We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel but old fashioned” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Almar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Almar
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good hotel but old fashioned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

on arrival at this hotel we were asked to pay a 200 euro deposit for our family of four. i had booked through travel republic and asked about the deposit before we booked and were told we didn't have to pay because we were a family. the receptionist asked for 200 euros or a credit card. when we told her we didn't have a card with us , she said we would have to pay the 200 euros.Our room wasn't ready so we left our bags and went for something to eat, when we returned she had spoken to the manager who said we didn't have to pay.
the apartment was dated and the enamel from the bath was missing, they gave us a mat to sit on for a bath.
otherwise we had a large lounge with a large L shaped balcony with lovely views.
there was a kitchen and we had two seperate twin rooms which both opened out on to a large balcony with beautiful views of the sea and old town.
we enjoyed our time here but wouldn't stay again because of the 200 euro deposit

Room Tip: we were in room 207 which had beautiful views of the sea and the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808janet808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    110
    33
    9
    13
See reviews for
59
120
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed in the Almar Apartments in November 2012. The apartments are ideally located in the old town, situated just a short walk from the top of the escalators. We stayed in a studio apartment which was quite spacious, only fault was the noise of the fridge/freezer motor during the night, it did disturb our sleep as it was in the same room we were sleeping. I would certainly return but would ask to stay in a one bed apartment next time.

Plenty of restuarants and bar in the vicinity of the apartments.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

quite cheap apartments but very spacious and well eqoipped.ask for a sea facing apartment as they get the sun all day.just a short walk to the old town centre with lots of good bars and restaurants too many to mention .the hotel staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them .maid service everyday.we were there over new year and albufeira put on a great concert and firework display on new years eve .we will definately go back later this year.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor sea view gets sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a cheap get away on the 13th November so did not expect too much of a hotel when I arrived!
Did not need to worry because as we walked in the reception was clean and modern looking with a nice smile from the receptionist. Booked in with no hassle and was offered an upgrade to a sea view room for 10 euro a day, informed that we had a studio room which was on the lower ground floor.
Took the key and found the room adjacent the lift, with its own door bell and lobby light switch.
The room was exceptionally spacious with a well equipped kitchen/dining area which included a fridge, cooker, large sink, etc.
The bathroom was large (if a little dated) with an over bath shower, toilet, bidet and a huge mirror above the wash hand basin. Soap was provided but no shower gel.
The strange thing about the studio was the beds (2 single) are in the lounge, you strip the cover off the sofa and the bed is ready made underneath. Don't sound good but had a great nights sleep every day and as there was only the two of us, we just left them as they were during the day.
The room had a large balcony overlooking a lawned area, complete with table/chairs a clothes line and an external light.
The rooms are made up every day and towels changed as required.
All the staff were very friendly and always willing to help out with travel information and local attractions, we did not use the restaurant or bar as the hotel was very quiet during our stay.
The hotel is ideally situated for the Old Town which is about 10 minutes’ walk down to the escalators and not to strenuous walk up the hill back.
There is a great bar called Birinaite on you was down to the Old Town and we called in every night on the way home, the Restaurante D.Capito is just around the corner and we ate there 3 times during the week, look out for the daily specials on the chalk board outside. The Chinese shop next door sells everything under the sun at a bargain price. (Look out for my reviews on the bars/restaurants in the area)
The hotel is a good 30 minutes walk to the 'Strip' but there is a nice shopping centre on the way.
Overall very good value, spotlessly clean and If I return to Albufeira, I would defiantly stay at the Almar again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 001 which was directly below the reception so every stiletto heel could be heard o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mollycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked this Apartment never realising the word Studio means "No Bedroom". The lounge settee's double up as single beds (bolted to the floor), although they weren't uncomfortable the pillows were little & lumpy. The bathroom was very dated but usable and the kitchen had everything you could need should you wish to cater for yourselves.
All Studio's are on the lower ground floor so have no sea views but do have views over a pleasant garden.
The location of the hotel is brilliant just a short walk down hill to meet the esculators that take you down to the beach, bars & shops.
There is 24 hour reception so other than a few doors slamming not too noisy during the night.

Room Tip: Although the views are stunning in Portugal unless you want to pay for sea views the studio apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

apartments are dated in furniture but are cleaned every day we had everything we needed, bar was closed due to being off season but everything is close by so it didnt bother us .5 mins to beach just a bit further and youre in the old town which is very nice and has plenty of bars and places to eat. A small supermarket just round the corner and a larger one 10 mins away. Book a 1 bed with sea view its worth it just for the view and the sun is on the balcony from about 11 till sun set so you can sit all afternoon without going out if you wanted to . A small tv which had limited channels in english world news, fox, national geographic thats your lot.Had a wonderful chill out holiday and would defo go back here.

Room Tip: 1 bed room appartment with sea views are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in mid October with our two teenage boys. Initially we were in a ground floor apartment which was spacious with terraces off both the bedroom and living room looking over the garden. Although on the sea side, we weren’t high enough up to take full advantage of the lovely views. When we asked to move, the staff were very accommodating and we were able to move to one on the third floor after a couple of days. This apartment was smaller and the bedroom was to the rear with a window onto the corridor which meant that we had to keep the curtains shut for privacy. However, the views were amazing and worth the smaller accommodation. There are upper floor apartments with sea views from the bedrooms so, if we stay again we will be more specific about the apartment we book (We booked directly through their website and they seem used to specific apartment requests)

Both apartments we stayed in were similar, basic with typical Mediterranean decor including lots of tiled surfaces which can take a bit of getting used to. However the rooms were very clean. There was a very small TV but the boys found some English speaking channels to watch. The kitchen is partially fitted with a microwave oven and has the basic equipment to make a simple meal but, with a huge selection of restaurants nearby, you are unlikely to use it much. You can ask for a kettle as that’s obviously a British thing! The fridges in both apartments were very old and could do with replacing. The laundry room at the back of the kitchen was great for drying towels, swimwear etc.

The bathrooms were acceptable, if dated. Both had a large marble washstand and a deep enamel bath (repainted) with shower over. The bathroom on the ground floor apartment was much bigger with a window for fresh air which was nicer as the other one was an internal room with no extraction!! There was always plenty hot water but the shower heads could do with being replaced with modern ones. Towels and bed linen were changed out mid-stay which was fine for us as there were loads of towels anyway.

The beds were incredibly hard and uncomfortable for a side sleeper – my hips are still grumbling 3 weeks later. We asked for extra pillows which we got the next day.

The hotel’s location is excellent, just a ten minute walk from the beach and the old town, or 5 minutes up to the main road and the supermarket, McDonalds & KFC. If you don’t mind a longer walk, most things you would want to see, from the marina in the west to the strip to the east, are within walking distance. There is a tourist train and sightseeing buses if you prefer not to walk.

We found the hotel good value for accommodation for four on a budget and the staff helpful and friendly. The location and views were brilliant. The garden and pool area was well maintained with lots of loungers. The bar and snack bar were not open in October but we didn’t feel we were missing out. It may have a different atmosphere in high season. There seemed to be lots of couples staying, it was very quiet and our boys probably would have preferred a hotel with more families. However we would stay again if returning without the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with sea view for both bedroom and living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlossieFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#44 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silmar Apartamentos
Silmar Apartamentos
#80 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol e Mar
Hotel Sol e Mar
#33 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#61 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
Cerro Malpique Aparthotel
#49 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#10 of 162 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almar

Property: Hotel Almar
Address: R. Bartolomeu Dias | Cerro da Alagoa, Albufeira 8200-077, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamento Almar Hotel Albufeira
Apartamento Almar Albufeira
Almar Apartments
Hotel Almar Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing