We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Derby
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good for the price!”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I stayed at the Cerro Malpique in late September 2010 with my other half. We book a Superior Apartment which are located in Cerro Malpique 2 and DO have AIR CON!! So thats a bonus. They are a few minutes walk from the reception down steps, a hill and then along the road, but not really a problem. The only observation I would have is that there is no reception area in Malpique 2, so anyone can wonder in off the street and find themselves right outside your apartment door.

The apartment was very spacious, all necessary amenities and load of storage space. When we were there only a few of the other apartments were taken so we basically found we had the pool areas to ourselves for most of the week. Malpique 2 has a childrens pool and a normal pool. Space around them isn't really that great so I wouldn't expect there to be a lot of room if the apartments were full. Cleaners were fine, linen changed three times in a week. It isn't the cleanest place I have stayed in but it is more than adequate. The beds were comfortable enough, but there is never enough pillows!

The location is good, literally 5 mins walk will take you into the old town, although it is down the 100 steps, these weren't a problem for us, but I wouldn't recommend for people with any walking problems. If you wanted to avoid the steps, you can go along the road towards the Brisa Sol and then back on yourself, I would say that is 10-15 mins walk into the old town that way. Loads of nice restaurants and bars to choose from. There is also a beach down there.

We walked round to the marina, and the strip whilst we were there, but the old town is definitely the best part of the resort - but both are worth a look if you are going to Albufeira for the first time.

Generally, I was quite pleased with everything about the holiday so if you are looking for a cheap place to stay, near the old town, this one is a good choice!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    180
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
86
166
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The apartment we were given was lovely and spacious, with 2 balconies!! No air con unfortunately in phase 1, luckily I had taken a fan, Its was boiling hot while we were there! The staff were lovely and very helpful! Rang to confirm our transfers the day before too! The pool area is nice, a few tiles missing in the pool tho, shame theres no bar too, but you can pop across the road to cerro mar, and have snacks/drinks, and its quite cheap too! Love Albufeira, have been there 3 times! Harry's bar, watch the world go by on the square, Caves du la Porto, gorgeous food lovely wine. If you want a nice breakfast by the sea, there's a place that does it for 2.50, Tasca ?? Go to Snoopy's bar on the front, the guy there is awesome, and makes great Sangria! Top tip...........go to Lidl, (10 minute walk), if your self catering, as the local shop by Cerro Malpique V.expensive. Fishermans beach is lovely, just watch out for the massive waves! Can't wait for our next trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed at Cerro Malpique on the last week of August 2010. What can I say it was GREAT!! We like everyone else probably reading the reviews for the hotel were nervous about arriving, and it was only when we returned home that we decided we should write a review and make people aware of what it was actually like.

We arrived on a Sunday and were firstly disappointed to find out when we reached reception that we would be spending our week in block 1. When the reception seen my reaction about this she assured us that we had a lovely room and although block 2 was more modern, the rooms in block 1 were much bigger in size and also had a better pool.

We had a one bedroom apartment in the main block, it was very spacious with a separate kitchen complete with coffee maker, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, oven/grill and hob. The facilities were great for self catering as it can be quite expensive to eat out everynight especially in the main square of the old town of Albufeira. There was also a large bedroom with two beds which are low to the ground and not exactly the comfiest. Also the bedroom windows open out on to the corridor and are big in size and low down this meant we were not able to leave these open at night, so a fan is advisable (you can hire these from reception for 10 euros a week). The main living area consisted of a pull out sofa bed which was much comfier than the other twin beds and a television with a few british channels including BBC.

The pool area of this hotel was great even though we were travelling at peak season it was very quiet, we didnt have to rush down anyday as there was always free beds available. Although this hotel is stated to have no bar the reception sell a variety of snacks and drinks both soft and alcoholic at a great price compared to bars downtown. There is also a hotel directly opposite that serves hot snacks for take away and ice pops etc that we found useful.

Lidl is very close to this hotel its approximately 5-10 mins away and is very cheap for shopping especially wine which you can pick up for 1.50 Euros a bottle and local beer at 6 cents a bottle. The main square from the hotel is also about a 10 min walk down some steps, what can i say these are over rated, unless you are partly disabled or very unfit these shouldnt be a problem.

Other reviews stated that the reception staff were rude and unhelpful we found this to be untrue. All staff we encountered were very helpful and pleasant, they spoke brilliant english and were always able to accomodate any request. On arrival to the hotel they provide you with a map of the hotel and directions to lidl, main square, chemists etc. They also advised us alot on excursions and were able to recommend and book these for us. (Be aware if booking the bull fight it is very gorey, cruel and not to everyones taste)

We had a great time in this hotel it was very clean, and had everything we needed to enjoy a self catering holiday. I would definately reccomend it and would go back again tomorrow :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly-AnneGlenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The apartments are clean and basic.There is everything you need supplied. The cleaners came in everyday to empty the bins, apartment were cleaned 3 times a week. towels were changed twice a week.The apartment itself is very spacious. They only down side was no air conditioning and yes it is needed., Friendly enough at the reception desk when help is needed
The only complaint we had was the pool. We were only there a couple of hours when my son had 4 of his toes cut in the pool. This was because there is loads of tiles missing from the bottom of the pool, so take care if messing about in it.
Location is good 7-8minutes walk and you are down in the main square.Lots of steps 97 yes I counted to get to the square. it keeps you fit .Not recomended for anyone with walking difficulties. Lidil is less than 10 minutes away worth a visit as the local shops are very expensive.
You are paying for what you get it is clean , basic and in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseaLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Good: The place is nice, with big, clean and nice decorated apartments, with a decent swimingpool. 10 min walk to the beach.
Bad: No security. We have been rubbed one night, the thievs come on the balcony (1st floor) and took our most important belongings. I found after that it was not for the 1st time, but nobody from the hotel prevented us not to sleep with the windows open. And then we had very poor support from the hotel manager, who just wanted to get rid of us asap and consider himself/hotel above any guilt. Very disapointing!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pmateoiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We have just returned after 3 weeks at Cerro Malpique 1 and we had a great time.
Maybe we were lucky as we had a pool level room with a view of the sea (room 404 ) however if we would have got a bottom floor I would imagine it's quite dark, and maybe I would have thought differently.
The room was really spacious and light with wooden table and chairs, coffee table and chair and a settee, large wall unit with cupboards , t.v and phone, balcony with table and chairs and rack to dry your clothes.
Then almost seperately at the other side of the wall is your very large wardrobe, and your bathroom with large sink with cupboard, bath, shower and bidet.Then a seperate full kitchen, we only used the fridge, freezer and sangria jug but plenty of pans and unensils if you want them.
Towels are changed almost every other day which is when you get your general clean, maids come every day but just to change the bins.
Safe is 20e a week but you get 10e back when you return the key.
Our only dissapointment with the room was the heat, although we did know it didnt have air conditioning before we went, this did prove a problem, it's ok in the daytime and if your willing to leave your balcony doors open of a night then youll probably be ok. but we wouldnt and cooked as a result! you can hire a fan for 10e a week and it's better than nothing but we still found it difficult to sleep at times.
The pool was clean enough, few leaves in the bottom now and again but they do clean them out.
Theres a pool table, if you want a game it will cost you a euro.
Reception staff are there 24hr and we found them very helpful and quick when we asked them to fix a new bulb in our bathroom light, although the guy can get a little grumpy!
Lidl is only 10-15 mins away and is great for stocking up your fridge with cold drinks as it's cheap!
The steps are fine if your reasonably fit, when it's boiling hot coming up them, they are hard work but the convenience makes it worth it as they bring you out between a shop and a resteraunt in the main square. Location is fantastic.
Pick up a free map, youll see them dotted around infront of some of the resteraunts, we tried quite a few off there and they were all good.
Some of our favourites were Royal Orchid (Thai) we went 4 times, you will see the sign from the main square which to be honest, makes it look a bit tacky but take the time to have a look, it's beautiful inside and the food is incredible. we went 4 times it was that good. (it's up the steps above the tunnel)
another 2 good ones are near there 0'tunnel and Casa da Fonte on either side of the tunnel, halfway up the steps.
Ricardo's pizza (near the beach)
The three crowns (thats up past the Thai) lovely place, view of the sea, good cheapish food.
Atrium, try the lamb stew
I could go on as we had loads of lovely food, food prices are not too bad in general but drinks are expensive, a large coke will cost you 2.50-3e. we drank in the rock cafe most nights where cocktails were 7.50e , a jug of sangria was 12.50e although I think these prices were a little higher than other places as it has a live band every night.
Beach lovely but could do with a few less sunbeds
Overall we had a lovely holiday and would happily return here again if the hotel had air con.. maybe we will be in malpique 2 next time!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank universalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2010

As long as you can manage the 100 odd steps to connect to the Old Town the Hotel is in an ideal location, in quiet spot but 5 mins from the Old Town Square and not much further to the beach.

The rooms are very spacious and well equipped, ideal for a self catering with lots of nearby shops and supermarkets including a Lidl which is ideal for some cheap basics.

I had a personal nightmare on my second last day when I decided to use the pool to cool down one afternoon, I think they use too much Chlorine or other chemicals as over the next couple of days every sensitive bit of skin in my body blistered, turned into a scab and peeled off over the following 10 days. If you do use the pool be very careful about washing/showering straight afterwards, believe me having your skin fall off for a week after your holiday is your worst nightmare.

Despite my pool experience I did really enjoy everything else about the hotel and would consider going back.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#40 of 154 in Albufeira
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#96 of 154 in Albufeira
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#92 of 154 in Albufeira
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#37 of 154 in Albufeira
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Malpique Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Malpique Aparthotel

Property: Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Malpique, Albufeira 8200-153, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Malpique Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro Malpique is a modern high standard complex of self-catering apartments situated at the heart of Albufeira in the center of the Algarve, with fabulous views over the sea and the old town of Albufeira. Cerro Malpique provides guests a relaxing and comfortable setting in a well-equipped accommodation. Composed of 63 apartments separated in two buildings, Malpique I and Malpique II. Old town of Albufeira and Oura are within easy reach from the apartments, while the beach is 1.2 km away. A small selection of shops are within the immediate vivacity, including a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cerro Malpique Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing