We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

The Shamrock Irish Bar
Ranked #8 of 73 Nightlife in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Shamrock Irish Bar is situated in the lively centre of Albufeira's Old Town . We can be found upstairs on the first floor next to The Hotel California shopping centre. As the only Irish Bar on the main 'bar street' (Rua Candido Dos Reis) it is popular with tourists looking for a unique experience! Throughout the season we play a variety of music including traditional Irish. Come along and join in our live sessions. If you're a budding musician yourself, we welcome you to rock out on the guitar or perhaps the tin whistle! The bar has three large screen satellite televisions, showing all premier football matches, rugby golf and horse racing. Of course we show GAA, Irish games. Fully air-conditioned - Three large screen satellite TVs - Pool table - Free Wi-fi- and of course,- Live music. Opening hours are from 12 noon on Saturday and Sundays and weekdays, 2pm to 2am (doors to the shopping centre close at 12:00am) so make sure you get there early! We are a little tricky to find, so keep an eye out for our Shamrock bar flags flying above the popular 'bar street'. Cead mile failte!
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Just back from 10 nights in albuerfia, on our 3rd day we found this great bar, we visited every nite after that and were nearly always the last to leave, there's live music every night which was brilliant he always tried to get everyone involved, he was good craic. The beer prices was great value not to mention the jugs of fat frogs, the couple frank and Vicky that own and run the bar are really friendly and great Craic, they do a great job of making everyone feel welcome, we can't wait to get back in September it really helped to make our holiday so enjoyable as the weather wasn't great, but the entertainment and welcome ere certainly made up for that. Thanks all and see yours soon

Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Despite the weather, we are glad that our live music cheered you up! .... Fat Frogs would also help!
Damien sings seven nights a week chatting to the crowd and singing songs from every county. One of my favourites is ' The Hills of Donegal'. Frank has a favourite too, Spancil Hill, and sometimes joins in with his Bodhran.
September will soon be here. Please keep in touch on Face book where I can give you a weather update just before you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 213 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is our local when we are in Albufeira we love it. If you want a bar thats value for money, great hosts and great entertainment go to the SHAMROCK u wont be disappointed. Frank and Vicky run a great bar. Chris is on during the day and the craic is ninety. Damien sings in the evenings and if u can sing get up and showcase your talent. There are tlevisions a plentyand show all kinds of sports Frank even opened last year for the world cup rugby at 6am.

It is also a quiet haven from all the noise on bar street if you need some time on your own.

Will be back n ur next visit see yu then

1  Thank CathyandPetermoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Irish through and through...a 'yellow belly'. Up Wexford! ... says Frank!
Our bar is renowned for 'the craic' and Damien Reilly, our guitar player revs this up nightly!
Most of our drinks are very good value - especially when compared at night with the square and bar street, our hand poured measures won't disappoint - just make sure you can manage the stairs!
Thank you for visiting The Shamrock and your brilliant comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

found this pub walking along the street. beautiful irish ballads being sung by a one man band. he was great fun. we got talking to lots of irish people. there was a pool table there and my husband had a few games of pool which he really enjoyed. we had lots to drink had great fun and didnt leave till 2 in morn. we would go back for sure. lovely friendly couple owned it.

Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bl0ndie07, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Damien, our 'one man band' certainly lived up to this description if you check out the photo on The Shamrock Irish Bar Facebook page! He can be seen playing guitar, drinking a pint, the bodhran and singing!
The pool table is usually popular with the men and is a nice past time during the day if the weather is cool. To keep the kids happy we always have a small selection of games like connect four or dominoes or good old fashioned playing cards....the grown ups are allowed to play too!
So glad that you enjoyed the company. See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a 10-night stay in Albufeira and we visited this bar every night. Great atmosphere, great hosts, fantastic live entertainment and very reasonable bar prices (John Smiths @ 3 euros and they never ran out - even with me there!)
We would recommend this bar to anyone & will definitely be going back.

Thanks Frank, Vicky & Damien..... see you all again.

Thank Phil_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank G, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Frank kept the stock of John Smiths flowing and I became a ' dab hand' at making the ' Naked Bacardi's! Every night it was a pleasure to have your company enjoying our bar and extending hospitality to you in the same way that you look after your holiday makers in Blackpool. I had a peek at your website for The Newlands Hotel, and can see that this would be the place to stay,for a welcoming break...might need one at the end of our season!
We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great little Irish bar, buried away up some stairs in the old town. Great bunch of largely Irish patrons, and the live music whilst we were there (9th may) was outstanding, complimented by open mic quality, culminating in a crowd member who would win any tv talent contest she chose to grace.

Memorable, warm and unique atmosphere. You've got to go, to appreciate it

Thank Clicelillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bl0ndie07, Owner at The Shamrock Irish Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

I am glad you managed to find our bar ...the steps are beside Hotel California and shopping centre and we are upstairs on the second floor! We agree, the bar can be hard to spot, so our advice to customers is to keep your eyes out for the Shamrock Irish flags flying high above.
Damien, from Trim, Meath, works hard seven nights a week playing to the crowd. I will make sure he reads your review. It makes his task worthwhile when someone lets us know how much they appreciate his entertainment.
Aren't we lucky having such talented guests:) I think you may have being referring to Kiera who sang and played guitar, rocking the crowd even though she had an early flight the next morning!
Thank you for your fantastic description of our bar and hope to see you again on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shamrock Irish Bar also viewed

Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Albufeira, Faro District
 

Been to The Shamrock Irish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing