We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Are Impressed!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We Are Impressed!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

we booked with Venere.com and took all the reviews from tripadvsor under consideration and hoped we wouldnt end up in the block everyone seemed to have problems with but we were given room 504 in block 2 Collinas. We booked a 1 bed apartment but 504 is a 2 bedroom sleeping 6 so it was very spacious and clean. excellent facilties - no hassle with keys or cleaners or changes in linen so maybe we were lucky with time of year. The bar in the main block 1 closed on Sunday 21st October and the only reception was in block 3 but all was well signposted and advice given prior to this happening. Some of the apartments are privately owned so I guess it depends on what website you book with perhaps as they all seem to advertise seperately.
Looks like a fourth block is close to finish for next year too.

The journey back from town to Cerro Mar is a bit of climb and on a full tummy is to be taken slowly or taxied and not the best of routes if infirm or with buggies.

The beach is lovely and clean and worth a day out but sunbed hire is expensive so take a towel and umbrella to save yourself the EURO17.50 per day !

Weather was ace too at 25C daily and nights getting chilly !
We stayed Oct 16 - 22 Inclusive

I cannot really fault anything for this accommodation except 1 teeny thing- it would have been nicer if we had extra pilows available but hey - I didnt ask so not complaining !

Feel free if anyone would like more info to contact me?

  • Liked — modern and clean
  • Disliked — journey back from town was a bit of a climb
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynnieb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    334
    86
    33
    12
See reviews for
336
323
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperaru
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

Just home from 4 lovely days in the Cerro Mar apts. Had such a lovely time here, probably the nicest apts that I have ever stayed in while to any european country. Apt for the 4 nights cost €220.00 for three of us absolutly for nothing. Will definatly be returning ASAP. Only draw back for the elderly or people with mobilty problems will need to access the town by taxi as there are 96 steps followed by a steep hill up to the apts!! Loved it!!

  • Liked — Apt had loads of space and everything you could possibly look for in the kitchen etc
  • Disliked — the hike up from the town, 96 steps followed by steep hill
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellernelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

Just got back from the Cerro Mar, glorious weather for October, not what we expected, well into the 80's. On the beach every day, the square was buzzing with entertainment every night.

Went with my wife and two kids aged 5 and 12 and they loved it, both said it was the best holiday they had every had, plenty to see and do.

We were in the old block, room 308, very large and clean and quiet both day and night. The view from the balcony was second to none, overlooking the old town and the sea, while the back window looked onto the swimming pool area. Yes, there was building work going on around but this did not distract from the glorious views and it looks like the work should soon be finished.

I found the staff to be helpful and courteous, they let us into our room on arrival at 11.30 although we should not have been allocated our room until 3pm. They could not do enough for us during our stay.

We did have a look at the other blocks over the road and yes they were new but they did not offer anything that we did not have in our complex. The pool area was great for the kids and the adults to relax, the food at the poolside was also good and reasonably priced. As for the steps down to the old town, we found them very easy and a pleasant walk which only took a few minutes. We would definately return to the Cerro Mar and would not mind staying in the old block again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clemoDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHUMBERLAND
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

When me n my mates booked this hotel we thought great it looks amazing, then we arrived and realised we were in the oldest block aswell just like most of the reviews said on this website, the brochure was quite deceiving as we booked thro thompsons and the pictures in the brochure looked great of the hotel over the road but we could use their pool and bar which was very nice. But do have to say that the old block is not actually as bad as you think, although we were on the ground floor and there was quite a bit noice at times but nothing to really complain about, n there is building work going on but there is no disturbances from the builders! We were very near the town square and there is exactly 97/8 steps to walk up and down everyday/night plus a slight hill back to the apartments, which certianly keeps you fit and not recommended for the less able as a lot of people have also stated!! Overall i would def go back to old town Albufeira as it is an absolutely lovely place with plenty to do day and night, but would probably stay in a different hotel!!!

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LOOPLAA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2007

Booked through travel republic. All went smoothly. checked in and was a little disappointed to find we had been put in the oldest block after reading some reviews, but it was absolutely fine, spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The maid cleaned daily and changed beds and towels every other day and all the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious, well equipped
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Stayed at the Cerro Mar 2 in June 07, the apartments are large and very clean. The Cerro Mar apartments are located above the old town square which you reach via 90 some steps that are quite steep (especially after a beer or two) so not realy suitable if you have any medical problems. I certainly would stay at the apartments again but would book direct with the apartment management as I gather the are very reasonable. All in all a very enjoyable first trip to Portugal.Resort busy enough to enjoy but also nice enough to relax.

  • Liked — the apartment and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sheffielder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2007

Ok first of all I booked my accomodation at the cerro mar via travel republic who I have used before sucessfully on a number of occasions. They are efficient and good value. However a little warning about booking the Cerro Mar through them, they pass your booking onto a broker who then passes it onto another broker so any requests or things you discuss with travel replublic does not get passed on or is just lost in translation. Having read so many reviews it was clear that the new block which is number 4 was the way to go and so booked a good 6 months in advance and instead of just booking on line I spoke with an agent at Travel republic and requested the new block, wihch they said would be no problem. They even said they would be in touch with the hotel and pass this onto them. In addition to this I e-mailed the hotel 5 times to confirm that this would be the case and did not have one reply. When we turned up I asked about our booking and got blank looks then I was shown the order placed by the broker of a broker and guess no request had ever been made. I was then told that the new block was full and we were staying in the oldest block. We were then shown to apartment 307, the apartment was very big and very clean but was in serious need of updating. Then we went out on the balcony and the view was the side of a half built set of apartments and a couple of sweaty portugese builders and a crane. The chap on reception with the braces on his teeth seemed reasonable and said he would move us the next day to block 3, which are alot newer. Again we had number 307 but this apartment was alot more modern with a great view over the garden terrace and the sea. Also had a dishwasher which for those niggling pots was a great help. However block 3 has no outside pool or bar, just an internal pool in the basement. So if you want to lounge by the pool you have to cross the road to block 1, 2 or to block 4 which is new and has a very nice pool and swim up bar. To confuse matters there is also now a Cerro Mar block B across from block 1 as you start down the hill to the main resort. This is the new super exclusive complex, but nobody tells you that when you arrive. The rules are you can use the resteraunts and bars but not the pools or the gym, even though we did for the first week until we were abruptly told otherwise. We were told no brits were allowed or the exclusive residents would complain, which was strange since it is promoted by Thomson. The gym thing became a bug bear as the other cerro mar gym that was in block 3 was a waste of time. The running machine was broken even though they stated that someone was coming to fix it every day the bike was broken, the weight machines in dia need of repair and oh no air con so any exercise in 30C heat is nearly impossible. I know I know excercise on holiday must be mad. What abruptly became apparent was that block 4 was nearly empty although we couldn't be arsed to argue and the residents were 95% german, I only saw one british family actually coming from inside the apartment block. Also the staff at all the complexes were lazy and rude (except the chap on reception with the braces on his teeth.) There was one in particular on reception with glasses who looked at you as thought you were scum if you asked a question or spoke to her. It has got to be said that from looking around Albuferia and being a bit nosey that the Cerro Mar newer complexes are a cut above what else is on offer. The location is ideal if you are averagely fit there is a little trek but it is very peaceful at night and has good views from most of the apartments. I would have slit my wrist if I had booked some I saw like the Hotel Balum to name but one. Anyway enough about the hotel little niggles really. Beaches, by far the cleanest and nicest beach is at Villamoura, although this is the most expensive for food and hiring sunbeds etc. Albuferia beach is ok, Fishermans beach is the best side at Albuferia and seems the most popular. We also went to Carvoeria main beach is ok but if you look around it has some great little secluded beaches at the bottom of cliffs, if your a good swimmer there are some excellent caves to swim into and also around to other beaches were there is nobody else. Lagos beach was small but ok didn't really use it so not much more to comment on. Towns Lagos was horrible and just reminded me of the scruffy end of Sheffield but with sun. The rats topped it off for me there. Silves is a lovely caslte town with some great cafes. Carvoeria is like a typical tourist town but alot smaller and quiterer. Albufeira is ok the old town is def the place to be if you like things a little quieter. There is a lovely square in the middle of it and there is usually something goling off. Although there is the usual street sellers marketing crap like dancing cows etc. Resteraunts and bars. Well I was really quite suprised we only found three resteraunts that were really anygood these were cabana fresca on the front at fishermans beach as was Druit and Bailote on the same strip as the tunnel to the main beach. Bailote was very very good food a little more expensive but the staff, service and quality was exceptional and to be fair it was only an average of 6 euros overall more on the total bill compared to other places. The fillet steak on the stone and the grilled prawns were fantastic. Cabana Frescsa I think was german run and so the quality is also very good as they normally are. What was nice is that they strayed from the norm and didn't just do what every other resteraunt everywehere we went did and were a little more al a carte. Druit just above Cabana Fresca were excellent at fresh fish but a little too expensive for what you got quality was there but with a price tag. God everywhere else was awful especially the one next to Rock Cafe in the square something Jardin. 48 euros for garbage, soggy veg and salad grumpy waiters and steak that my wife had that was barely edible, stay away. There are also alot of so called tourist menus and 4 course meals for 15 euros etc all I can say is that you would have to be desperate of brave. I think the average price we payed a night was between 55 and 60 euros which is def more expenisve than alot of the places we have travelled to so far. What was odd is that for the middle of Sep most of the attractions were shut like the water parks and most of the time everywhere seemed dead. I did ask and they said that had been a little decline recently but this was the expected norm not a good place to invest in property to rent average price for studion apt £85000 and not filled for at least 4 months of the year. Finally bar Al Cafe, what a great place loads of atmosphere and great music this bar is done out morrocan style and is a must for a chill out evening. I have got some photos will get round to posting them.

  • Liked — The size and condition of our apartment
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ballykiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#16 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
4.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#27 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments

Property: Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments
Address: Cerro do Malpique, Albufeira 8200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Albufeira
Cerro Mar Algarve
Cerro Mar Apartments Albufeira
Cerro Mar Hotel Albufeira
Cerro Mar Atlantico Touristic Apartments Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing