We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, basic hotel with good view of the Old Town and ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2009

This is an all apartment hotel housed in 6 buildings, in a quiet area overlooking the old town. They have all the amenities, indoor swimming pool (for the indoor you must wear a bathing cap which they will sell you for 2 1/2 euros) and several outdoor pools, a bowling alley, sauna, Turkish bath, outdoor children's pool, tennis court, bar, and restaurant. The location is good if you can handle the infamous 96 steps and several inclines. They do offer a shuttle bus at certain times of the day but this is really a town for people who are able to walk. Certainly I'm in better shape now than when I arrived! People at the front desk are rather detached and cool but polite. They for some reason omitted giving us our tour company welcome package so we missed out on the information session for the first week. We didn't realize that we got one so we felt very abandoned by the hotel. Once you are handed your maid cleaning schedule and the shuttle bus schedule you a totally left on your own with no other information. I didn't know until I went back to ask, that irons are available from the front desk (for 1 hour at a time) or that they will lend you a hair dryer.
Our one bedroom apartment (room 317 in the main or "Garden" building)was good sized had a lovely fridge, cooktop, oven, dish washer and clothes-washer built in (no dryer). You had to hang things on the balcony clothes-bars to dry but everything dried quite quickly. There were adequate dishes, pots, and glasses but was lacking other small things like a veg peeler, small knife etc. It wasn't possible to use the dish washer as there weren't enough dishes to fill it so I hand washed what few we had. There was a coffee maker, toaster, kettle and microwave. No teapot. Bring a dishcloth as they don't supply them and they are hard to find. They supply a dish towel and toilet paper. Everything else is your responsibility. There is a "mini mercado" on site but their hours are very erratic perhaps due to the early season. It wouldn't have hurt the hotel to have left us a small supply of coffee and some creamers seeing as the market is always closed on Sunday when most of us Canadians arrive. Remember to bring your own bar soap and shampoo for the bathroom, as well as face cloths.There is a wall dispenser in the shower but not sure if it's soap or shampoo. Bathroom is large and the counter will accommodate all cosmetics etc.
There is no clock of any kind in the apartment, no instructions on how to use the appliances, no reading lamps so reading after dark is out. There is a phone which we were advised not to use as costs are very high but there was no phone book so you couldn't use it anyway. There was an adequate closet in the bedroom. There are no hooks to hang your towels (changed daily except Thursday) in the bathroom or anywhere else. Jackets were hung on the back of chairs or on door knobs. A dollar-store over-the-door hook or two would have come in handy. The bedroom had a few drawers and enough space to store your empty suitcases. Bedside lamps again were so dim no reading was possible here either. Beds were two twins pushed together but made up separately. They were extremely hard! Pillow tops have never been heard of here! I asked about foam pads which of course they didn't have and I even went looking at hardware and linen shops in hopes of finding something. I never did, so folded the extra blankets had to suffice. It helped some or I would have had to sleep sitting up for 3 weeks. The patio doors from both livingroom and bedroom lead out to a large balcony.The balcony has three chairs and a small table. Sunbeds would have been a definite plus. We did however, spend many pleasant afternoons there listening to churchbells, enjoying the view of the ocean and reading.
Livingroom has a couch/daybed and one matching chair. There are two side tables one of which we used as a coffee table. There are no side lamps just an overhead light. The tv is small, offering BBC1 and BBC2, Skynews and CNBC Europe, a business channel. There are occasional movies with English sub-titles on Portuguese stations. No DVD player.
This hotel does not recycle but there are dumpsters in various places around town where you can do it yourself.
We were given a single key on a huge fob that didn't fit in a pocket. Only one key allowed per apartment and they encourage you to turn the key in each time you leave. This means many extra steps back to the front desk so we didn't do it.
You might tuck a small salt and pepper into your suitcase as well because there don't seem to be small sets available. The "mini mercado" sells fresh buns every morning that are very good. There are several grocery stores within walking distance. Lidl is only a 10 minute walk and the walking is relatively flat. It is very reasonably priced and you can buy passable wines here for less than one euro. Modelo is 20 min away but the walking is a bit more challenging especially carrying groceries. The prices are higher but selection is much better. There is another large grocer across from Modelo but we never used it. There are also plenty of mini markets down in the old town. Most staff speak good English and were very friendly.
We never tried the restaurant as it was quite expensive and there never seemed to be any other patrons. An extensive breakfast is available off the lobby near the computers for 6 euros.
There is a safe in the bedroom closet at a cost of 10 euros per week. We were warned about pick-pockets on the square and at the crowded gypsy market but on the whole we felt quite safe, even walking at night.

There is internet access in the lobby for 1 euro for 8 and 1/2 minutes. There are loads of internet cafes in the old town. One next to the Bizarro bar across from the elevator to the beach and one up across from Modelo charge 1 and 1/2 euros for a minimum half hour. You will have to play around to find the @ symbol as it is in different locations. Usually you use the "alt" key rather than the "shift" key.

On the whole this place does not deserve the 4 star rating that they claim (some of the other 5 buildings have a 3 star). My guess is that they are able to claim 4 star not because of the apartments but because of the extra amenities like pools and saunas. If you want a quiet place away from the hustle and bustle but close to downtown this place would be fine. I do feel though that Cerro Mar is not one bit accommodating to their guests. Their attitude seems to be "this is an apartment hotel we don't have to treat people the same way as a regular hotel" so take it or leave it!
I will say yes below "I would recommend this hotel to a friend" but only with the previous comments.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

Above Old town centre (Square & beach) in quiet neighbourhood.8 mins to Lidl.15 mins to Main Bus station & Modelo.Good size apartment large double balcony with sea views.Comfortable beds.not so comfortable sofa.Excellent on site facilities inc. bowling alley & fitness centre .Fully euipt kitchen,although hairdrier & iron are only available on request (4* ??) .Hill climbing may be an issue,although shuttle bus is available on the hour throughout the day.(to/from old centre) Recommned using Giro bus service to get round Albufiera only 1.10 euro per ride (pre-paid card 5 Euro well worth it if service is used often) Main bus station will get you both East & West along coast & into interior without any problems at reasonable prices. Travelled with Sunmed holidays (Toronto) Shuttle to/from airport Ok,although confirmation of depature times not handled by Sunmed rep. who was otherwise excellent (Rosa Aa)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KorkyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

These apartments are set out into 3 blocks, the main reception being in the first block, which has a kidney shape pool, all the bars and the spa, the next block being oppersite on otherside of road with a nice 2 story pool, this side is split into two different blocks, then across another road is the oldest block which has another pool and an indoor pool.

Now we booked 3 star but i'm sure we got the 4 star, we were across from the main posh reception with our own pool (the 2 story one), on arrival we were told we had to use the indoor pool in the old block, but the next day were told we could use the new block, which we did.

The old block is a bit dark and dim and i'm glad we weren't in that one, we requested the new block after reading previous reviews. The apartment we got was fab, we got one bedroomed apt with great modern new furniture, a fully fitted kitchen with washer and dish washer (no microwave though, not a problem for us but could be if you eat in apartment a lot). I cannot fault the apartment at all, indoor pool was nice (not as heated as i would have liked as we have a 7 month old). You do have to wear swim caps (the baby didn't), but after we finished laughing at ourselves we didn't mind (they cost 2 euro 50 each at reception.

We had breakfast there once, all you could eat, bacon sausage egg toast coissants breads etc, orange tea and coffee and yoghurt for 6 euros. There is a restaurant and 2 bars, not open late but then we were out of season.

The location of the apartments are great, 5 mins from centre of old town, although you get there by walking down 99 steps. We managed it with a big pram and a 7 month old so didn't find it a problem, though was knackered on way back up. If you walk past these steps round the corner a little bit there are more steps that are easier to climb and lead to a little bit out of the square with a few different english bars.

All in all I would recommend these apartments, they have tv and aircon/heating which was fab, we had a great sea view.

Some great resaurants i would recommend (we are foodies and you can eat cheaper than we did, but if you like a nice meal and to sit and chill for few hours then these are good),

Dom Carlos (old town) £35 per head 5 course meal, starter/soup/fish/main/dessert
excellent quality

Wild and Co bottom of strip in new town - great for rack of lamb or fillet steak

Paulos italian (cheaper than others) road parallel to strip

broa - vilamora, behind marina, service and food fab
shalimar indian - lagos

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2008

I booked a weeks holiday with my husband and 2 friends to Portugal in September. We stayed at Cerro Mar Colina, one of the newer buildings and because of this I have no complaints.

To be honest, every review I have given has got a 5 in my view, I try to be as honest as possible but again with this hotel, there was nothing really worth moaning about.

We booked with Portland Direct and I wrote to them prior to departure asking to confirm we are in the Colina block, they responded saying that Thompson / Portland have a contact with them for the Colina block and so yes, we will be in that block. If you want that block I suggest you book with Thompson or Portland.

We had a large 2 bed apartment. 2 bathrooms, one room had twin beds, the other had a double. Beds were firm but comfy, very clean throughout the apartment. We have a large dining table and chairs in the living room along with 2 sofas and a TV. The kitchen had everything I have at home, a washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, cooker hob and oven.... I didnt use ANY of it as we ate out every night, however it was nice it was there!

The pool was excellent, its the one pictured above. There is a childs pool and a large pool with swim up bar and resturant.

All in all I give Colina 5 out of 5 and would stay there again tomorrow.

We of course used and looked at the other blocks. All the pools were useable although they did look dated compaired to the brand new hotel block and the colina block but saying that, I would not have been upset if we were there, I would have just given it a 3 or 4 in my review. After all you can use whatever pool you want in whatever block.

We used the indoor pool, gym, steam and sauna in one of the older blocks, they were great and the indoor pool was empty everytime we went there which was great and we spalshed and messed about (couples aged 25 - 40!).

The new hotel block across the road was clearly very new, everything was shiny and very modern. Nice hotel which you could use the facilities of but there was a fee - I think about 10 euros. For that you can use their indoor pool, gym, sauna, steam. Us girls used it on one occasion and it was nice and new. Our partners used it a few times because the gym was much better than the one in the other block (which was free) but we found out towards the end that the lady in the new block was taking our entrance fee and not putting it in the book as when our partners tried to return they were told they had not been written in the book so couldnt use it disput paying. After this we didnt go back. To be honest its a bit of a rip off and yes its nicer than the older block but not worth the useage cost. If you stay in the hotel it is of course free but the hotel seemed to be ONLY occupied by Germans.

Anyway reception were helpful. All the blocks were good with Colina being the nicest.

The town was in walking distance but the steps down / up to it were a killer. We had a laugh tho, trying to race up them, a few merry stumbles up them....the location is great as its only a short walk to the town and when you go down the steps you are right in it. Food resturants were a bit hit and miss but plenty of things to do without it being like Southend! No rowdy people or drunks. A place that couples, friends and families could enjoy.

Should we go back to Portugal and I only say should because there are so many other places to see in the world, then we would return to the same complex.

Stayed: September 2008
6  Thank Super_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Had reservations about this hotel based on previous reviews but our jaws dropped when we walked through the front door of the hotel. I actually drove past it first cos we thought now way was this what we booked! We were told on arrival we were upgraded to the newly built apartments as part of their april promotion. Our apartment was huge! we had a huge living room with 3 balconys off it...we were at the end of the building over looking the town. bedroom was huge also with another balcony overlooking the pool. Loads of wardrobe space. Bathroom was huge and the kitchen was a god send! it had every kitchen appliance...metal utensils in one drawer and the same in another except wooden! the washing machine was excellent especially after our trip out on the buggys! dishwasher, top of the range electric cooker, pots pans, fridge freezer etc..
we got a brilliant deal for 7 nights but i do believe we wouldnt have gotten the same price for the same apartment had there been no promotion. everything was spotless so Id say we were the first occupants.
The only annoying thing were the steps up the the hotel from the Old town but thats not the hotels fault and it was such a nice, quiet area. We were so happy we didnt stay down by the "strip" and opted to be near the oldtown. its very tacky down there. we got parking right outside on the street every evening though there is an enclosed carpark within the hotel.
I would definately return to this hotel but i dont know if id be able to afford the normal prices for what we got.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fifib2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

We booked for these apartments early this year, read the reviews, but we went with an open mind. Unfortunately we were put in Cerro 1, which is very high up, and they did not have any lifts, so they had a bus to take the cases up to the apartment block for you. They were very helpful, but as I say we were not youngsters, so up and down the stairs every day was a bit of a bind. The pool was ok, but hardly ventured down into the town during the day time. In the evening it was possible to walk down, stopping at a few hostelries along the way, but definitely had to get a taxi back. Another bug bear of mine was that you had to pay 1.50 for a mattress for the sunbed!!! There were some sunbeds there that did not need matresses but they do not alter at all. Although I enjoyed the fabulous views, the apartments were very dated, and as I say would not go back as far too high. We were also placed in Block B6 which is right facing the night club.... noisy isnt the word!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank operator1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We`ve been in the old part and everything was OK and staff was really friendly and very nice to us, location is not good for eldery people.....it is on the hill and that can make it difficult to someone who is less active.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank apollyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,794 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 154 in Albufeira
1,681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#39 of 154 in Albufeira
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#50 of 154 in Albufeira
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Address: Rua Antonio Aleixo, Albufeira 8200-091, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range: $46 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Albufeira
Cerro Mar Algarve
Cerro Mar Apartments Albufeira
Cerro Mar Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing