We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, thanks to all at the Falésia”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We've just returned from a fabulous fortnight at the Falésia. The weather was not good for the first week but glorious for the second. The hotel staff, led by their manager André, are clearly focused on customer care. André even attended our Welcome Meeting in a wheelchair having fractured a bone in his foot shortly before. On Sunday evening before dinner we reported to reception that there was an overheating issue with the hairdryer in the bathroom. By the time we returned from a late breakfast the following morning we not only had a brand new hairdryer, but also a brand new upgraded television - that's what I call customer service!

Yes, the decor in our room was a little tired but most of the time we spent there we were asleep. The standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel was superb and we were greatly entertained by the towel animals that appeared on our freshly made bed from time to time. The restaurant, its food and the chef were a delight, there was always a great selection to choose from and the quality was excellent. Highlights included the chef's peppered beef roast, the Ukranian lady who made the incredible fruit and vegetable art, and the freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast.

I have read many of the recent reviews of the Falésia here and can only conclude that the very few gripes are from people who didn't read the brochure or do any research about where they were going. Long trousers for the gentlemen at dinner have our full support. Access to the beach is not easy, we preferred to walk on the flat to the nearby beach at Olhos de Água. The extra charges for various items are made clear in the brochure and make an upgrade to a Junior Suite a more attractive option. Unlike some other Gold hotels the pool towels and WiFi were free. There were plenty of sunbeds but maybe a shortage of parasols. The hotel seems very willing to react positively to suggestions so we'd like them to look at the high price of water in the restaurant.

We took the hotel shuttle bus to Vilamoura but soon tired of watching the rich folks and can recommend taking a 15 - 20 minute walk to the fishing village/town of Quarteira where the restaurants are a lot less expensive and the grilled sardines are really fresh.

This was our fourth Thomson Gold Experience and by far the best. We were very impressed by every member of the Thomson team. The entertainment team of Martin, Dan, Lucy and Hannah outshone all our previous experiences. We'd seen the "One Fine Day" production three times before but their performance was by far the best. The other Dan, the hotel rep, was excellent and answered all our queries for us.

I want to give a special mention to Victor the local interest rep. He organized walks, language lessons, port tasting and even a tour of the hotel kitchen. He's simply the best local interest rep we've met, he's knowledgeable, interesting and has a great sense of humour.

All in all, a great relaxing holiday and we look forward to returning to the Falésia very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misterc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,070 - 1,076 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just back from 7 nights at this Hotel, food excellent - plenty of choice and everything provided was of 1st class quality, agree totally with the rule that Gentleman are expected to wear long trousers, when taking there evening meal in the Restaurant. The rooms (We Booked A Suite) are kept very clean and even though some refurbishment could be due (In The Bathrooms - Looking A Bit Dated) which where still kept very clean, this did not spoil our Holiday.
Everyone in the Hotel from the Room Cleaners through to the Reception Staff, Restaurant Staff, Bar Staff,Entertainment Team, Thomsons Rep, are very friendly people who obviously enjoy there work at the Falesia Hotel, this approach obviously starts from the Management of the Hotel.
We would not hesitate to say to anyone thinking of visiting this Hotel that you cannot fail in our opinion to have an enjoyable Holiday, and even though we do not usually return to an Hotel we have previously stayed at, we would not hesitate to visit this Hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Book a Suite - Well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

we have done all the gold hotels and we found the falesia not the best .when we arrived at the falesia the outdoor pool was green for 3 days before it was cleaned.It is very quite there .and not much around the hotel .The entertainment was not as good as other gold hotels.The thomsons reps were very good.Food was good there

Room Tip: ask for over swimming pool as at the front you get no sun and coaches in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sylviabutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre A, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear guests,

I am very sorry to see that you have not had an excellent time in the Falesia Hotel. We are surprised to notice that you have not approached us during your stay with your issue. We are very proud of our services and trying always to our very best to meet our guests expectations. For that reason I am sending out to all our guests on their second day of their stay a letter welcoming them to the hotel and kindly asking them if - by any chance - we are not meeting their expectations to let us know immediately as we are sure that we can resolve them to guests satisfaction, or at least explain why it happened and what we are going to do about it.

I can guarantee you that the pool is cleaned daily and if necessary few times a day. We also need to carry out some test at least 3 times a day in order to keep our guests healthy and safe. This has to be carried out by Portuguese law. If the pool would be green for 3 days, we would have very serious health and safety issues and according to our records, there was no problem with the swimming pool and none of the customers reported any issues either.

The entertainment and the food are very much depending on the individual tastes. I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed the food but unfortunately the entertainment was not up to your expectations. Sorry about that but there are quite a lot very positive comments about the entertainment provided.

Before booking certain hotel we would always advise to do some research about it and if the location is of great importance to you, we would suggest to get some information on the area. Usually - the easiest way to do so is to check Tour Operators brochure (website) and hotel website. All the information about the Falesia hotel and its surroundings is correct an checked with all our partners. It is described everywhere as peaceful and quiet location with few bars and shops close the hotel but all the main shopping and night-life is concentrated in the biggest tourist Centre of Portugal - Albufeira (5-8 kms) with lots of bars, restaurants, discos etc that all run until early hours of the morning and the taxi ride there is about 10 minutes and costs €10 during the day and a bit more during the night. The same is offered in Vilamoura (11kms away).

Once again I am very sorry that your holiday was not up to your expectations.
Wishing you all the very best in the future.

Kind regards,
André Aparício

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Have just returned from our first visit to Portugal. We could not fault the Falesia Hotel in any way.
All of the hotel staff, Thomson reps. and entertainment team could not have been more friendly or helpful. It was my husband's birthday while we were there and the lovely bottle of wine placed in our room helped to make it a very special day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed as a couple from 8th-19th Sept and was our first visit to Portugal and the Falesia but we have stayed in quite a few Gold hotels.
We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel over the entrance,the room was not overly big but nicely furnished and only in need of slight refurbishment. We don,t place great emphasis on the room as we are out of it most of the time.
I agree with other reviewers the food and ambiance of the restaurant at dinner and breakfast was to a very high standard and there was such a huge variety of choice and the wine list was excellent and reasonable too.
The poolside and gardens were perfect for relaxing and free of children bliss!!
The welcome meeting was good and informative and the manager even turned up despite just having broken his leg.
It was my 60th birthday in the middle of the holiday and I was presently surprised to have a bottle of sparkling wine and two fluted glasses nicely arranged on the dressing table on our return from the gardens,I thought that was a very nice gesture from the hotel management.Thankyou.
We only went on one day trip and what a trip that was on the Guardinia river cruise. We were promised by the rep that it would be the best day of our holiday and it most probably was.The journey up the river was beautiful and perfect for any bird watchers and took about 2 hours. When we arrived at our destination a small village we were escorted to a small restaurant with a pool to use if you wanted. We were all seated at rustic tables and told our food would be cooked now in about 45 minutes. The food consisted of rustic salad, bread and fresh grilled sardines which we picked up at the quayside and brought with us that very morning,they were DELICIOUS.Second course was barbecued chicken with peri peri sauce washed down with copious amounts of very quaffable red or white wine and finished with fresh melon. W e were fortunate enough to be seated with two lovely couples one from HItchin and the other from Cheadle Hulme near Manchester who were great fun.The entertainment during the meal was brilliant and memorable to say the least!!!
A great day was enjoyed by all.
The highlight of the holiday was the evening entertainment, and the fantastic bar service from the waiters especially Amen and Daniel they looked after your every need.
T he Gold team were excellent Martin Dan Lucy and Hannah would grace any west end show, and we're interactive with guests before during and after the show WELL DONE YOU. Jango the resident duo were also excellent and filled in between and yes we were members of the 11 o,clock club.
I could go on with the superlatives about this hotel and it's staff and entertainment team but I have to end somewhere.
Both of us work in very stressful jobs like I am sure many other of the guests do to,so a Big Thankyou to all at the Falesia for letting us chill,wined and dined and entertained and recharged after such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevor k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Never having visited Portugal or been on a Thompson Holiday before we chose this package based on the many Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed in any way.
The hotel was quiet and comfortable and all the staff, either from Thompson or the hotel were extremely helpful and treated you as a valued guest.
The quality and choice food was excellent and the Chef was always on hand to give advice.
I would recommend Victor’s (the Thompson local guide) walk to the beach and his Mystery tours, as his knowledge and enthusiasm for the Algarve was infectious.
If like my wife and I you are football fans, a local bar called the “Hollywood Bar” (10 mins stroll from the hotel) usually showed many of the Premier League matches and they serve an excellent jug of Sangria. .
So sum up excellent hotel, staff, food and holiday we will be booking September 2014.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FEG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to the Falesia Hotel. We cannot speak highly enough of the staff, the food, the entertainment. If you want total relaxation this is the place to be. We know the area well, as we have visited this part of the Algarve many times. It is such a quiet area, perfect in every way. We found the bar prices good for a Hotel. Lunchtime at Hugo's a pint for one euro 50 and 2glasses of wine for 2 euro.
We would feel safe recommending this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Try for a Junior Suite, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 999JUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,377 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
243 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#18 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $60 - $1,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing