel as it's marketed as tranquil peaceful and relaxing, it would have been perfect however at 8.10 am on the dot peace was interrupted with piped music tracks that went on until at least 8 pm. If it just been played in the restaurant and bar fair enough but round the pool all day. A previous reviewer stated it reminded them of butlins. It wasnt really needed as it spoilt the tranquility of the hotel and pool. If people want to hear music then they play their own choice through headphones like we do.

To have peace interrupted all day by someone else's choice of music some of which was certainly not to our taste it was a disappointment. Have it on in the morning for a few hours then give it a rest for the afternoon so people can have a snooze or read inpeace. We did ask twice for it to be turned in the afternoon twice,they duly obliged but we felt bad for having to ask. Quite a few guests there were of the same opinion,one if them had been asking previous week to have it turned down
The hotel itself a gem but the location for anyone with mobility issues would not recommend unless you want to stay in the hotel all the time or take taxis
We found the hills a bit of a pain but did only get taxi back twice...
The marina isn't up to much but worth a visit as it's quiet and has some nice bars which serve great cocktails, couple of nice restaurants, however most of the area is horrendous gaudy coloured apartment blocks and empty shop units.. What a shame it could be made into something so much attractive
Hotel room was excellent plenty of hanging space great powerful shower comfy and exceptionally clean
We were kept awake a lot by the people next door having their air con all night so the constant buzzing vibration and whirring from their unit which was against our wall was annoying
Staff are lovely and Carol is very helpful
Supermarket very close and dont buy water in the hotel, it's 2.5 euro for a litre you can get a 5 litre bottle for much less than at the supermarket
The lunch at the hotel is great they do lovely salads very nicely presented, plenty of it
Breakfast was very good great assortment of breads and bacon scrambled eggs sausages and beans. Sausages were sometimes the hot dog ones and yuk but some days we had really nice ones scrambles eggs made fresh
.plus the usual ham cheese fruit boiled eggs etc
One thing that amused us was a list of what it would cost you if you dared take anything eg 30 cents for a pat of butter, plus various other charges for a piece of ham or cheese and a slice of bread...We have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years but never seen this before have seen notices asking people not to take things but never a list of charges., be warned there are cameras all over !
Albufeira we thought was a bit of a dump..the old town was nothing like we expected, it was tacky and not really anything charming about it all. We found Lagos further up the coast to be much better with more local type bars and restaurants but without the element of groups of mouthy Brits
The term old town is very very mis leading !,
Ate at il castelo and that was excellent, and atrium was very good as well, lot of people rave about 3 crowns but we were quite ill after eating there
Would never go back to albufeira too much like our city on a Friday night !
But the hotel is gem


,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kingfisher100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 312 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Cerro Da Marina the second week in September and, overall, we enjoyed our stay. We had been looking forward to this break for a long time as had booked it in January this year (it was the only room left). Looking at previous reviews we had every confidence that we would have a lovely time.

We were dropped off by the coach at the end of the driveway and were checked in quickly by reception. We found our room on the ground floor which was lovely – really big and comfortable with enough room to swing a cat! We had a view of the gardens and a side view of the pool. From what I could tell, all Thomson rooms were offered with a pool view but there were rooms that didn’t have this (I don’t think the whole hotel was occupied by Thomson). The free air-conditioning was welcomed as the temperatures were very hot. The fridge is classed as a minibar which my partner and I weren’t going to frequent so we asked if we could use it as a fridge and they obliged (which was nice). There is a decent sized supermarket round the corner called Alisuper where we bought some local cheeses for lunch. There were gifts of food and drink left in the room on some days which was a nice touch. Also we liked the fact that the rooms were alarmed so if you didn’t put your card into the slot, it would set the alarm off if you walked into the room too far (we thought this should be a feature in the brochure, along with the availbility of safes in the rooms).

We stayed at the hotel on a B&B basis – the food was plentiful and refreshed regularly by the attentive staff. We were surprised to see both hot and cold assortments of food. There were some guests that had booked Half Board and generally comments were good from them. If you wanted to stay for an evening meal you had to request your selection by midday – usually the menu changed each day. We never stayed to eat at the hotel as we were put off by the fact that one lady said the evening food was cooked at the sister hotel down the road (Hotel do Cerro) and then brought to the Cerro Da Marina. Apparently the fish was nice but the steak could be a little tough (one lady said she could use it as a shoe sole!).

The pool area was nice and clean. We were disappointed that people would put towels out before nine o’clock in the morning as we did not expect this to happen at such a small hotel! My partner and I felt compelled to do the same but didn’t enjoy doing it. The hotel was full and some days all loungers were taken but we never had a problem in finding somewhere to relax. There are sheltered areas if you wanted to get away from the sun which was nice. The Jacuzzi was a nice touch too – we used it a couple of times! The afternoon tea served from 4.00-4.30pm was lovely and some days the staff would bring round some local delicacies to taste. My partner and I didn’t use the honesty bar much as we rented a kettle for 1.50 Euros per day but it was nice if you fancied something without having to take your money around the pool.

The hotel was nicely positioned in the quiet residential area outside of the hustle and bustle of the old town. We managed to walk down to the town in about 15-20 minutes. It took us a while to find the best route down as it is a bit of a maze! The walk back up to the hotel was OK but could be challenging for some. The old town wasn’t quite what we were expecting – lots of shops (all selling the same stuff), Irish bars, karaoke, nightclubs and generally lots of noise!! We managed to find a couple of restaurants that sold authentic Portuguese food, namely Restaurante 54 and Casa Da Fonte. We also ate at Ricardo’s which served lovely Italian food. Outside of the town, we wandered around the new marina and found a lovely restaurant which was more upmarket. It overlooked the marina and served lovely food. It was called Castelo Do Mar and is currently ranked at number two in Albufeira’s top restaurants. You definitely need to book though but we were lucky and managed to squeeze in one night.

We visited the new town of Albufeira on the land train - to be honest we just wanted to get straight back on the train as it was full of tacky shops and bars! It made the old town look placid in comparison. We also went down to the beach which wasn’t pleasant under foot if you caught a shell. We didn’t stay down there as it was rather full but it was nice to walk along. There is a lift if you don’t fancy the stairs.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel as we both came back feeling relaxed (and full!) but if you prefer the more quaint, traditional Portugal then you might not find it here.

Room Tip: Room 009 was where we stayed - very nice, would recommend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alex-and-SarahT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights from the 1st of September. The hotel is situated in a quite area which is ideal for a relaxing stay . It is a small hotel, about 23 rooms, the staff were all very friendly and so
were all the other guests , which gave the hotel a very good atmosphere. Breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and could be taken inside or on the outside terrace. Free tea and cake was given out in the afternoon which was a very nice touch. Rooms and facilities were good and there is a smashing pool with plenty of loungers and a nice peaceful atmosphere.
We stayed on a b&b basis and found plenty of good places to eat in the old town, in fact the nightlife in general in the old town was very good.
The only one drawback to the hotel is that its up hill and about a 15 minute walk from the old town, not really a problem late at night, but a struggle midday in 30 plus degree heat,
Would certainly recommend at stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s_and_j_yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Went for a week from Sunday 9th September. Arrived early and Carole pulled out all the stops to make sure our room was ready before time. Excellent soft music greeted us and added to the relaxing nature of our stay, especially around the pool area. Breakfasts were plentiful , and from 8 to 10 were not rushed. The staff were friendly and hard working, and the cleanliness in all areas was good. The views from the balconies overlooked the local area for miles, and the sea was also in the picture although the hotel was not seafront positioned. We are walkers so the uphill/downhill walk to the old town was not a problem to us.Taxis are available and cheap, so the position of the hotel is not a problem for non walkers. We will be returning.

Room Tip: All rooms would be quiet, all with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barrie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Overall gr8 hotel the whole place is spotless loved the pool area and the chill out seating when you want to cool off. The breakfast is fab served 8/10 good for extra lay in. You are offered a variety of cereals, juices tea/coffee english breakfast, continental breakfast.
A good selection of breads and fruits and yogurts well impressed. When we stayed by the pool in the day we ate there as well gr8 sandwiches gr8 value good choice . Every afternooon the lovely staff came round the pool with nibbles really nice touch very kind of them to offer us this service.
All the staff bar 1 waiter could not do enough for you always stop to say hello greet you with a smile.
Only negitives 4 Us the evening meal and the male waiter serving us. We felt rushed like the male waiter was on a promise!!! He really let the hotel down
He didnt even give us time to have the bread with the pate. He just plonked the bowl of soup down in front of us. We had to ask for a drink as well.
He took another couples plates away whist they still had a mouth full.
The food was okish! the starters could not fault. For us just the main meal. We choose the steak 1nite boy like the sole of my shoe couldnt even cut it we ate out 3 out of the seven nites we stayed. We just felt if the hotel is offering HB then provide the service customers have paid for. COOK the food fresh on the premises!!!!! We wished we would of thought to ask with the evening meal being cooked at the sister hotel could we have gone to eat there instead the views are much better has it over looks the sea.
Now the walk to and from the town
PLEASE turn RIGHT out of the hotel go down to the island go left follow the road to the town
Trust me the only hill you have is the 1st bit from the hotel to the island.This is alot easier walk to & from the town.
Plus its much more scenic you can see the sea and the marina.
Plus on the way theres a fab pub over looking th sea very cheap we ordered 3 wine 2lrg beers and a brandy lemonade 16 euro.
Plus theres an indian restuarant above it the lads call them they come down you order ya food they bring it to you if you dont want to sit indoors. Foods well good yum yum.
Next to the pub is a huge supermarket we brought 1 and half ltr of water 4 29cent much cheaper then hotel price 160 euro 4 small bottle.
plus theres lots of places to eat or just have a drink on the way into the town. if you dont want it to crazy.
I think 1 of the reasons guests are told to turn left out of the hotel is so you go passed the sister hotel mayb spend money there???
All in all we would def stay again but only BB.
We would give excellent for the service and food at breakfast
The morning and reception?maids as well.
average for evening meal very poor for the male waiter and the service he offered.

Room Tip: Def only book B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistyderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed the first week in september for 7 nights. Situated in a residential area it is very quiet and relaxing. We had a lovely room and had views of the pool, sea and marina. Couldn't fault the hotel but as is said in other reviews it,s high position makes the walk back from the beach or town a little strenuous, not really suitable for the elderly or anyone with walking difficulties. Will return for sure.

Room Tip: first floor would be my choice for views but I think all rooms should be o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights at the end of august/early september, and found it a beautiful and relaxing hotel. Bedrooms were of good size with big bathroom to suit.
The pool area is something of an escapism. It allows you to relax and not be pestered by, well anyone!! The honesty bar is something which me and my partener espeacilly liked, gave a unique personalised feel. As if it was your own back yard swimming pool!
Myself and my partner are in our mid to late 20's, so the location did not hinder us. But be warned that your in for a very hilly walk if you want to get into town. A taxi service is available but we did not use this as we enjoyed the walking!!
All in all a very homely, inviting hotel with a fantastic pool. A couples resort for sure!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel do Cerro
Hotel do Cerro
#51 of 154 in Albufeira
826 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#26 of 154 in Albufeira
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Vila Gale Atlantico
2.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Vila Gale Collection Praia
Vila Gale Collection Praia
#3 of 154 in Albufeira
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro da Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro da Marina Hotel

Address: Rua do Cerro Grande, Albufeira 8200-108, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#30 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $59 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro da Marina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a landscaped garden, this hotel overlooks Albufeira’s new marina and offers elegantly decorated rooms with balconies. Only 700 metres from the beach, it features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi.Cerro Da Marina Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are decorated in neutral colours. Each room overlooks the garden or the pool, and has a flat-screen satellite TV and a minibar.Guests can start their day with a breakfast buffet. The hotel’s restaurant opens to the pool area and serves international cuisine and Mediterranean dishes. Special diet menus are also available.The nearest golf course is 4 km away, and close to the hotel there are water parks and zoo parks. The Main Church of Albufeira and the Fisherman's Beach Albufeira are only 700 metres away.Faro Airport is 27 km away, and the hotel offers free public parking on site. A car rental service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cerro da Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Da Marina Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cerro Da Marina Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing