We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely family run irish bar”

The Shamrock Irish Bar
Ranked #6 of 70 Nightlife in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shamrock Irish Bar is situated in the lively centre of Albufeira's Old Town . We can be found upstairs on the first floor next to The Hotel California shopping centre. As the only Irish Bar on the main 'bar street' (Rua Candido Dos Reis) it is popular with tourists looking for a unique experience! Throughout the season we play a variety of music including traditional Irish. Come along and join in our live sessions. If you're a budding musician yourself, we welcome you to rock out on the guitar or perhaps the tin whistle! ♫ The bar has three large screen satellite televisions, showing all premier football matches, rugby golf and horse racing. Of course we show GAA, Irish games. Fully air-conditioned - Three large screen satellite TVs - Pool table - Free Wi-fi- and of course,- Live music. Opening hours are from 12 noon on Saturday and Sundays and weekdays, 2pm to 2am (doors to the shopping centre close at 12:00am) so make sure you get there early! We are a little tricky to find, so keep an eye out for our Shamrock bar flags flying above the popular 'bar street'. Cead mile failte!
tipperary
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely family run irish bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just back after a week in albuferia ,lots of disco bars for the youngsters ,but we came across the shamrock advertising an ABBA tribute nite ,and it was a brilliant nite ,so for the rest of the week we strolled in to shamock at some part of the nite ,to the lovely welcome of frank and vicky [the owners ],there was live music every nite till 1am ,which i might add is very scarce ,the lovely Ricardo served us at our table ,with great friendly banter ,we had great craic ,drinks prices were v good ,pt of heineken 3.50e and voddie and diet coke 5e ,smoking area grand ,all in all alovely friendly bar ,will def reccomend to my friends ,and will def make a return visit ,thanks frank ,vicky and ricardo ,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank magsyTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
What a lovely, warm and friendly review you have given us. We are really proud to hear that the bar was just right for you. Abba will be with us for the rest of the season and they are a very professional band who get the crowd singing and dancing. Thank you for the music!
Ricardo is brilliant at looking after the customers and he even manages to remember what they drink even when taking orders from lots of tables.
Thank you for spreading the word and we look forward to meeting many more lovely people from Tipp!
Frank, Vicky & Ricardo. x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    25
    4
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great wee bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Just back after spending a few days in albuferia, great wee bar, good nights craic, very friendly, cheap prices compared to most bars.... you got to go there!! Will be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
It was nice to meet you all and see you having so much fun. Thank you for the compliments. So important for us to keep getting feed back and great that our prices are good value. Throughout the day, until 9.30pm the local beer, Sagres is 2.50 euros a pint and 1.50 for an Imperial (half). At night we charge 3.00 Euros a pint and 2.00 for a half as we have quality entertainment nightly. Most of our branded drinks plus a can (not a dash) are 5.00 euros - these are hand poured...so watch out!
Let us know when you are back and keep your eye on Facebook. Don't forget to post any pics to us of your great hol in Albufeira. We love to see them!
Frank & Vicky x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only the customers make it worth going too”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is up 2nd flight of stairs in a mini shopping mall it's a shop front it has mini tri colour flag streamers child like shamrock paper streamers a green wall a pool table small stage, a small bar, the toilets are out of the pub into the shopping mall and along to the end. Bar man was polite but when asked if the Celtic game was on TV ( an acceptable answer would have been "Yes" or "No") but "DON'T KNOW WHO ARE THEY PLAYING" was poor show.... but the customers made the visit worth it , even if the bar think's that a green wall and a tri colour flag is all they need to do.
If your looking for the Celtic game consider another Irish pub or pubs. Note I went to Jinky's in the Strip I meet a person outside who was preparing the pub for opening the following week and while he was not opened he kindly suggested a pub ( not Irish or Celtic minded) so went and when they were asked is the Celtic game on TV the answer was will check the list and "yes it was" but could only show it on smaller tv at the back as 3 main tv's had other games on being watched with English fans watching their teams "Sorted"

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi there Frank from Glasgow. Your description of where to find the bar, (upstairs in the California shopping centre), will be very helpful to new customers. This year we re-decorated, re-wired, tiled, plumbed and painted the entire bar! Everyone knows how stressful moving house is and the logistics of packing the bar up in readiness for the refurbishment, during the winter was epic! We had to rent another shop to store everything! Pleased that you noticed our new shade of green-one of the forty we could have chosen!
Sorry that you missed the game (Dundee Utd v Celtic) on one of our three large 50 inch screen tv's. Our blackboards on the street are updated daily with sport and entertainment information. What a weekend that was! (Saturday 5th April 2014), when the Dundee Utd v Celtic game (the game dominated by Celtic, with a 2-0 win), was on, we were extremely busy and showed this game along with several other matches, GAA, football, rugby and the Grand National! There wasn't a space left in the bar!
Apologies that the bar mans response to your question was not what you expected but it is difficult keeping up with every game and we always endeavour to resolve the answer. We have built up a strong reputation for our friendliness, helpfulness and hospitality and would not wish to change that.
Thank you for your review and may you return to Portugal for future holidays and enjoy the company again in our Irish family run bar with definitely the best people enjoying their holidays at The Shamrock:)
Frank & Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

It may not look much, you could pass it by, but we had the best 2 nights of our week long holiday at the super friendly Shamrock bar. Lovely staff who work their socks off, really reasonable price drinks for Smirnoff and cans of diet coke; no splash of soda here! St Patricks night the place was heaving and you didn't have to wait at the bar - the guy did table service. Great night if you want a bit of friendly cheesy fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hey Ann, great review and don't mind being cheesy! As you say, The Shamrock is difficult to spot but the Irish and all the world seem to know to look for the flags flying high above the street and we had a ball on Paddy's night with plenty of craic! Ricardo is our table waiter and works hard and even helped Frank with the refurbishment this year! Our entertainment continues throughout the season and gets the crowd dancing and singing. Thank you for enjoying the night and hope you visit again soon. x
Frank & Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best bar in old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

I look forward to coming to this bar every time i visit albufera, there is a real local irish bar feeling to the place with very frendly and fun staff who know how to have the crac!

Helpful?
1 Thank Padmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Manager at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thanks Paddy for your review - there will always be a space for you at the bar. Nice to see your holiday pictures in Guia - especially as winter weather is still back home in Ireland!
Keep up to date with Face book and thanks for the review.
Frank & Vicky...not forgetting Chris & Ricardo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shamrock Irish Bar also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Shamrock Irish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing