We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mar a Vista
Nearby Hotels
$149
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$142
$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
PortoBay Falesia(Albufeira)
$177
$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vila Joya(Gale)
$603
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$275
$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden Beach by 3HB(Albufeira)(Great Value!)
$178
$173
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$378
$276
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
25
55
67
29
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
55
67
29
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewstayed for two nightslay your headstar accommodationbalcony roomminute walktravel kettleour night staylick of paintbit datedsmall pooldown hillhotel is situatedrestaurants and barstaxicleanersseagulls
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 215 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Overall a 'pleasant' hotel. Nothing to get crazy about..the highlight is the very helpful staff who will cater to your needs and answer any questions. Without water for 2 days/1night which as you can imagine is very annoying having been out all day covered in sand and sun lotion! You get what you pay for. Atleast the steep climb from the New Town makes you feel a little better about burning some of tgat holiday food off!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReadySetGo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break at this hotel. First of all, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the staff are all very friendly and helpful and the views amazing. As other reviews state, this hotel is at the top end of the resort and therefore there is a bit of a climb involved and may not be any good for people with walking, health problems. We are in our 50's and can't say we are very fit but this bothered us at all for the first couple of days when we did the trek 3 times a day, but as the week progressed and the heat rose to above 30 degrees we did find it a bit of a struggle by day three. This would not however put us off staying at this hotel again. We only had breakfast once in the hotel, on the last day, and found this perfectly acceptable for the 5 euros each. This was continental breakfast and included the usual cereals, toast, preserves, fresh rolls, juice, coffee etc. The views from the breakfast room are amazing and if you get there at the right time you could be lucky enough to get a table outside on the balcony. We didn't manage to get a sea view room although our room on the 2nd floor was roomy, clean and had a balcony overlooking the pool. The pool area is very small, as is the pool, and although there are only a hand full of sunbeds we managed to get a bed every day, and had the pool to ourselves, as most people use this hotel as a crash pad and are out and about during the day. You do have to bear in mind, the amount of money you pay to stay in this hotel and take everything into consideration. No, it's not the Ritz, but in my opinion, value for money wise, this place gets 5 stars from me. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others who just wish for a nice clean room, bed to sleep and bath/shower. Oh, must say if you like a firm bed you are in luck, only slight problem for us but did feel like i was sleeping on a stone slab. Didn't bother us too much after a few glasses of sangria though!!

We booked our transfers on line before we went with a company called Yellow Fish whom we noticed other people had recommended on this website and have to say that the service we received from them was excellent. We even received a free bottle of wine from them on arrival. The price for the return private transfer for 2 was 60 euros.

If you are staying here, go with an open mind, don't expect the Ritz and you will have a great time. Happy holidays!!

Room Tip: I believe rooms above 3rd floor have the best views, however some of these do not have balconies
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catkins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have been in the hotel for 8 nights (18.05.-26.05.2013).

We booked it from germany via Logitravel.de, included was the flight from Weeze to Faro, the hotel with breakfast and the flight back from Faro to Cologne.
We had to book the transfer ourselves, but this was easily done through a travel agent.
In the end, we paid 430€ for both.
So, the deal was more than great!!

We arrived very late at night, around 1AM, and were checked in very fast.
We were shown the way up to the room with an little elevator.
Before arrival I called the hotel and asked for a room with a balcony, and luckily we got it.
It was room no 412.

The room itself is big enough for two people, there was even a small TV and the balcony was also okay for a cigarette.
The beds were clean, the cupboards as well, and the fridge is a small one like in every hotel.

To be honest, at arrival we were thinking, wow, what an ugly, shabby hotel.

The hotel needs to be refurbished and renovated, but then again, it was a cheap deal we got and in the end, how much time did we spend there? Basically only for showering and sleeping, so we can´t complain.
Of course its not a 5Star Hotel, but for this price you do also not expect it to be as good as a 5Star- keep in mind, it has 2Stars.
Still the staff was giving their best, the beds were comfortable and in the end we didnt need more!

The breakfast is really not the biggest... The selection is really not much, but then again, its a 2 Star Hotel.
We had Bread and Buns, Ham and Cheese, Strawberry Jam, Honey and Butter and apples and oranges.
There were also cereals and milk.

But thats it!
No eggs, and if you want the fruits, better get there early :D
For breakfast you will get "tickets" for every day, which you will need to bring there.
Most of the time there were no plates, spoons or cups- just remind the sweet lady and you will get it...

Nearby there are plenty of supermarkets, so we went to buy Nutella and some Salami, stored it in our fridge and took it to the breakfast room every morning...

The pool is very small, but okay, if you need a quick refreshing!

After breakfast we went down into the city and explored Albufeira a bit.
Well, as many people wrote already, the hotel is on a hill, so walking up and down every time can be annoying at some times, but also lots of fun, especially when you had some beers...

The city itself is full of tourists, lots and lots of bars and restaurants, and in front of every bar or restaurant there is someone asking you to come inside- thats really annoying...

The food itself is also the same everywhere, chicken piri piri with chips, fish&chips, Burger&chips and chips and chips and chips ;-)
After two days we asked to exchange the chips to boiled potatoes or vegetable, as they were very oily and not nice.
Even though the food is the same nearly everywhere, the food was always well done (except the chips), and the plates were really full, so there is nothing to worry, that you´ll be still hungry after.

Our favourite place to be in the evening was the ROCK CAFE BAR.
Nice staff, nice guests, acceptable prices and live music every night! Good live music!!
There was only one favourite restaurant, that is the SHALOM on the main road.
They have three restaurants and are under Dutch Managment.

For daytime there is a really nice cocktail bar next to a hotel, near the Tunnel from the beach!
Really comfy and relaxing!

One thing I would definitely recommend is the beach BBQ trip! It´s 45€ each, but worth every cent!! Book it only with Algarve experience, they do have the best value for money!

We did the trip to Lagos&the end of the world as well- but its not al all recommend.
The end of the world was the most interesting place for us and we had only 20 Minutes over there..

Better rent a car and explore it yourself.

If you want to book any trips, walk a bit on the main road (on that road where the shalom restaurants are) up to the end. On the right hand there is a small shop, it has the best deals!

Overall I would recommend a car for rent, and explore the Algarve, as Albufeira is not the most beutiful place to be- very crowded, too many tourists, you cant see anything of the real Portugese way of life, their traditions or anything.

For partying hard its perfect though.

I would also recommed the hotel if you´re not picky and just need an escape from home!
Don´t expect a 5Star Hotel, you get what you paid for ;-))

We would return there IF we would be going to Albufeira again- which is not going to happen as there are much more beautiful places in Portugal.

And for people being scared if the weather is good:
The first two days were rainy, afterwards very sunny and warm in the daytime.
Without wind it was already too warm for us but the wind was perfect.
If you´re really brave you can even go into the ocean... I just made it with my feet and jumped out of the water :-D
Bring a light jacket for the evening-it gets really cold!

Enjoy your holiday!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NadineO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here with a friend from 9th/16th of May in room 505. Having read reviews previously, I knew what to expect so the faulty electrics didn't come as a shock. No pun intended. They were falling off the wall & lost their spark a few times which was unnerving. I advise you stay on the 3rd/5th floor as these rooms have been refurbished. I'd hate to see what the others look like if these are refurbished but best of a bad bunch. Request a balcony when booking. Pool view is nothing to look at as it's the size of a shoe box & smaller than those of a different view. Don't bring anything too heavy in your case as there's no lift, only a rickety flight of stairs. The night porter is very rude so best you don't rock the boat there by bringing anyone back, they don't allow it. Towels were changed daily but beds were not & the floors weren't swept so be careful what sand you thread in on your shoes. Shower head didn't give a great burst, it was a weak dribble but water was always hot. There is no restaurant so don't expect breakfast/dinner. A mall drinks bar downstairs which serves a purpose I guess but you'd be nearly better off getting drink in the tobaccoists as it can be expensive. One can of Coke was 1.50 when compared to a euro in shops. It's a non smoking hotel but we smoked away in the room & nothing was said. The beach is local enough, maybe 10 minute walk from hotel & a bit of a hike back up, not for the terribly unfit. Attached is a photo of the hill other tourists complained about. I didn't mind it so much as I'm fit as a fiddle. There are lovely restaurants about but the names escape me. I had brunch in '7th Disco Bar' Old Town which was cheap & really nice. 'Meet Bar' is also great for cocktails & a taxi rank just over the road. I advise you drink here before you go into the strip as the alcohol is stronger but not always cheaper. I found it impossible to get even merry on the strip. Taxi into strip costs about 7euro. If I was to go back I'd most defintely stay loser to the strip. The Vila Nova apartments are nice enough & slap bang in the middle of it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I paid 12 GBP a night for this place in early May 2013, and it was an absolute bargain.

The rooms are fine - nothing swanky, a little bit dated, but very clean and adequately furnished.

The staff are delightful, it's a five minute walk to the beach and the old town, and there's decent sea views from most of the rooms.

I paid an extra five Euros a day for breakfast - fairly basic, but fine.. cereals, toast, fresh bread, cheese, ham and coffee.

Would absolutely stay here again - it was peaceful, clean and did the job perfectly for a relaxing long weekend in the sunshine,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S_Mac_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews