We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falesia Hotel”
Review of Falesia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Falesia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Falesia Hotel”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

we have done all the gold hotels and we found the falesia not the best .when we arrived at the falesia the outdoor pool was green for 3 days before it was cleaned.It is very quite there .and not much around the hotel .The entertainment was not as good as other gold hotels.The thomsons reps were very good.Food was good there

Room Tip: ask for over swimming pool as at the front you get no sun and coaches in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sylviabutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre A, General Manager at Falesia Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear guests,

I am very sorry to see that you have not had an excellent time in the Falesia Hotel. We are surprised to notice that you have not approached us during your stay with your issue. We are very proud of our services and trying always to our very best to meet our guests expectations. For that reason I am sending out to all our guests on their second day of their stay a letter welcoming them to the hotel and kindly asking them if - by any chance - we are not meeting their expectations to let us know immediately as we are sure that we can resolve them to guests satisfaction, or at least explain why it happened and what we are going to do about it.

I can guarantee you that the pool is cleaned daily and if necessary few times a day. We also need to carry out some test at least 3 times a day in order to keep our guests healthy and safe. This has to be carried out by Portuguese law. If the pool would be green for 3 days, we would have very serious health and safety issues and according to our records, there was no problem with the swimming pool and none of the customers reported any issues either.

The entertainment and the food are very much depending on the individual tastes. I am very pleased to see that you have enjoyed the food but unfortunately the entertainment was not up to your expectations. Sorry about that but there are quite a lot very positive comments about the entertainment provided.

Before booking certain hotel we would always advise to do some research about it and if the location is of great importance to you, we would suggest to get some information on the area. Usually - the easiest way to do so is to check Tour Operators brochure (website) and hotel website. All the information about the Falesia hotel and its surroundings is correct an checked with all our partners. It is described everywhere as peaceful and quiet location with few bars and shops close the hotel but all the main shopping and night-life is concentrated in the biggest tourist Centre of Portugal - Albufeira (5-8 kms) with lots of bars, restaurants, discos etc that all run until early hours of the morning and the taxi ride there is about 10 minutes and costs €10 during the day and a bit more during the night. The same is offered in Vilamoura (11kms away).

Once again I am very sorry that your holiday was not up to your expectations.
Wishing you all the very best in the future.

Kind regards,
André Aparício
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,255
    542
    126
    28
    9
See reviews for
143
1,510
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Have just returned from our first visit to Portugal. We could not fault the Falesia Hotel in any way.
All of the hotel staff, Thomson reps. and entertainment team could not have been more friendly or helpful. It was my husband's birthday while we were there and the lovely bottle of wine placed in our room helped to make it a very special day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed as a couple from 8th-19th Sept and was our first visit to Portugal and the Falesia but we have stayed in quite a few Gold hotels.
We were allocated a room at the front of the hotel over the entrance,the room was not overly big but nicely furnished and only in need of slight refurbishment. We don,t place great emphasis on the room as we are out of it most of the time.
I agree with other reviewers the food and ambiance of the restaurant at dinner and breakfast was to a very high standard and there was such a huge variety of choice and the wine list was excellent and reasonable too.
The poolside and gardens were perfect for relaxing and free of children bliss!!
The welcome meeting was good and informative and the manager even turned up despite just having broken his leg.
It was my 60th birthday in the middle of the holiday and I was presently surprised to have a bottle of sparkling wine and two fluted glasses nicely arranged on the dressing table on our return from the gardens,I thought that was a very nice gesture from the hotel management.Thankyou.
We only went on one day trip and what a trip that was on the Guardinia river cruise. We were promised by the rep that it would be the best day of our holiday and it most probably was.The journey up the river was beautiful and perfect for any bird watchers and took about 2 hours. When we arrived at our destination a small village we were escorted to a small restaurant with a pool to use if you wanted. We were all seated at rustic tables and told our food would be cooked now in about 45 minutes. The food consisted of rustic salad, bread and fresh grilled sardines which we picked up at the quayside and brought with us that very morning,they were DELICIOUS.Second course was barbecued chicken with peri peri sauce washed down with copious amounts of very quaffable red or white wine and finished with fresh melon. W e were fortunate enough to be seated with two lovely couples one from HItchin and the other from Cheadle Hulme near Manchester who were great fun.The entertainment during the meal was brilliant and memorable to say the least!!!
A great day was enjoyed by all.
The highlight of the holiday was the evening entertainment, and the fantastic bar service from the waiters especially Amen and Daniel they looked after your every need.
T he Gold team were excellent Martin Dan Lucy and Hannah would grace any west end show, and we're interactive with guests before during and after the show WELL DONE YOU. Jango the resident duo were also excellent and filled in between and yes we were members of the 11 o,clock club.
I could go on with the superlatives about this hotel and it's staff and entertainment team but I have to end somewhere.
Both of us work in very stressful jobs like I am sure many other of the guests do to,so a Big Thankyou to all at the Falesia for letting us chill,wined and dined and entertained and recharged after such a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Never having visited Portugal or been on a Thompson Holiday before we chose this package based on the many Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed in any way.
The hotel was quiet and comfortable and all the staff, either from Thompson or the hotel were extremely helpful and treated you as a valued guest.
The quality and choice food was excellent and the Chef was always on hand to give advice.
I would recommend Victor’s (the Thompson local guide) walk to the beach and his Mystery tours, as his knowledge and enthusiasm for the Algarve was infectious.
If like my wife and I you are football fans, a local bar called the “Hollywood Bar” (10 mins stroll from the hotel) usually showed many of the Premier League matches and they serve an excellent jug of Sangria. .
So sum up excellent hotel, staff, food and holiday we will be booking September 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FEG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to the Falesia Hotel. We cannot speak highly enough of the staff, the food, the entertainment. If you want total relaxation this is the place to be. We know the area well, as we have visited this part of the Algarve many times. It is such a quiet area, perfect in every way. We found the bar prices good for a Hotel. Lunchtime at Hugo's a pint for one euro 50 and 2glasses of wine for 2 euro.
We would feel safe recommending this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Try for a Junior Suite, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999JUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My Wife and I have just returned from the Falesia, we visited in May this year for the first time, and on returning we were not disappointed, we even got the same room after e-mailing Andre the manager.

Food, staff, cleanliness 1st class.

Only downside the Hotel need refurbishing, which I am pleased to hear is being done over this winter.

Will definitely be going back in the future.

Brilliant

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperGrumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from 12th to 26th September 2013 and were delighted with our hotel experience which treated you as a valued customer. The standard of the food is extremely good with extensive menu - something for everyone, even one of our party who has a food allergy - the Chef would accompany her every day to advise which dishes she could choose from. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean by the housekeeping staff. The entertainment team was excellent and worked very hard to provide shows which could have merited West End standard! There is an hotel bus from outside the hotel to Albufeira at very reasonable cost. The nearest beach - Falesia Beach, is indeed accessible via the adjacent hotel lift and then considerable steps down - but if you can manage to do the trek it's very worthwhile ( and in our view is better than Albufeira). However, a short taxi ride away ( approx 4 Euros) there is direct access to Olhos D'Agua ( should not be missed) and the beach is only a few yards from the road, with no steps. There are a couple of supermarkets a short walk from the front of the hotel - handy if you want to purchase rolls, butter & cheese/ ham for lunch - not to mention large bottles of water. The rooms may require updating in the next couple of years but at present they are well presented and the cleaning service is very thorough - floors were mopped daily! This hotel would suit anyone who appreciates the Gold experience of adults only - although some younger couples mostly guests were over 50 the period we stayed there. We highly recommend this hotel and the high standard of service.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.5 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,071 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
SENSIMAR Falesia Atlantic
#2 of 8 in Olhos de Agua
2,522 reviews
2.9 mi away
Golden Beach by 3HB
Golden Beach by 3HB
#1 of 154 in Albufeira
203 reviews
7.7 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#4 of 154 in Albufeira
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falesia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falesia Hotel

Property: Falesia Hotel
Address: Pinhal do Concelho | Praia da Falesia, Albufeira 8200-593, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#19 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Falesia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falesia Hotel is located close to Falesia Beach (800mts) and the town of Albufeira and in the center of the Algarve. Falesia Hotel in Acoteias surprise you with tranquil gardens and ample spaces, where one can soak the sun, tranquility, fresh air and smell of the beautifull umbrella shaped pine trees.For you well being and complete relaxation, there is a large outdoor pool as well as indoor one with Jacuzzi, Turkish Bath and Spa. Falesia Hotel is offering 169 rooms - all of the with the balcony and the views either of the pool, gardens, mountains - or even the driving range of the next door Golf Course. All the rooms also come with LCD satellite television, air condition (cold / hot) and very important free access to Wi-Fi connection. Our elegant "O Lago" restaurant is overlooking the Falesia Hotel beautiful gardens with some small fountains and where our delicious Buffett meals are served. "Show Bar" is the place to be in the evenings where the entertainment is provided for all those that are ready to party (occasional entertainment during the winter only). "Palm Bar" is serving those fantastic cocktails and the rest of the refreshing drinks during the high summer months.All the Golfers don't need to go far. There is a Golf Course next to Falesia Hotel and Vilamoura - with its best Golf Courses in Europe - is only up to 15 minutes drive from the Falesia Hotel.And if you want to have much bigger selection of shops, restaurants, bars, discos and any other entertainment, it is only between 5 and 8.5 Km to get to the capital of Portuguese tourism - Albufeira.If you are after complete relaxation you do not need to look any further. It is all waiting for you in the Falesia Hotel... "Simply relaxing... Holidays with no children" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Falesia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falesia Hotel Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Hotel Falesia Algarve
Falesia Hotel Portugal
Falesia Hotel Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing