We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cheerfulway Vila Alba
Ranked #147 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Do not stay here...............Really bad area........ Bad staff....... Stay Away......... Not safe

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Cheerfulway Vila Alba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 171 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

We arrived at 12.30 pm expecting to be let straight into our appartments, The lady behind the desk told us they weren't ready and we would have to wait till 3.30pm, we went for a wander around, came back at 5pm to find one of the rooms was still not ready. We sat outside for a while until they were ready about 30 mins later.
The lady never apologised, just made several excuses.
After we managed to get into our rooms everything seemed ok. Rooms were what we expected. Clean and tidy. Abit messy outside on the balcony but not bad.
The hotel was fine for what we paid and what we expected, pool was lovely.
Just the initial organisation was very poor.
Location is good, about a 10 minute walk from the main shopping/clubbing strip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Hotel is a couple of minutes walk above the top of the strip. Great quite location but would be nervous walking alone at night as it is very badly lit in last section. Hotel was very nice. Very well equipped kitchen and nice big apartment. Pool view room actually had a view of a white wall but had a nice big yard that would have been very good for a young family. Receptionist was very pleasant, and so were the cleaning staff. As a previous person said the cleaners weren't very thorough and only mopped around the centre of the room. Town itself was starting to wind down for winter so a bit quiet. Try Rancho restaraunt. Its very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We have just got back from ten days at Villa Alba, had a great holiday, not a 4 star as advertised in a lot of places, more like a 3, but came away with a pretty balanced view of the place and having enjoyed our stay.
Good points :
- we paid for a 1 bedroom apartment and got a 2 bed one instead, massive for 2 people with lots of space.
- Nice clean swimming pool area, never any problems getting a sunbed and reasonably priced snack bar with a good variety of snacks.
- Kitchen quite well equipped with a washing machine, electric oven, microwave and kettle.
- Excellent location - nearest supermarket is a 5 minute walk away, then the start of the strip is probably about a 7 minute walk. Nearest beach is around 15 minutes walk away but the hotel offers a free shuttle service twice a day, check in reception for times and to book on. Taxis to the old town cost about 5 euros, plus 1 euro that reception will charge you for ringing one for you, but if you’re on holiday as a couple, there is a ‘train’ that goes from the strip to the old town, 4 euros for an all day jump on jump off ticket, so we saved a bit of money by doing that one day.
- Staff on the whole were friendly and helpful on reception.
Not so good points :
- the maid service, came in each day and made the beds, replaced toilet roll but not sure what else, pretty sure floors were not swept during our 10 day stay and no cleaning equipment provided so we could do this ourselves. Towels are meant to be changed twice a week, we’d been there 4/5 days and hadn’t been done so requested new ones from reception. Bedding is meant to be changed once a week but this was not done during our stay.
- Bathroom could do with an update and wasn‘t always enough hot water for us both to shower one after another, had to give it 20 minutes or so inbetween.
- Apartments have telephones but can’t be used as the hotel doesn’t have a line yet.
BUT none of these things were enough to have much of an impact on our holiday, still had a great time, just a few things to be aware of.
General info - the safe costs 15 euros for the week, plus a 15 euro refundable deposit, and contents are insured up to 1000 euros. The apartments do not have air conditioning which wasn’t a problem in September with temperatures outside around 27 degrees, the apartment stayed quite cool, but unsure whether I would risk staying here in the hottest months without air con. Personally I was glad we were on the 1st floor so if we stayed again, I think I would request this, especially if you want a pool view.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LovesHolidays78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The only good thing that I can say about this property is that the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, particularly the receptionist.
Most of the listed reviews are pre2008 and I can only conclude that standards have slipped alarmingly.
The room was shabby, outdated and in need of drastic refurbishment/re-fit.
The bathroom was in a dreadful condition and fell well below an advertised basic 3 star listing.
There was a lot of damage to interior fittings and walls and ceilings are in need of urgent decoration.
The terrace was never swept (or even touched) during our ten day stay stay.
Air-con would have been appreciated but shutters provided some essential airflow.
Swimming pool area was dirty and rubbish was left over a period of several days.
There were several groups of stag parties and hen parties during our stay (mostly brits) and we endured a number of sleepless nights due to inconsiderate morons staying in adjacent or semi-adjacent rooms.
The location of the property was not bad. It was only a five or ten minute walk to the 'strip' and a further fifteen to twenty minutes to the beach.

Room Tip: If you are visiting old Albufeira, take a taxi as it's 4 or 5 euro and takes about five minutes.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

i have just returned from a 11 nite stay at these apts , in need of updating ,spacious apt, clean linen and towels were only good points, pool area was dirty in places. we had ground floor apt,terrace area was dirty,never swept during our stay. shower in bathroom ,terrible. overall the location was to far away from old town and beach. spent most of our days at friends hotel ,brisa sol,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

When we got thee was very pleased with the room clean, very spacious and modern.The only ssuewe had was theshower blocked and the bath was full for about a hour or more ... I had to have a shower by te pool so i could wash my hair without haing to stand in my friends shower water.. I complained to receptin n the third day and a maintance man was there withi the hour. We were meeting friends as soon as we got there so went straight out. thinking the stripwas close!! dont listen to maps its bout a 25 min walk. we had t flag a taxi. but looked the way taxi driver went we walked it the next night. "the strp" is great full of bars not so many restaurants.everyone is very friendly and like most places has PR'S, drinks were expensive 5 euros a drink more depending.Recommend wilds and co for the live band they were brill!! and libertos who has a very cute guitarist who also sings, its very classy and clean lookig place. I also recommend the old town. which cost about 5 euros in a taxi. more family orientated lots of choice in restaurants and has some very nice bars there is a lovely restaurant near the tunnel. staff very friendly and some nice chilled out bars close by away from the hussel and bussell. thee is also a live strip in the old town but i prefer the new strip.
I WOULD RECOMMEND ALBERFERIA TO ANYONE INCLUDING STAG AND HENS PARTIES ALTHOUGH MAYBE NOT THIS HOTEL AS ITS A FAMILY BASED.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavenholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
Cheerfulway Valmangude Jardim
#142 of 154 in Albufeira
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
Hotel Mirachoro Albufeira
#93 of 154 in Albufeira
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novochoro Apartamentos Turisticos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
Balaia-Sol Holiday Club
#68 of 154 in Albufeira
440 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#145 of 154 in Albufeira
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Silchoro Apartments
Silchoro Apartments
#98 of 154 in Albufeira
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheerfulway Vila Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheerfulway Vila Alba

Address: Rua Adriano Correia de Oliveira 160 E | Montechoro, Albufeira 8200-084, Portugal (Formerly Vila Alba Beach & Sun Club)
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Price Range: $35 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheerfulway Vila Alba 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cheerfulway Vila Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Alba Beach And Sun Club
Vila Alba Beach & Sun Club Hotel Albufeira
Vila Alba Beach Sun Hotel
Vila Alba Apartments
Vila Alba Albufeira
Cheerfulway Vila Alba Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing