We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good hotel, offering good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Ranked #14 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2009

LOCATION & RESORT
The hotel is well located next to a large supermarket, within walking distance to the beach and the old town of Albufeira. It is nowhere near the busy 'Strip' where the Englishy bars are located; with burger and chip style take away restaurants.

Albufeira old town is charming, with a good blend of Portuguese and English shops, boutiques and bars/restaurants. Fisherman's Beach is a lovely location, with bars to overlook the sea and beach - perfect for sunset.

The beaches are lovely and clean. There isn't a promenade as such and you either walk along the sand (and over the rocks!) or along the side streets (with no sea view).

The little tourist train is a good way to do the round trip - covering 'The Strip' and the Old Town/Beach. This stops right outside the hotel and is priced at 4€ for a day pass.

THE HOTEL ITSELF
The reception staff are friendly and hardworking. The reception lobby is airy and spacious with the Algarve Bar to one side. We didn't use the bar during our stay but it looked well stocked and relaxing. The hotel was exceptionally quiet but we put this down to the fact that the outdoor pool was being completely refurbished (Due to finish March 2009). In a way, this was fine for us and we knew about this at the time of booking. The hotel is clean and well-organised.

Corridors - clean, spacious and decorated well.
Games Room - an interesting indoor crazy golf, but good!
Internet - Good, 3 Pcs with access to internet - quite expensive we thought at €2 for 20 minutes. Internet cafe over the road is cheaper.

THE ROOM
We asked for an upgrade to a 1bed apartment (recommended). The room was massive although a little dated. Although dated, it was very clean and tidy and nothing at all looked shabby. The kitchen area has been refurbished and is well stocked. No freezer in the fridge, but we stored our bag of ice at the bottom of the fridge, turned it up to 6, and they remained frozen all week!
The room was cleaned daily, usually between 12 and 3. The room doesn't have an iron but this is available on request from reception. Both the bedroom and lounge have televisions with a good range of English channels as well as the usual BBC24 and SkyNews! Balcony was basic but fine.
A word of warning - don't turn on the radio (situated in the bedrooms) as it plays the same 1950s music on loop, every 30 seconds - without fail - everyday, all day - and it's not only in the room - it is also played in the restaurant and bar. It was funny after a while and we left the hotel humming the tune. It will be with us forever - goodness knows how the staff must feel!
The bathroom was standard, good sized, large mirror, bidet, toilet, plenty of towels, shower and bath. Although the shower looks pretty flimsy, the pressure is excellent and no worries about amount of hot water.
Bedroom and hallway have two large double wardrobes, fitted with hangers and drawers. Central heating/air con work well. Curtains successfully block out light and there are no problems with noise from outside.

RESTAURANT AND DINING
We used the restaurant every morning for breakfast and then again for evening meals. Each morning the following is on offer:

Water, juices, coffee, tea (variety)
Fruit - lots and lots, variety
Cold meats, cheeses, charcuterie etc
Crackers, rolls, breads (variety)
Hot: sausages, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, bacon (English), boiled eggs, mushrooms, toast (very fresh bread), tomatoes etc.
Cereals - 3 to choose from each day.

You can help yourself and eat as much as you like.

Each evening (if Half Board) you get to choose from a buffet. Not a bad selection. Again all the salad, fruits, rolls etc you could wish for as well as a meat or a fish option, with fresh veg and pasta/rice and potatoes.

The restaurant is right next to a cake shop which might explain why the cakes offered for deserts are so delicious. My goodness - you won't lose any weight if you like cakes.

If you are not half-board, then you have an ala carte menu, which we tried once and was very pleased.

STAFFING
The staff, on the whole, are good. They are friendly; especially those in the restaurant. Look out for Eva in the restaurant, she's nice and friendly. They remembered what we wanted to drink each night and would always try to make conversation with us.

CLIENTELE
The majority of guests were over 30. Some were younger and we saw no children at all.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE
The Brisa Sol is a charming place and you won't be disappointed. Don't expect luxury, but then again don't think that this means it's awful -because it isn't. It's a very good hotel which caters well for its guests.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank theinspector99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,528 - 1,534 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2009

Me and my boyfriend went away from the 8th Feb to 12 Feb 09. This hotel was absolutley perfect!! We booked through easyjets website. When we got there, the staff were very friendly and helpful and we checked into our apartment which was massive with a really nice view!!

The hotel is in the perfect position!! There are shops and supermarkets just across the road and a McDonalds, KFC and Pizza Hut if your a fussy eater!! Right outside the hotel, there is a little train service which runs you into Old Town and New Town for 4 euros all day pass. This was sooo handy!

The hotel is currently re-doing the outside pool but we knew this before we went. There was no noise what so ever. The indoor pool was open anyways and was heated which was lovely.

There is quite alot of construction going on at the moment in preparation for the summer but I can only imagine that come summer, it is going to be even better!!

We didn't stay in the hotel for food so I cannot comment on that but there are plenty of restaurants open that were gorgeous.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Brilliant hotel!! Lovely and clean. Definately worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank charlottew000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

well what can I say, we booked through low cost beds for a studio for 2. we just wanted to get away for xmas. We new that the pool was having a refurb but that didnt bother us as there is an indoor pool which was lovely. When we arrived we were upgraded to a pool/sea view apartment which was huge, the maids came every day even xmas day and they couldnt do enough for you, infact all the staff we met were the same.

it is in a very good position as you can walk to old town - fishermans beach or you can just get the little train which does circuit trip to "the strip" then beach and then stops again just outside the hotel bargain 4€ for all day ticket. We went to "the strip" but it wasnt to our taste, we not old but it just seemed to be full of drunken english, we went away to get away from all that lol. Huge 3 storey supermarket next door with pizza hut and various shops on bottom floor, also macdonalds, kfc and several little cafes opposite, tim tims chinese is lovely and does good deals, also another supermarket a little further up.

We went into the old town and ate at Bravos the food was lovely and worth every penny, we also ate at a little place up the back streets, it worth going looking as there are some lovely little places tucked away.

The weather was good it rained twice but apart from that you couldnt fault it for dec.

Great games room in hotel if you have kids with indoor minigolf, also has 3 pcs where you can pay to use the net.
cake shop - well i reckon it has to be the best ever well worth a visit... or 2.

we were gutted when we found out there was a free concert and we were gonna miss it - UB40 on the beach new years eve, but we did do the free ice skating in the old town.

we deffo booking again for next xmas only this time we will stay a little longer, i would say if you are looking at this hotel then go for it - but you will get cheaper if booking through hotels.com or low cost beds we paid £386 for 2 the couples next to us went with thomson and paid £1000..... so it worth taking a little time and research.

have a good trip if you going we are soooooo jealous

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sharpykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year and really loved the hotel. The pool is being re-built which we knew when we booked it and the workmen were only there for one day over the fortnight we stayed. We had a pool view studio apartment which was lovely and its worth saying the pool view rooms get the sun all afternoon so book a pool view. The rooms at teh front of the hotel don't get any sun. We booked half board and we would totally recommned the restuarant. There was one choice of fish and meat every night, all very tasty with potatoes, chips veg or rice, salad, soup and bread, cheese and crackers and dessert from the bakery which is part of the hotel. It is well worth a daily visit if you don't mind the extra calories. As for the clientelle being old - that didn't bother us (both in our thirties) its a hotel which attracts a lot of long stayers from the Uk over the winter. Booking half board is very good value as the pund is so weak against the Euro it makes eating out every night expensive. We bought lunch out a few times and spent over £20 each time! The supermarket next door has everything you need to make lunch if you want to save the cash.

We didn't notice a drunk person in the hotel - I think thats a bit unfair to single one person out for drinking all the time. We avoided the bar in the hotel as there were lots of other places to go for a drink.

We saw UB40 on the beach on new years eve - a free concert - we had a great time and it was WARM!!

The weather over the two weeks was mostly good - a few days rain when we basically slobbed out and went to the games room in the hotel and read and ate lots - hey!! It was Christmas after all.

We checked out some of the nearby hotels because we will defiantely go back to Albuferia next year. This was our 3rd Christmas and New Year in Portugal and it was lovely to stay somewhere which was a bit bigger and more urban than any where we had stayed before - there weren't a lot of people around but there was still lots to do and see. We used the local bus a few days and went exploring into the local towns north of albuferia, they were all lovely.

I would totally recommnend the Brisa Sol.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Adele48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Stayed here for over christmas with friends and family. We got a fantastic price and therefore we weren't expecting much, however we all found the Brisa Sol a pleasant surprise. I imagine the reason we got such a cheap deal was because the outdoor pool was under contruction whilst we were there, so we were unable to sit outside in the grounds, and many of the sea view rooms were empty because of the noise. However the room we did get was very nice indeed, with good kitchen facilities. There is a large supermarket nearby, and as already mentioned by other reviewers, a fantastic cake shop at the front of the hotel.
Clientele were mainly brits of a certain age, and though it's a little hypocritical coming from an english person, this was a disappointment for me, I like to get away from my fellow countrymen when on holiday.
And if you stay here at christmas, keep an eye out for the drunken scotsman who apparently goes there every year- avoid him at all costs!

I can't recommend eating at the hotel, twice we ate here and the food wasn't good at all. There are a couple of little portuguese cafes across the road, go there instead. Also the chinese across the road was good, and kept open for us late on christmas eve.

The car park is quite small but we didnt have a problem parking our hire car, and there are several places to park nearby.

I liked Albufeira town very much, the beach is lovely, and there are some nice bars and restaurants, I am glad though that we didnt stay until new year as I was told upward of 100,000 people were expected for the free concert on the beach.

All in all a place to visit if you get a good deal, I might I'd go again, but I'd have preferred somewhere a little less british and a little more portuguese

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

just returned from BRISASOL and we had a fab time.
very central hotel with modelo shopping mall next door.
good selection of restaurants nearby.
portuguese people are very nice and helpful.
we book ed our transfer with ALGARVETRANSFERSFAROAIRPORT.COM /+351914671544 and they been really helpful,reliable apart of being the CHEAPEST in the algarve.in resort we booked transport to lagos dolphin experience with the same guys.again the best price.we can even book texting their mobile 24h.RECOMENDED.
try the self service rest next door called "lá em casa".chep and good selection of portuguese food.
a+ holiday
tony

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank carltonyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

My boyfriend and I (22 and 21) arrived home from The Brisa Sol Hotel on monday the 13th. We originally booked a studio room but when we arrived we wasnt really happy with the room but had the option to upgrade which we did. for 105 euros more we were upgraded to an apartment room which was huge!!!! The staff at the hotel were very polite at all times and very helpful. The hotel is ideally situated 10 mins from the old town (which is very pretty) and the strip (alot goin on there)
It is wel worth the 5 - 10 minute walk to the beach (again very pretty)
If you enjoy Live music and entertainment try Wild and Co bar on the strip. There is a fabulous indian resturant also on the strip called the Taj Mahal. For great steak try El Rancho.

Personally I was very sad to have to leave Albufeira as I enjoyed it sooo much, i will definately book for 2 weeks next time!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank welshvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
1,640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#20 of 154 in Albufeira
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#81 of 154 in Albufeira
3,340 reviews
4.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 27 | Apartado 2054, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $23 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Brisa Sol Albufeira
Apartamento Brisa Sol Hotel
Brisa Sol Albufeira
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing