We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location”
Review of Hotel Almar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Almar
Ranked #76 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First of all the good parts, very cheap, amazing views of the sea and old town from the apartment. The apartment is very large with good size balcony. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is also relatively easy to get to old town from the apartments. The downsides are there was no restaurant or bar open this time of year. I have never had this in a hotel where there has been no bar or restaurant facilities. I have been told that this changes in the peek of the season. This isnt a major problem as there are so many bars and restaurants nearby. The hotel rooms are slightly old fashioned but the heating is good and plenty of channels to watch if the weather isnt great...Weather is not always good at Easter. There is a small charge for taxis to be called which is unnecessary I feel. There was also no entertainment. All in all though, an incredibly good value hotel in an amazing location with beautiful views. We were very happy with this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Almar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 246 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Service- minded personal, always nice and with a smile for the guest! We had 3- rooms flat with sea view, fantastic. Ask for a flat on 2ond or 3rd floor, you will not regret the price.The Atlantic will pay you off. Big rooms, a bit old, worn out, but all well funktion.The beds are hard! Good location, near beach, moving stare case, and Old city, Super market, every place less then 5 min. away. We gladly returns to Albufeira and Hotel Almar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

on arrival at this hotel we were asked to pay a 200 euro deposit for our family of four. i had booked through travel republic and asked about the deposit before we booked and were told we didn't have to pay because we were a family. the receptionist asked for 200 euros or a credit card. when we told her we didn't have a card with us , she said we would have to pay the 200 euros.Our room wasn't ready so we left our bags and went for something to eat, when we returned she had spoken to the manager who said we didn't have to pay.
the apartment was dated and the enamel from the bath was missing, they gave us a mat to sit on for a bath.
otherwise we had a large lounge with a large L shaped balcony with lovely views.
there was a kitchen and we had two seperate twin rooms which both opened out on to a large balcony with beautiful views of the sea and old town.
we enjoyed our time here but wouldn't stay again because of the 200 euro deposit

Room Tip: we were in room 207 which had beautiful views of the sea and the old town
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 808janet808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed in the Almar Apartments in November 2012. The apartments are ideally located in the old town, situated just a short walk from the top of the escalators. We stayed in a studio apartment which was quite spacious, only fault was the noise of the fridge/freezer motor during the night, it did disturb our sleep as it was in the same room we were sleeping. I would certainly return but would ask to stay in a one bed apartment next time.

Plenty of restuarants and bar in the vicinity of the apartments.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Carole0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

quite cheap apartments but very spacious and well eqoipped.ask for a sea facing apartment as they get the sun all day.just a short walk to the old town centre with lots of good bars and restaurants too many to mention .the hotel staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them .maid service everyday.we were there over new year and albufeira put on a great concert and firework display on new years eve .we will definately go back later this year.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor sea view gets sun all day
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a cheap get away on the 13th November so did not expect too much of a hotel when I arrived!
Did not need to worry because as we walked in the reception was clean and modern looking with a nice smile from the receptionist. Booked in with no hassle and was offered an upgrade to a sea view room for 10 euro a day, informed that we had a studio room which was on the lower ground floor.
Took the key and found the room adjacent the lift, with its own door bell and lobby light switch.
The room was exceptionally spacious with a well equipped kitchen/dining area which included a fridge, cooker, large sink, etc.
The bathroom was large (if a little dated) with an over bath shower, toilet, bidet and a huge mirror above the wash hand basin. Soap was provided but no shower gel.
The strange thing about the studio was the beds (2 single) are in the lounge, you strip the cover off the sofa and the bed is ready made underneath. Don't sound good but had a great nights sleep every day and as there was only the two of us, we just left them as they were during the day.
The room had a large balcony overlooking a lawned area, complete with table/chairs a clothes line and an external light.
The rooms are made up every day and towels changed as required.
All the staff were very friendly and always willing to help out with travel information and local attractions, we did not use the restaurant or bar as the hotel was very quiet during our stay.
The hotel is ideally situated for the Old Town which is about 10 minutes’ walk down to the escalators and not to strenuous walk up the hill back.
There is a great bar called Birinaite on you was down to the Old Town and we called in every night on the way home, the Restaurante D.Capito is just around the corner and we ate there 3 times during the week, look out for the daily specials on the chalk board outside. The Chinese shop next door sells everything under the sun at a bargain price. (Look out for my reviews on the bars/restaurants in the area)
The hotel is a good 30 minutes walk to the 'Strip' but there is a nice shopping centre on the way.
Overall very good value, spotlessly clean and If I return to Albufeira, I would defiantly stay at the Almar again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 001 which was directly below the reception so every stiletto heel could be heard o...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mollycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked this Apartment never realising the word Studio means "No Bedroom". The lounge settee's double up as single beds (bolted to the floor), although they weren't uncomfortable the pillows were little & lumpy. The bathroom was very dated but usable and the kitchen had everything you could need should you wish to cater for yourselves.
All Studio's are on the lower ground floor so have no sea views but do have views over a pleasant garden.
The location of the hotel is brilliant just a short walk down hill to meet the esculators that take you down to the beach, bars & shops.
There is 24 hour reception so other than a few doors slamming not too noisy during the night.

Room Tip: Although the views are stunning in Portugal unless you want to pay for sea views the studio apartmen...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzysnoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#38 of 154 in Albufeira
1,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#45 of 154 in Albufeira
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#23 of 154 in Albufeira
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vila Recife
Hotel Vila Recife
#110 of 154 in Albufeira
708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Topazio
Hotel Topazio
#49 of 154 in Albufeira
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#25 of 154 in Albufeira
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almar

Address: R. Bartolomeu Dias | Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-077, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $49 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Almar Hotel Albufeira
Apartamento Almar Albufeira
Almar Apartments
Hotel Almar Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing