We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "WHALE" OF A TIME TO BE HAD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Northern England
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A "WHALE" OF A TIME TO BE HAD”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We went here in September this year.
What a lovely place. Whenever we go to Portugal, we always rent a car from the airport,so we don't know about the logistics of walking about. Bearing the transport in mind, this is a lovely little hideaway. Plenty of space around the place and the pool,the staff, from reception to cleaners could not be more friendly/helpful.
The apartment is just a little tired,bu they, we were on holiday, sunset on the balcony eating local produce,hat could be finer at the end of a long sunny september day.
We travel 4/5 times a yeat to Portugal and this is one of the nicest places we have stayed.
Go with an open mind and enjoy it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLIVERkATY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    169
    60
    28
    19
See reviews for
90
216
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria,UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at these apartments second week in September for 10 nights. Found them to be very clean, roomy and convenient. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Strip but quite a bit further on to the Old Town. A shuttle bus runs to both destinations for a small fee.
NIce pool area only slightly let down by the fact that the loungers are non-ajustable. Can be a bit of a pain if you're trying to read whilst lazing in the sun.
Tried to upgrade to an apartment with air conditioning but there was nothing available. Wasn't a major problem as we soon got used to the climate.
Staff very helpful and always pleasant and courteous. Pool bar service very good and the quality and pricing was more than acceptable.
First time to Portugal and will be returning. People very pleasant in general and overall was very good value for money.
Preferred the Old Town to the Strip. Strip a bit one-dimensional but plenty of bars and restaurants. Old Town a lot more inviting. Better choice of bars and restaurants and always something going in the main square. Although pan pipes are definitely not my thing!

Room Tip: Try for air-con. If not available there's no point arguing about it with the staff like some clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciderdrinker68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the great reviews we had read. They weren't wrong.

We did actually try to change the hotel to another once we realised they had no aircon in the rooms but in the end decided to stick with it and so glad we did. There are actually two rooms with aircon but the hotel was full so we couldn't have one of them. We were given a fan for use in our room and it was sufficient. The weather cooled off a bit at night so only used the fan after showering and whilst getting ready for the evening.

The apartments are huge, our bathroom was not tiny and our shower cubicle was adequate size - guess it's luck of the draw. We had a few ants but found they were heading for the bin so we put that far away from the kitchen surfaces and it was fine. Yes the mattresses are hard and not that comfy, the pillows are lumpy but are soft.

My gripe was the sunbeds. They don't adjust to sit up at all and they have no sunbed mattresses so you're lying on hard plastic. I'm a sun worshipper so these got very uncomfortable very quickly.

The staff are all lovely and very helpful. The food is good and I didn't think overpriced. And the apartments are lovely and peaceful.

We hired a car for the whole holiday so didn't have a problem getting about. I wouldn't have relished having to face that walk to the beach or restraurants every day but it could be done.

Would we go back? Definately and hopefully will be next year but not without a hire car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I just loved the place as soon as we arrived. The courtyard is cobbled and the buildings are traditional Portugese decor outside with tiled pictures on the walls and colourful flowers and plants growing all around the apartments. The place is spotless with large basic rooms but you only want somewhere to rest your weary bones after all the lounging around, eating and drinking. I stayed here in Aug with my 16 year old son. We didnt mind the 15-20 min walk to the Strip as the surroundings were relaxing and scenic. The shop at the nearby hotel had fresh bread daily baked on the premises and we usually made lunch in the apartment or took a trip out. The beach can be difficult to find but a long walk or a taxi ride will take you there. it is beautiful too and well worth a visit. We took a boat trip from Vilamoura to the sea caves and another secluded beach which was idyllic. We went to the Old Town by taxi which the staff at reception arranged for 4 euro. It is well worth a visit, great restaurants and shops, reasonable prices especially further away from the main area. We returned by the little train which runs between the 2 areas. Both the Old and New towns had Happy Hour up to 10 pm with cocktails generally 5 euro and they go out to impress with long straws and all the trimmings. Local beer ranged from 1.50 euro to 3 with a glass of wine costing 2. All the restaurants served great food. We particularly recommend The Sizzling Stone at the far end of The Strip just around the corner to the left opposite the amusements. You can get a fabulous steak which you cook yourself at the table to your liking on a sizzling stone. My son thought this was marvellous (hope he continues to cook with such enthusiasm at home). If you dont fancy walking as far as the Strip there are lots of restaurants going to the left at the roundabout which has the water feature We had brunch there as well on way home from the beach, a large fry was 4 euro. We also tried Roderigues to the right a cheap and cheerful cafe. The food was lovely. The Bullring is also near that roundabout for anyone wanting to attend on a Wed night. The Strip becomes busy as the night progresses but we wandered up to the top of it to quieter bars which had free WIFI and to anyone looking an Irish bar Erin's Hope is right at the top with entertainment every night. We really loved Albufeira and would recommend it and our apartments if your looking a quiet scenic location. Only small complaint they charged 5 euro per stay for WIFI at apartments,free at all other places, which you could only use near the bar and pool but that is a minor issue.

Room Tip: We had a small balcony which was fine but a little cramped for us 2 but most of the apartments had l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BelfastFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We have just stayed here for a week! The location was close to the strip so great for couples and groups! Hotel has a lot of young children staying here. About a 25 minutes walk to the beach which is lovley. Old town is a lovley area and this is only 5euros in a taxi. The hotel was clean basic all you would expect for a 3* self catering, however we did have an ants nest outside our apartment so if we had food out the ants would be in the apartment we also had them in our beds bit of a downfall. Over all I would definatly stay in this area again but not this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vmfjop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bed apartment at the Balai-Sol in July 2012. The apartment was clean and spacious. Facilities within the apartment were good. The pool was clean, the whole pool area was cleaned every day. We had no problems finding a sun bed at any time during our holiday. Staff were friendly and polite. On the whole a very enjoyable holiday in very clean and spacious apartments - would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have air con - standard rooms do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peace15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verwood
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week at this aparthotel. and we very much enjoyed our stay.the staff and owners were always pleasant and the studio we had was fine. The pool and the studio were very clean and the maid (Anna) was very good and came in every other day. The sheets and towels were changed twice and the pool and the poolside area was cleaned every morning by a man who certainly cared about his job. The nearest restuarant was a five minute walk away = turn right at the main road roundabout. and the meal was very good and average prices. the owner does the cooking and spoke to us every time we went there.The walk into town is about 20 minutes, though there is a bus every 30 minutes if you can't make the walk up hill. We also went to other places to eat,= Holland bar, very good value, But the best meal we had was at Tom and Jerry's. = half way down the strip at cross roads, turn right and it's on the left, great steaks and nice owner and very good prices. we did the hop on hop off bus trip and the land train ride and very much enjoyed our holiday. I would say the Balaia is fine for all ages but it is a 20 minute walk out of town, very peaceful and would go back there if we returned to the area.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool if you want to sit and watch people at play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keyboardbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
2.4 mi away
Vale de Carros
Vale de Carros
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
1.0 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#43 of 154 in Albufeira
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Bayside Salgados
Bayside Salgados
#53 of 154 in Albufeira
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Natura Algarve Club
Natura Algarve Club
#28 of 154 in Albufeira
749 reviews
4.4 mi away
Torre Velha Hotel
Torre Velha Hotel
#92 of 154 in Albufeira
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaia-Sol Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaia-Sol Holiday Club

Property: Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Address: Rua do Alfaiate, Albufeira 8200-315, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaia-Sol Holiday Club 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balaia-Sol Holiday Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balaia Sol Apartments Albufeira
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing