We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room was like a bargain basement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room was like a bargain basement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't accept room 308 at Cerro mar Colina, booked with Thomson a whole year before travelling and was directed through gates and along corridors to be greeted by what I can only describe a dark dungeon of a room (308). Our windows were high up on the wall, letting in very little light as they were under someone else's balcony!!!!! outside was a patio garden surrounded by a wire fence. On the other side of the fence there was scrubland, not exactly what we were looking for!!!!

Room Tip: I don't know what room you could request as I e.mailed Thomson a few weeks before travelling and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    345
    94
    34
    12
See reviews for
349
333
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Just back from two weeks in the Cerro Marr Atlantic apts. Spotlessly clean and the kitchen was amazing. Dishwasher, Fridge Freezer and washing machine. Couldn't fault the apts and the maid was in every day providing fresh towels and thoroughly cleaning the apt. Forget about the hill or steps down to the od town these apts are worth a visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My friends & I stayed for 4 days/4 nights in the Cerro Mar Atlantico booked through TravelRepublic. The apartments although a little dated were spotlessly clean. The maids came in every day to change the towels. We didn't use the kitchen for meals only for making brews etc but it had everything to rustle up a meal. We had a sea view from one end of the balcony & it was lovely to sit in a morning having a brew. We had breakfast at the Irish bar just off the main square which was really good. We ate out every night & didn't have one bad meal. This is our 3rd year running for our girls break to Portugal & have usually stayed at Vila Petra but wanted to try nearer the old town this year as this is where we like to have our nights out. The walk down the steps to the old town is very quick but as many others have said - not the same on the way back! & we did get a taxi a couple of nights ( especially when wearing heels) The main fisherman beach is spotless & it's worth paying for a sun bed - your on holiday after all. We sunbathed around the pool across at the hotel as this had sun all day. The bar waitresses were all lovely & it was very civilised having your drinks brought to your sunbed, the prices were reasonable too. I booked our transfer with Yellowfish for the 3rd year running & yet again this was excellent.

Room Tip: I requested a sea view if possible to travelrepublic & we had one. We also had a pool view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RF_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the Cerro Mar with 6 mates and although we didn't use a lot of the facilities we were all impressed with the standard of the accommodation!

Both groups stayed in a 2 x one bed apartments over the road from the main hotel and the rooms were spotless, fully air conditioned with views of the pool and the sea from the balcony.

Short walk down into the old town, although the steps could be a problem for the older generation, that said a cab would only be a couple of Euros.

Couldn't fault the hotel or location and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great place to stay in Albuferia. We were in Portugal for a wedding & stay 10 days in the Cerro Mar.
Stayed in a studio that way huge...couldn't believe how much space we had. Comfortable beds,own balcony & fully equipment kitchen,fridge, oven etc.
Good security, you need a key to get into the different complexes.
There is about 100 steps to the old town but this didn't both us, a taxi only cost 4euro if needed.
Lidl about 10 mins walk away.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinéad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place has the lot, swim up bars, clean, spacious rooms 5 pools. Staff are friendly & they cater for hen/stag do's. The prices are very reasonable as are the bar charges. 5 minutes down some steps to the old town main square.
I reccomend room 501 in the block opposite the main complex, 3 rooms, 2 bathrooms, massive terrace over looking one of the pools great for drinking.
Best accomodation I,ve stayed in for a stag do

Room Tip: As above 501 best - West facing great for groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMOGG1E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

When checking out i was ask to pay for 2 glasses that the maid said we broke this was lies,I refused to pay.the apartment was spacious an good for air condition it was in every room.we were in cerro mar atlantico room 402 2 bedroom apartment, the maid never cleaned under the beds dust had been there for months.very noisy with stages an hens having parties an moving furniture in the small hours.good place to eat is the american diner in the square of the old town as well as buddy's.the restaurant in the cerro mar gardens called mont de verd is very good staff very helpful an friendly,bar staff also very good in hotel but.. no entertainment .to many steps down to old town my son counted over 100 .would go back to albufeira but stay nearer the centre of the old town or close to elevator

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#34 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
4.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Property: Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Address: Cerro do Malpique, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Albufeira
Cerro Mar Algarve
Cerro Mar Apartments Albufeira
Cerro Mar Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing