We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy holidays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy holidays”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Cerro Mar for 12 nights in June. The apartments are made up of different blocks and ours was across the road, through one of the blocks and 2 gates, across another road and another gate into the apartment block. All gates have keys and security buzzer entry. We then took the lift down to the first floor which we thought was going to be the basement but were pleasantly surprised that our apartment was on the garden level. The apartment was very spacious with everything needed for self catering and had a great view out to sea. Fabby air con in bothe bedroom and living room. It was very quiet in this block with an indoor swimming pool which we did not use. Apartment was cleaned every day with towels/bedding changed regular even when we did not request clean towels which was good. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel twice and meals both times were good and around the same price as what you would pay for the same quality in the old town.
There are loads of places for eating in the old town but would recommend O'Tunnel and Casa Da Fonte which are both round by the tunnel entrance to the beach (up each side of the steps) and head in the other direction from these 2 and you will find O Veleiro at the other end of the street.
We are both in our early 40's and not unfit but we found the steps down to the old town hard on the knees and a struggle most nights coming back up after dinner and drinks but if you take your time it's a good way to burn off some of those holiday calories!
We booked with Jet2 and the rep only comes to the apartments on a Friday at a specified time. If you want them outwith this, you need to call them. Mmmmm. Ended up we booked an excursion with information supplied by the reception for Follow Me tours and did a whole day trip taking in Silves, Monchique Mountains/Foia (highest point in the Algarve), Lagos and Cape St Vincent (known as the end of the world) so we got to see quite a bit of the country.
Overall we found Portugal more expensive this time around for everything. A bottle of Magners was 6 Euro and with the exchange rates being as they are works out as a pretty expensive night out.
We would recommend these apartments but we have done Portugal a few times now so won't be going back. Have a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJMACG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    340
    93
    34
    12
See reviews for
345
332
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just back from a week at the Cerro Mar Atlantico. We booked our accommodation and transfers with Travel Republic. This is the 2nd time we have booked with this company and again everything went smoothly.

Extremely pleased with our choice of Cerro Mar. All staff were very peasant and extremely helpful. We had a few minor problems to report on the first morning( TV remote not working and the bedroom balcony door not locking) The problems were remedied within a very short period of time.

The apartment was excellent and seemed to be equipped with everything, bar a microwave, one would need if they were self catering. (we were half board). The only other thing not there was a hairdryer which, if needed, could be borrowed, free of charge, at reception for a period of 3 hours. The TV had access to several English speaking channels. The facilities at the complex were excellent with access to 4 different swimming pool( in different blocks of the complex), indoor pool(swimming cap needed), gym, Jacuzzi,,squash courts to name but some.

We found the food to be good. Our only comparison against similar establishments would be with hotels/apartotels in the Canary Islands. There would not have been as big a choice of food but what was on offer was good. Breakfast had the usual choice of continental and cooked food. No fried eggs surprisingly. Dinner had a good salad range with 1 or 2 fish and meat dishes along with veg, rice , potatoes, chips etc. There was also a nice choice of desserts.

The location of Cerro Mar is quite close to the beach and the Old Town and a large Lidl. However, as everybody mentions, there are the steps to be negotiated on the way back. If you are unable to manage the steps there are plenty of Taxis available in the Old Town.

Checkout time is 11am. Our airport transfer was not until 6pm. There is a luggage storage room and we were told that we could take our towels from the apt and have a shower in the spa prior to departure.

We would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Apartments are spread over several blocks and face in all different directions. They therefore get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaat117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in the colina apartments with our 7 year old and 18 month old daughters. Apartments were very clean and you will not be disappointed with the facilities in them, washing machine, dishwasher, there was no microwave in them but after asking at reception they provided one free of charge. After reading several reviews about the steps i tried not to be put off, but after 2 days and nights of climbing the stairs and carrying a 18month old and pushchair up them it was a bit too much and we resorted to getting a taxi back from the old town which cost 3.50 euros..but was well worth it! We emailed the hotel before traveling we requested a quiet room, overlooking pool area on low floor, and got exactly what we asked for. We were given room 101, overlooking the 2 pools, on 1st floor, and at the far end of the corridor, so we didnt have people walking past us at night when coming back late at night. The balcony was enormous and had the sun all day also

Room Tip: 101 for a 2 bedroomed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank County1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Cerro Mar Gardens 5 times and would highly recommend it. The accommodation is very modern/spacious and well equipped and for the money is very good value. The hotel has a gym/spa/bowling alley and indoor/outdoor pools. The hotel has another section across the road call Cerro Mar Atlantico which we stayed in once, this rooms are basically the same as the Gardens but all of the amenities are across the road at the Gardens. We did feel the Atlantico was more child orientated so personally we prefer the Cerro Mar Gardens. The location is very close to the old town of Albufeira although there are 100 steps to negotiate, which may be a problem for some. All in all we would highly recommend the Cerro Mar Gardens and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarbabe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We got a lovely surprise when we arrived as the apartment was huge, one bedroomed but more than bug enough for four adults. Very clean and bright although as ours was high, with a sea view, but corner position, we never got sun on the balcony, this was a significant down side. Cleaned every day with new towels. Only one very small lift, and we could only find one door to the pool which seemed to be a fire door. You are able to use the facilities at the Cerro Mar Gardens, the restaurant was great, welcoming staff and lovely food, the price similar to most places to eat in the resort. There are however no real facilities in the Cerro Mar Colina other than the pools and pool bar. The sun beds at the pools werent taken early in the morning, and the pool areas were generally relaxing and quiet, although I did notice groups of younger people were arriving as we left, maybe we were lucky to visit at a quieter time.
The local people were generally very friendly as were the hotel staff, apart from a couple of receptionists and a young female bar staff member, who plonked down a couple of water bottles for me with no offer of a glass or ice, and seemed to find it annoying that I asked for them.
We hadnt been to the Algarve and were very impressed with Albufeira old town, it was so pretty. The same can't be said of the new town, we visited on the "noddy" train, and the strip was seedy, full of rowdy bars.
The beaches were lovely and we were very lucky to have gorgeous weather, this was changing as we left, so I don't think this is gauranteed at this time of the year.
There are a number of steps to the old town, they aren't too bad though if you are fairly fit, it wouldn't be recomended for older people, or anyone with mobility problems. There are a number of restaurants and we found the food to be of a good standard, the prices are higher than Spain however would be what you would expect to pay at home.
We went on a trip to see Lagos, and The Cape of Saint Vincent, this was an enjoyable day out, passing some lovely coves, which we would like to return to visit by hiring a car.
All in all we had a fantastic time, we would return to the Algarve, but are more likely to stay in a hotel than in these apartments, they were a hike up the hill at night, and we like more amenities. They do have fairly easy access to the old town though, and there is lots going on there, and the views are great.

Room Tip: I asked for a high room with sea view and got one, however this meant it was in the corner and got n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleyashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at the apartments in may 2013 even though they are in an elevated position at the top of the old town, the walk up the steps are worth the effort. Cleaners were in everyday clean towels and beds made.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susancoverdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I had an absolutely great week in Albufeira and staying at the Cerro Mar made it even better. We arrived after a very long journey to two very friendly reception staff who couldn't be more helpful, one of whom actually walked us to our room. During our weeks stay we had several questions for them and every time they answered very efficiently with useful information.

APARTMENTS: So we were staying in an apartment that was part of the Colina block at the top of the hill and it was fantastic. So clean, so secure, so homely. The master bedroom had an en-suite but then there was a second that everyone could use. The kitchen was huge and well equipped and we used it to cook in there just as if we were at home. The master bedroom and the sitting room had a balcony that you could look out over the pool area which was quite lovely on a hot day. Yes, okay the beds weren't the best I have ever slept in but then again, they weren't the worst. All of my family members lasted the week in them without too many complaints!

LOCATION: The Location of the Cerro Mar is, in my opinion, fantastic. At the top of a hill out the way of the busy town which is very easily accessible if you do want to go. So "The steps" that everyone are complaining about... they're not that bad!! If you're on holiday, I'm sure you'd have no reason to be rushing down them but in about 5 minutes at a leisurely paced walk, you can get to the Old Town quite easily. If you are in a wheel chair or really do struggle to walk then I'd recommend either a taxi (which would take about 3 minutes at the cost of about €3.25 as of May 2013) or choosing a hotel actually in the town but for people who are able to walk, the steps were not a bother at all.

STAFF: My family and I all found the staff to be lovely, in all parts of the hotel from the restaurant to reception and even the shop! They always had time to say hello and could understand and hold a conversation in English. The cleaners were particularly good; they all had a great sense of humour, were very polite and did a great job.

RESTAURANT: The restaurant AT NIGHT was brilliant. We had our first and second evening meal in there and found the food absolutely delicious and the service was absolutely great. Breakfast was the biggest disappointment of the hotel really. €7 and almost everything except the Pain Au Chocolats were horrible. As a big fan of hotel breakfasts I was very sad of this and glad we cancelled breakfasts on our booking at the last minute. The hot food was incredibly salty, the drinks out of the machine were undrinkable and the selection of cold food wasn't nice. But the restaurant is transformed at night into something great.

NEGATIVES: So far in this review has been commented on in a positive way so, why not 5 stars? Well, there is a lot of noise that comes into the apartment all the way through the day. Somehow, I've no idea now, all the noises from outside and in are amplified and when you're trying to sleep at 1am but can hear a loud conversation happening from the people 2 doors down, it does get annoying. However, I'm unsure what they could do about this. The other thing was the aforementioned breakfast. I feel these two things combined bring it down but everything else in the hotel was excellent.

SUMMERY: In summery, I loved staying at the Cerro Mar and would definitely go again and recommend it to everyone except those with a big difficulty walking. The only I would do is take earplugs and go into the town or buy my own breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms higher up might be nicer, maybe less noise from the people above. Don't get breakfast incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the1techi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 163 in Albufeira
1,652 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#9 of 163 in Albufeira
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#34 of 163 in Albufeira
1,201 reviews
4.2 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 163 in Albufeira
1,809 reviews
4.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Property: Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Address: Cerro do Malpique, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Albufeira
Cerro Mar Algarve
Cerro Mar Apartments Albufeira
Cerro Mar Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing