We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“halloween bank hoiliday”

The Shamrock Irish Bar
Ranked #11 of 71 Nightlife in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shamrock Irish Bar is situated in the lively centre of Albufeira's Old Town . We can be found upstairs on the first floor next to The Hotel California shopping centre. As the only Irish Bar on the main 'bar street' (Rua Candido Dos Reis) it is popular with tourists looking for a unique experience! Throughout the season we play a variety of music including traditional Irish. Come along and join in our live sessions. If you're a budding musician yourself, we welcome you to rock out on the guitar or perhaps the tin whistle! The bar has three large screen satellite televisions, showing all premier football matches, rugby golf and horse racing. Of course we show GAA, Irish games. Fully air-conditioned - Three large screen satellite TVs - Pool table - Free Wi-fi- and of course,- Live music. Opening hours are from 12 noon on Saturday and Sundays and weekdays, 2pm to 2am (doors to the shopping centre close at 12:00am) so make sure you get there early! We are a little tricky to find, so keep an eye out for our Shamrock bar flags flying above the popular 'bar street'. Cead mile failte!
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“halloween bank hoiliday”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

once again an amazing few nights spent at the irish shamrock bar..fantastic warm welcome from Frank, Ricardo, and Chicco,,, we missed Damien singing as he had just returned home... but in place of him was another guy( cant remember his name)!!!... he was from Kildare fantastic entertainer...great sing songs and sang everything to suit all the punters.this is the best bar in Albuferia dont miss it while visiting you wont be disappointed . hope to see you all soon again...Donna & Dessie

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you Donna And Dessie for your kind comments, Always a pleasure to see you guys , Glad you enjoyed the new entertainment.
An early Merry Christmas to you both .
Frank The Shamrock Bar .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    27
    5
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ennis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wondered in on a whim and never left”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

One of the best bars ive been in, management and staff are friendly and welcoming and entertainment was very good even thou it was end of season. If i do make it back to albufeira i will deffo be back to see frank and the lads

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrbucks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks Ennis for your Review , Glad you enjoyed your time in Albufeira old Town and in the Shamrock bar.Our staff always appreciate customers comments and yes ,make sure you call again ! .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All you need from an Irish bar.....”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A very warm welcome, lively entertainment and good company!
We called in to this bar every night of our holiday and enjoyed a good drink and a sing song. No matter how busy the bar was Ricardo could find us 4 chairs! If you are visiting Albufeira you should definitely not miss the chance of a great night in the Shamrock Irish Bar, half way down "Bar Street" upstairs in the California Shopping Centre (look up - you can't miss the sign!)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hi Knighton Girl ,Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed the entertainment .
Im sure your great description of where we are will help a lot of people find us.
Thanks Frank the Shamrock .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great bar, great hosts!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Frank, Chicco, and Ricardo are fantastic and make you feel so welcome. Damien the singer is really entertaining.

This is not the easiest bar to find and some people struggle to find there way in but once your inside you'll be guaranteed a great night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks Stacey, Glad you found us and we entertained you ,See you next time at the Shamrock .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An Irish drink with an Irish welcome”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A great spot for a drink, great nightly entertainment from Damien and very welcoming staff. Frank and his team have a warm greeting for everyone and are excellent at getting people engaged in conversation. The drink is good and cheapest around for many of the irish drinks. Thanks to all in the Shamrock for adding to our holidays in Portugal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Tipp for your comments, Glad we helped to make your holliday in Portugal a pleasant one .Thanks again from our musician Damien and staff ,Call again next time in Albufeira the first one is on us .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shamrock Irish Bar also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Shamrock Irish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing