We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we really thought”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Brisa Sol for 2 weeks in July and had a studio apartment. It was kept very cleaned and had a lovely kitchen area which was well stocked. Unfortunately our room had a small balcony which overlooked the car park and the sun was only on the balcony from 7am until 9am. We didn't manage to get sun beds at the pool for the whole of the first week as we did not queue to 'run the gauntlet' every day. The sunbed situation is a real problem at this hotel and although there are signs saying they should not be reserved they were covered in towels by 9.05am every day. In the second week we had to queue along the corridor and up the stairs at 8:45am each morning to be able to get round the pool and enjoy the experience. What we noticed and were shocked at was the number of people who placed their towels on the sunbeds then disappeared, some not returning until after lunchtime. This stops others from enjoying this area but the management did nothing about it.
There is a lovely cake shop attached to the hotel-well worth a visit, and a handy supermarket right next door. The hotel is quite noisy at night along the corridors as the sounds echo, and as our room was next to the carpark and road we also had those disturbances. It would definitely be worth checking whether a pool view room is available.
The old town has a fabulous beach and some great restaurants. It's a good place for a wander with a central square to sit and people watch. This was our third visit to Albufeira but I don't feel that we would stay at this hotel again. It was very clean but the negative issues need addressing to allow others more enjoyment, and they need to stop the terrible 'run and throw' culture that's developed at the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

we had a 1bed apt facing the pool ,the room is more than big enough for a family of 4, the room had a well equiped kitchen, we had clean towels and the room was cleaned everyday.The only down side i found was the mad rush for the sunbeds, the hotel says you are not allowed to reserve these but they were nearly all gone by 9:10 .The brits are worst than the germans for this. the hotel needs to sort this out. The hotel holds a BBq night for 22euros you can eat and drink as much as u like ,its good value as long as your kids dont just eat sausage and chips.

Room Tip: pay extra for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Me and my partner stayed in these apartments for 10 days and couldn't fault a thing about the accommodation we had a 1 bedroom apartment which was immaculate we were situated around the side of the hotel in a courtyard the view wasn't up to much but we aren't in room that long anyway it was very quiet in the room we were never disturbed by any noise . The room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels when we requested them. We were on bed and breakfast and it was fresh, hot and well presented. The only downside to the hotel was the queue for the pool on a morning the first day we got there my partner went down to the pool only to find the doors didn't open till 9 and the queue was along the corridor and up the stairs and there was a mad dash for the sunbeds I feel this could be avoided if the doors opened earlier and people could just wander in. The staff were brilliant all of them helpful and friendly. There is a coffee shop next door to the hotel with cakes to die for and also a well stocked supermarket next door with everything you need for a self catering holiday and very reasonable. Turn right out of hotel and walk about 15 minutes to get to the strip but it was mostly for the young ones lots of bars. Turn left and walk about 15 minutes but down steep bank and you come to the old square which is brilliant a square of bars with all kinds of street entertainment ranging from mime artist puppet show, portugese dancers and in the bars was live music bands or singers which was all excellent. All in all a great holiday ive never been to Portugal but will definitely be returning and to the Brisa Sol

Room Tip: Most people said pool view the best but all seemed to be good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tommytansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just returned from a two week stay in the Brisa Sol hotel. Staff are great. Hotel entertainment very low key. Bar not open during the day and there is lack of places within hotel to sit and enjoy a drink or view. Basic Pool snack bar only option. We asked to move rooms due to noise from traffic outside and big Macdonalds sign as a view, the only room available was dark with only a small window. But it was quieter . Balcony very small. Definitely worth paying extra for nicer room. What Thomson don't mention on their website is that the hotel is situated by a busy six lane road. Not much in the immediate area so you have to go to Old Town for fun or the strip which is more boisterous. Cake shop next to hotel is lovely and very reasonably priced. Noddy train stops outside hotel and for 4 euros you can hop on and off all day. Takes you to the Strip, Old Town and Beach. Alburferia was not for us but would suit some people. Visit the restaurant near the hotel called Dom Capito, really good food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wheretonextEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back from a two week stay at this hotel and i have to say the staff are a credit to the place, very friendly and always willing to help. Hotel is spotless and our room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels left. The only thing i would say though it can be quite noisy at night i was in a studio room (situated at the back of the hotel and the view was a bit dissapointing as it over looked a car park) with my 11 year old daughter and the noise sometimes woke her at night, but to be expected in every hotel. Other than that i would recommend this hotel. Pool snack bar was lovely and the food was very nice no complaints there. I would definetley pay a visit back here.

Room Tip: Request apartment rather than studio and also pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifi087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with my son on a last minute to watch some pre-season football in the Algarve. The duration of the stay meant that we didn't have a lot of time explore the hotel fully but still enjoyed a bit of the poolside, spent some time in the bar and had a go at the mini-golf.

We had a room on the ground floor which was one of those that overlooked the car park. Had this been my main family holiday I would not have been happy with this room so if you do book here be aware of these rooms. They have a kitchenette and all the equipment you require and they are quite roomy with a good sixed bathroom but its not got a balcony you'd want to spend a lot of time on. Didn't bother me too much as we only had a three night stay and were hardly in the room anyway.

The pool was great. Despite being the start of the main school holiday season it wasn't too crowded and on the three days we managed to obtain 2 x sunbeds despite not arriving until lunchtime/mid-afternoon each day. There is a snack bar by the pool and prices seem reasonable. All-in-all the pool atmosphere and environment is good.

The location of the hotel is ideal for both Old Town and Montechoro Strip. Its on the main road and taxis and the road train serve the hotel well. We walked to the Old Town twice daily for food and drinks and it wasn't too strenuous and with a bit of research you can discover the route to the Old Town that uses the escalators and therefore cut out much of the hill up and down.

The bar was good although very quiet most people seemed to head out of the hotel and I didn't see much in the way of hotel entertainment exceot for a bit of the dreaded Karaoke. Minigolf in the hotel is good fun for 15 minutes or so but a bit pricy at 3 Euros each.

Not the best hotel I've stayed at this year but no where near the worst.

Room Tip: There are some cracking rooms on the ground floor that open onto the pool area. They get the sun al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our 18 month old child for 1 week. Our room was very clean and well maintained. We stayed in a studio room which wasn't huge but big enough for us. We had a fridge, microwave, kettle and small hob. We had a small balcony area which got some sun in the afternoon (good for drying swimming shorts). The staff were always pleasant and the housekeeping staff would always chat away to our son which he loved.

The pool area is fantastic. Despite being told that reserving sun loungers was forbidden, there was always a queue at the doors to the pool for people to claim their sun loungers for the day. I was at the pool for 9 o'clock every day and had no problems getting loungers where we wanted them (near the kids pool). The kids pools (there are 2) are perfect for the little ones. One pool is the same depth throughout, the other has a shallow and 'deep' end. The adult pool is huge and despite it being busy at peak times, there was still plenty of room for more people. The majority of sun loungers are on the grassy area which surrounds the pool. The grass is a great idea, especially for our son who is still a little unsteady on his feet. There is also an indoor pool which is heated. Beside the pool there is an indoor kids play area with soft toys etc.. And also a playstation for the bigger kids.

We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on this.

The bar was ok. We only went in a few times but it always seemed quiet. There is not much in the way of entertainment but this didn't bother us in the slightest as we were out every night anyway.

The hotel is in a great location. Roughly half way between the old town and the strip. The strip was a bit lively for us with our son being so young, so we just went to the old town every day/night which was much more family friendly. There is also a commercial centre directly opposite the hotel which has a McDonalds and KFC and some bars, cafes and shops. There is a large supermarket right next door to the hotel. Next to the hotel lobby there is a patisserie which make some of the nicest cakes I've ever tried in my life. At night, we would skip dessert at whatever restaurant we ate at and nipped into the patisserie on our way back to our room. This is highly recommended :-)

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate in coming back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stew1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
1.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#25 of 153 in Albufeira
1,746 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 153 in Albufeira
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
Muthu Clube Praia da Oura
#80 of 153 in Albufeira
3,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
Hotel Paraiso de Albufeira
#87 of 153 in Albufeira
3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol

Address: Rua do Municipio, Lote 27 | Apartado 2054, Albufeira 8200-161, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Albufeira
#11 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#12 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $24 - $1,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Brisa Sol Albufeira
Apartamento Brisa Sol Hotel
Brisa Sol Albufeira
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing