We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cazza-coooo....Too many steps!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cazza-coooo....Too many steps!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at Cerro 1. The man on reception was grumpy and not very friendly but other staff were happy to help. Very clean apts but not much to do as there was no entertainment, music or snack bars available. Easy access to sun loungers each morning though which was very stress free. Lots to do in the old town 'square', plenty of bars & restaurants........ but be warned the exhausting steps to and from are a daily workout and will definately leave you breathless, not ideal for youngsters in trolleys or for the elderley. The Beach is about 10-15 min walk but worth it when you arrive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    184
    55
    18
    13
See reviews for
88
170
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed in cerro 1, arrived at 9pm to be greeted with note on door" back in 10 mins which was more like 30 mins!! Man not very friendly. Rooms not bad, beds uncomfy, bathroom v.small but good shower. Nothing to do but sunbathe, pool only small soon filled up. Walk into town about 10 mins and 15 mins to beach which was lovely, plenty of bars and restaurants. Be prepared for walk back you have to climb and climb and climb steps, that don't get any easier as holiday progresses!!!!
Would choose a different hotel with a little more going on around and not on top of hill.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki-noooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was my second stay at Cerro Malpique this time in the "superior" Cerro Malpique II, the apartments were very well equipped and modern except the air conditioning wasn't working I reported it twice in the week I stayed and was told it would be sorted, unfortunately it wasn't. Also the pass for the front door failed twice so it was the trek up to Cerro Malpique main reception to report the problem, the staff were very helpful and re-programmed the cards immediately.

The pool area was very pleasant, even though it was taken over each afternoon by a group of Lads stirring from their slumbers and the excesses of the night before. The kids paddling pool area was very nice with a garden if a bit surreal when sitting cooling off you were joined by one of the local canine fraternity for a bit of a splash.

That said not bad value for money and I probably would return to this accommodation so conveniently placed for the brilliant Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyjack94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very nice value apartments, clean, spacious with everything you need for self-catering. In 405 next to reception with pool and sea view but suffers early morning noise from the staff next door. Small but very nice pool with plenty of sunbeds. Steps to the Old Town can be a struggle but it's worth the effort. Lots of restaurants and bars at the Square and in the side streets, would recommend the Iguana Cafe and Italian food at the Il Brigante. If you are reasonably fit and don't mind a good walk up and down the steps it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dessue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was my husband and I second trip to this area, when we arrived we found we were on the ground floor which we weren't to happy about as it meant we had no view and couldn't have the balcony doors open if we weren't in the living room, we also had no air con and it was really hot. The accommodation was perfect for just the 2 of us. We walked to both Aldi and Lidl which was very close for stocking up on provisions for the week, the only problem is Aldi only take euros or Portuguese credit cards which is not noted anywhere only when your paying which could be a little embarrassing, whereas Lidl take all English bank cards, the only problem with the hotel was very noisy guests staying at the same time as us and during our stay we only had 3 hours sleep per night, which was very annoying and was pointed out to reception and a complaint made.... But nothing happened and noise carried on throughout our stay, The pool was a nice cozy size and plenty of sun loungers although some where broken and if you didn't get there early enough you ended up with one . Although we loved the area we won't be returning to this hotel as we felt we got nowhere complaining but will be looking to stay in another hotel closer by .

Room Tip: Being in a ground floor room means you can hear all noises from all the rooms around and above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed in the cerro 2. Massive clean apartment with all you need and room 206 had amazing views. lovely pools always plenty sunloungers.

Old town a 5 min walk, stairs are not as bad as people say and there are a couple of other ways to get down. old town is buzzing so perfect for young people but great for families also.

New town is 30 min walk but in our opinion unless u want club 18-30 u should stick to the life of the old town.

Aldi and Lidl 5 min walk.

staff very helpful with maps, organising tours to waterparks anf zoo marine.

everyone is so friendly there, 10/10 and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissib1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed in Cerro malpique 2 in a 1 bed apartment with air conditioning which we really needed as it was really hot at night.We had 3 balaconies with superb views of the sea.There are 3 different ways up (and down) to the square where it all happens.The easiest way up is to the left of the gates and to the right,you go down a few steps then its a tarmac slope.At the bottom turn right and follow the road into the square where all the restaurants and bars are.The pool is quite small but sometimes we were the only people in BUT then the school holidays started and it was bedlam and packed with kids shouting and screaming...end of peace and quiet and glad we were going home next day.Oh yes there isn't a bar at the complex but you do know that when you read up on the complex.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#70 of 154 in Albufeira
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#42 of 154 in Albufeira
367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#66 of 154 in Albufeira
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colina do Mar Hotel
Colina do Mar Hotel
#93 of 154 in Albufeira
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#99 of 154 in Albufeira
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silmar Apartamentos
Silmar Apartamentos
#80 of 154 in Albufeira
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cerro Malpique Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerro Malpique Aparthotel

Property: Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Address: Rua do Malpique, Albufeira 8200-153, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cerro Malpique Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cerro Malpique is a modern high standard complex of self-catering apartments situated at the heart of Albufeira in the center of the Algarve, with fabulous views over the sea and the old town of Albufeira. Cerro Malpique provides guests a relaxing and comfortable setting in a well-equipped accommodation. Composed of 63 apartments separated in two buildings, Malpique I and Malpique II. Old town of Albufeira and Oura are within easy reach from the apartments, while the beach is 1.2 km away. A small selection of shops are within the immediate vivacity, including a supermarket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cerro Malpique Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing