We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, Cuisine & Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Joya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Joya
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Style, Cuisine & Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This wonderful hotel Vila Joya directly at the Atlantic coast with a wonderful beach is a real gem. Not only the cuisine of the hotel´s Austrian two Michelin Star cook is impressing but also the house, the gardens, the pools and the staff are extraordinary. We love this place and are happy to have found it and will return as soon as possible -from Germany no problem also for a weekend.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have sea view and are nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petra l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    14
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
27
120
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely Large room, athougth the shower was dated. Weather Brilliant. Great view out to sea. Gardens nice and well looked after. Breakfast average. NO AL A CARTE menu in the evenings. ONLY a SIx Course Tasting menu, which is enjoyable for one night BUT NOT seven nights. One does not pay this money for a set menu. No tea making in bedroom. No welcome refreshment on arrival, Not even a cup of tea, which would of been very nice after beening up since 3.30a.m. traveling to you, Arriving at 10a.m. to be told breakfast is finished..... Sorry we will not be returning....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank bebington_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaJoya, Manager at Vila Joya, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It's awful that a client feels this way, as we always try to make sure that our guest get what they wish for. Our Degustation menu changes every single day so no dishes are repeated. If the guest only wishes to eat something light and simple they can choose any of the dishes on the menu and are not required to have it all. Often guests just want a simple pasta or salad and we are happy to oblige. It is awful terrible that you were told breakfast was finished as it has always finished at 11. We generally always welcome our guests with a welcome drink too. We apologise for such a bad experience as we are famous for our customer service and only wish that something had been mentioned during your stay so we could have made it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventry, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was recommended by a friend who is a leading chef in Ireland. We therefore had very high expectations, but even these were exceeded. We went for lunch and opted for the the fixed three course menu. The three courses were superb but there were lots of additional surprise dishes ; amuse bouche, tapas, palate cleansers, petit fours, each more amazing than the last.

The flavours and presentation were stunning, and the service impeccable.

Truly memorable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Rooms to die for absolutely fantastic smooth book in, wonderful staff.
Food a bit of a dissappointment. A bit samey with no change in texture, monkfish, salmon, beef etc.

But worth the very expensive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P5OGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Beautiful/romantic location.
The rooms are a bit pricy for what you get, but the view over the ocean is magnificent.
Excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Female30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were very lucky to have 4 nights at this lovely hotel with our 2 children in early April. The food was absolutely superb -- at least as good as the finest restaurants in London -- with amazing originality and the freshest ingredients. I have a dairy-free diet which they accomodated more than I would at home and the chef produced variations on every dish for me all of which were absolutely delicious. Our room was spectacular and a great treat for the kids with a private pool which was perfect given that it was quite cold and the large pool was not quite as warm as required! The beach was beautiful and the water was very clear. The staff were absolutely lovely to us the entire time we were there with no quibbles about special requests. Nothing was too much trouble and no guests seemed to have preferred treatment. We did see one room other than the one we stayed in and it was on a more traditional line which may not be to everyone's taste but we thought it was charming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were very well welcomed.
Not only very well welcomed, but as well very happy with the excellent display of food for breakfast, views, diner and room service.

They are one off.
The staff was very polite and me and my wife enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: If you go there and you want to feel completely free is better to have your own car. The room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
3.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#7 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Salgados Dunas Suites
Salgados Dunas Suites
#16 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
12.6 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Property: Vila Joya
Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#5 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Joya 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2016 Europe's Leading Boutique Hotel Awards, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts a two Michelin star Restaurant and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing