We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
73
128
39
10
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
128
39
10
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsutility roomsea viewold townpool areaexcellent locationno air congreat apartmenttop floorsome tlcthese apartmentsone bedroom apartmentbig supermarketbars and restaurantsseparate kitchenlarge balconyfew minutes walkliving area
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 268 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed in mid October with our two teenage boys. Initially we were in a ground floor apartment which was spacious with terraces off both the bedroom and living room looking over the garden. Although on the sea side, we weren’t high enough up to take full advantage of the lovely views. When we asked to move, the staff were very accommodating and we were able to move to one on the third floor after a couple of days. This apartment was smaller and the bedroom was to the rear with a window onto the corridor which meant that we had to keep the curtains shut for privacy. However, the views were amazing and worth the smaller accommodation. There are upper floor apartments with sea views from the bedrooms so, if we stay again we will be more specific about the apartment we book (We booked directly through their website and they seem used to specific apartment requests)

Both apartments we stayed in were similar, basic with typical Mediterranean decor including lots of tiled surfaces which can take a bit of getting used to. However the rooms were very clean. There was a very small TV but the boys found some English speaking channels to watch. The kitchen is partially fitted with a microwave oven and has the basic equipment to make a simple meal but, with a huge selection of restaurants nearby, you are unlikely to use it much. You can ask for a kettle as that’s obviously a British thing! The fridges in both apartments were very old and could do with replacing. The laundry room at the back of the kitchen was great for drying towels, swimwear etc.

The bathrooms were acceptable, if dated. Both had a large marble washstand and a deep enamel bath (repainted) with shower over. The bathroom on the ground floor apartment was much bigger with a window for fresh air which was nicer as the other one was an internal room with no extraction!! There was always plenty hot water but the shower heads could do with being replaced with modern ones. Towels and bed linen were changed out mid-stay which was fine for us as there were loads of towels anyway.

The beds were incredibly hard and uncomfortable for a side sleeper – my hips are still grumbling 3 weeks later. We asked for extra pillows which we got the next day.

The hotel’s location is excellent, just a ten minute walk from the beach and the old town, or 5 minutes up to the main road and the supermarket, McDonalds & KFC. If you don’t mind a longer walk, most things you would want to see, from the marina in the west to the strip to the east, are within walking distance. There is a tourist train and sightseeing buses if you prefer not to walk.

We found the hotel good value for accommodation for four on a budget and the staff helpful and friendly. The location and views were brilliant. The garden and pool area was well maintained with lots of loungers. The bar and snack bar were not open in October but we didn’t feel we were missing out. It may have a different atmosphere in high season. There seemed to be lots of couples staying, it was very quiet and our boys probably would have preferred a hotel with more families. However we would stay again if returning without the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with sea view for both bedroom and living room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlossieFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

As previous reviewers have said the hotel is in a great location, room was big, very clean and for what we paid for the rooms the price was ok and what a view.

I would advise to take a one bedroom apartment with a sea view as I heard other guest complain about the smaller rooms.

The bad points as other people have stated the apartments are dated the bath in our room had the coating peeling off and the beds are rock hard I thought I had a hard bed at home until I tried to sleep on this one. When we stayed the Hotel Bar and pool snack bar where shut in October which is still meant to be High Season.

I probably wouldn't stay at these apartments again as there are better options at other hotels locally which we have stayed in the past.

Room Tip: Choose a one bed apartment as we where told by other guests the studio apartments are very small and you have to sleep on sofa beds
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sc0tguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The positives - The location of this hotel is perfect! It's 10 mins walk to a large supermarket and 5 mins walk to a smaller shop. It's a 10 min walk downhill to the escalators leading to the beach and Old Town where there are plentiful bars and restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets. We booked a sea view room which was beautiful and very spacious throughout! Staff were very helpful and friendly.

The negatives - this hotel is very dated and needs a lot of improvements. The bathroom and kitchen are both very old. The towels left in the bathroom were already dirty. There was basically nothing in the kitchen - no washing up liquid or cleaning products of any kind, no cloth or sponges to clean/wash up with, no kettle, no bin, not even a pair of scissors. The mini oven/grill looked older than my Grandma so we didn't dare touch that. We also noticed that there was no smoke alarms in the whole of the apartment. We thought we would get a double room but it was 2 single beds pushed together and they were rock hard - we slept on the sofa for 2 nights. The floors obviously hadn't been cleaned as there was hair and sand there from before we arrived. The TV was tiny and reception wasn't brilliant. There was also no wi-fi available. There was a computer available in the reception at a cost of 1 euro for 10 mins. We only just managed to book our return transfer before the 10 mins ran out because the computer was so slow.

Overall this hotel is perfect for groups wanting to get drunk and go to the beach who aren't particularly bothered about cleanliness, not for a relaxing couples holiday.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louthemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked a late deal mid October just to get a bit of sun before winter sets in, First time visit to albufeira. Not knowing resort or area we took a punt of a suprisingly cheap deal we found online and decided to pay a little extra for a 1 bed apartment with sea views - really glad we did. genuinely inpressed with the rooms and the view was perfect. Okay the rooms are very dated and more than a little tired, and the kitchen had only the very basic(and old school appliances) not such a great problem as most people eat out at one of the hundred excellent restaurants and bars in the old town. This is probably the biggest plus for this hotel is the location - Literally a ten minute walk down into the old town. With the brilliant escalators to take you down to beach level.
The pool area is well serviced and clean, we were very lucky as our week had an unseaonal heatwave of clear blue skys and 28-29 deg temp - something we hadn't planned or packed for.
The pool area was never too busy and you could always get a lounger and go for a swim - sometimes being the only one there, again great views from the pool area.
The staff were excellent and always polite and very helpful. One tip though - take your own travel kettle - better than boiling water in a pot on the stove.
Overall I would recommend this hotel and would stay again especially slightly off season when things are a little quieter and good deals can be had.

Room Tip: Most room do actually have some aspect of sea view - but pay the extra for rooms 2nd floor up and overlooking the pool area. Sit on your balcony and watch the sun set.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greaseman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked last minute for my husbands birthday and got a really good deal so did'nt really know what to expect but we where really pleased we picked to stay here.Its a basic but clean hotel and only a five minute walk to the old town which had plenty of restaurants to eat out at good prices. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flo-bow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews