We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Ranked #63 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We chose Balaia Sol because we were on a budget and it had good reviews - and the reviews were spot on. It is a lovely place just outside the centre of Albufeira, about 15 mins walk to the town and 20 mins walk to the beach. Perfect for a young couple who don't mind a bit of walking. The apartment is basic but clean and functional and the outside terrace was lovely. Unfortunately there was no air-conditioning and in mid-July it got a bit hot at night. The pool was quiet and the bar food was yummy and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We chose a studio without a balcony because it was cheaper but it turned out it still had an outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    162
    59
    25
    19
See reviews for
86
205
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

All staff very friendly and helpful, rooms adequate, bathroom nice, shower cubicle very very small. Food ok, small menu. Pool area very nice but the pool had lots of dead leaves in, not cleaned every day. The grounds were very pretty with pictures on walls. The side facing the strip is the quietest. Would go again, suitable for active people, who like walking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osbornemollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I've just got back from a lovely week staying in Balaia Sol with my boyfriend. Our room was excellent, nice and big with a great balcony overlooking the gardens. We didn't cook much in the room but there was a microwave, hobs and a toaster which is enough to make some basic meals. The cleaner came every other day so clean too.

As for the rest of the hotel, there was a great reception which seemed to be open 24/7 so you could contact the staff if you needed any help. One slight problem was that the staff didn't seem to speak brilliant English; we managed to communicate everything we needed to but could be frustrating if you needed to let them know anything important. The pool area was lovely, more than enough sunbeds, we never had any problems getting one or an umbrella. The bar sold a good variety of snacks and drinks for breakfast and lunch.

The location was okish. It was only about a 15 minute walk to the new town which is obviously great, but to the old town it was quite a bit longer (around 45 minutes). Taxis to the old town were only 7 euros so that wouldn't really be a problem but because it was so busy we really had a lot of difficulty actually getting one! The reception rang for us (for 2 euros) but the woman told us that she had rang 70 times and couldn't get through to anyone because it was so busy. We waited between 5 and 45 minutes for a taxi to come and that was a little bit frustrating. Having said that the location was good in the sense that it was in a nice, peaceful area, a little bit away from the hustle of the main locations and definitely wouldn't dissuade me from staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We also booked last minute based on reviews on here and were not disappointed. We had a 10 night stay June/July 2013 and it was a bargain holiday. The family of 8 that have reviewed here were the only ones that spoilt the lovely peace and quiet. Yes you do expect children to enjoy themselves but other children here were much better behaved. They did not constantly scream and they actually took notice of their parents (no control whatsoever). We didn’t complain as we were amused by everyone else doing so.
It is a 15 minute walk (maximum) from the strip (uphill? it is an easy, gentle, sloping walk) and a little bit further to the closest beach. There are several beaches and we visited 3 of them. The Balaia Sol has its own minibus which will drop you at the Strip or the Old Town at 11.30, 2.30 or 5.00 for 2 euro each. I think they should have a drop off at about 7pm too so that you can enjoy a meal and evening in the old town. Lots of places to eat and drink here and the restaurants on Fisherman’s beach are very reasonable and the food is delicious. A large beer here was 1.75 euro but cost more away from the beach(?)
If you go to the strip and turn right you will find Bananas Bar on the right and they were selling large beers (Sagres) for 1.80 euros and your 3rd one was free. They do a scrummy mojito too. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the steak he had at El Ranchero on the strip, he only wished there was more!

We also enjoyed a visit to Bar La Bodeguita which is situated at the bull fighting ring which you pass on your walk to the Strip. Carlos served up a lovely Ploughman’s Lunch for 4.50 euro and is very happy to chat.
The accommodation was more than adequate and the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Adelaide who seemed to be there from early morning until after midnight. If we visit again the only thing we would do differently is to hire a car and see some more of this beautiful area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWheels66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed at Balia Sol 9th July for 9 nights couple 2 kids 14 and 11. Booked quite late so expectations were not high but pleasantly surprised. Well maintained clean and good maid service. Apartments basic and cooking facilities were very limited, external 2 ring induction hob and microwave. Saw previous reviews re shower being poor but found shower to be excellent. Had room 19 right beside pool and kids found this ideal. They got 8 new sun beds during the week we were there which actually reclined and made reading easier. No shop but mini market next complex was adequate. Location pretty good and peaceful apart from the rooster somewhere nearby who starts crowing at 5 am !.Beds arent brilliant and late night arrivals and departures were a nuisance at times but the same is true anywhere. The place is very Portugese in style and very picturesque. As previous reviews said, if you are looking for 5 star dont come here, but if you are looking for value clean accommodation, and a nice small friendly atmosphere you should definitely consider Balia Sol.

Room Tip: rooms 19, 20 1nd 21 have terraces onto pool. Morning sun on these terraces only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, England,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We traveled as a group of 4 Adults and 4 Children age 11,7,5 and 4. First impressions of hotel were good we arrived late and were greeted by a friendly man who helped us to our rooms I noticed cctv everywhere which you can't help ask yourself why? All staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was basic but clean we were in room 5 which is set over 3 floors with a balcony that looks out over pool. First night Monday got no sleep having our bedroom road side meant we heard the dust carts and transfer coaches pulling up at various hours in the night. This also happened on the Friday night of our stay so expect broken sleep if you in that block unless you a very heavy sleeper. Second day in the pool which is cold water we were asked to keep our children quiet playing in the pool most guests were shocked by this. NOT WHAT I EXPECT from a hotel that advertises as family friendly. But I guess some guests didn't like hearing children enjoying them selves and splashing. Loungers are laid out around pools so its almost impossible not too get wet when people dive in. The pool is the only thing on site for kids to do. For that reason I would only return without children and also ask not to be road side. Hotel is in very remote place around 20 - 30 minute walk up hill to the main strip ( we did it every night). I wouldn't walk it alone though! Drinks and snacks are expensive 2 Euro for can of coke or small beer, 2.50 ice cream 6.50 for Breakfast which is basic with (lettuce?) sausage is extra! food is little over cooked for my liking too but that's what you expect for convience stock up at local supermarkets. I can recommend the cocktails 4 euros which is resonable. You can get a breakfast on the strip for around 3-4 Euros with a sausage no lettuce!! and a drink.Highly recommend Doris on the strip for that. Overall happy with the holiday perfect for quiet couples looking for relaxing location away from main town

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 in room 18, as a family of 8 with children. The apartment is dated but in good decor and clean as are the grounds, pool etc. The staff are very friendly. I don't think this place is good for families though as we were asked to keep the children quiet by the pool which is ridiculous so it should not be classed as good for families and the pool is the only thing they have to do as there is nothing else for them there. One of the children had a bug while we were there and we needed fresh bedding at 4am which the guy on reception got for us which I was impressed with. The walk into town is about 30 mins I would say and that's at a steady pace which was further than we were expecting, it's also uphill. The pool bar is very expensive in my opinion and the food quality is not great, I paid 3.50 euros for 2 slices of toast! Needless to say I didn't buy any more toast from the bar. A burger, chips & soft drink is 7.50 euros and I had a simple and overcooked english breakfast with a cuppa which cost me 6.50 euros, in town you can get a big breakfast with drink for between 3.50-4 euros and drinks are also expensive except cocktails which are only 4 euros. The location of the apartments is secluded and quiet and there is CCTV throughout the complex, I don't know why but was a bit worried about that. Sleep quality was fairly good although there was a cockerel in a neighbouring field which starts making it's noise at the crack of dawn and there are some villas close by, one of which was occupied by young clubbers who come back at 4 in the morning making loads of noise, although these would only affect the apartments on one side.
In a nutshell this place is good for couples or anyone looking for a quiet relaxing time away from the busy town but it is not good for families with children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#42 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#25 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#49 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
Parque Monte Verde Apartments
#67 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#89 of 162 in Albufeira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#39 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia-Sol Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Property: Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Address: Rua do Alfaiate, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia-Sol Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Balaia-Sol Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Sol Apartments Albufeira
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing