We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Vila Joya worth the effort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Joya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vila Joya
Ranked #3 of 161 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Vila Joya worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Rooms to die for absolutely fantastic smooth book in, wonderful staff.
Food a bit of a dissappointment. A bit samey with no change in texture, monkfish, salmon, beef etc.

But worth the very expensive experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P5OGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    15
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
28
135
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Beautiful/romantic location.
The rooms are a bit pricy for what you get, but the view over the ocean is magnificent.
Excellent food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Female30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were very lucky to have 4 nights at this lovely hotel with our 2 children in early April. The food was absolutely superb -- at least as good as the finest restaurants in London -- with amazing originality and the freshest ingredients. I have a dairy-free diet which they accomodated more than I would at home and the chef produced variations on every dish for me all of which were absolutely delicious. Our room was spectacular and a great treat for the kids with a private pool which was perfect given that it was quite cold and the large pool was not quite as warm as required! The beach was beautiful and the water was very clear. The staff were absolutely lovely to us the entire time we were there with no quibbles about special requests. Nothing was too much trouble and no guests seemed to have preferred treatment. We did see one room other than the one we stayed in and it was on a more traditional line which may not be to everyone's taste but we thought it was charming.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were very well welcomed.
Not only very well welcomed, but as well very happy with the excellent display of food for breakfast, views, diner and room service.

They are one off.
The staff was very polite and me and my wife enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: If you go there and you want to feel completely free is better to have your own car. The room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
425 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We took a half board package with dinner. We had a wonderful welcome and a fabulous room with a view over the sea leading out onto the terrace and gardens. The room was average, but the bathroom is in serious need of updating. Shower curtains (that don't fit) in 5 star hotels in Europe is an absolute no no. The staff were lovely, very welcoming and hard working but there one or two minor let downs. Missing our breakfast order on the bedroom door is a big error for a hotel of this standard. When we went to pay, the lack of prices for alcohol both with lunch and dinner revealed the gotchas. 29€ for a glass of red wine with lunch and 183€ for the pairing of wines with dinner made this overnight stay nearly 1000€.
I have to say it was a very lovely break for my wife and, very relaxing but it comes at a cost. If you're not short of money you will probably enjoy staying here. Looking at some of the indications of average prices, you might find a better web site deal than what we paid on the hotel site. However beware the hidden cost, particularly wines which are exorbitant for this part of the Euro zone. Wines and taxes do not cost that much here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

They get an "A" for effort, but you'll fall in love with what Vila Joya could be, not what it is. Bottom line:

1) The room decor is out of date and feels cheap. The bathrooms are especially inconvenient with outdated plumbing.

2) The staff is top-notch. SUPER nice and accommodating. Food is excellent.

3) It feels like they're going for a "homey" hotel, but they miss the mark because they try to mix way too many different styles in one small place and end up with a confusing ambiance.

4) The town surrounding the Vila feels like a poor Latin town from the 1980's, which is reflective of the poor economic times they are having. There's not a lot to do and we found ourselves a little uncomfortable in the area.

5) The rooms are not quiet at ALL. If the people downstairs are having any kind of celebration or talking loudly, you'll hear it all. If the staff walks the corridors or does anything, you hear it.

6) The wi-fi was pretty slow, but that may be indicative of the region.

Overall, they are making a good attempt at having a resort, but they need to invest in new decor, sound-proofing the rooms, bring some more light into the the whole hotel and offering other things to do in the area around the hotel so you're not bored.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Having travelled extensively throughout Europe, and notching up an incredible 21 stars last year, my palette for good food is demanding to say the vary least.

I eat at Vila Joya last week with my partner, whist we were staying nearby on business.

I am unable to comment on the bedrooms, but if the food is anything to go by then you're in for a real treat.

I have to stay, for me, this was by far the best restaurant I have ever eaten in. The service was impeccable, the setting was ' paradise' as was the food.

A trip to the wine seller, was sublime, nothing was too much trouble. During our experience, the clientele was all German, which for me demonstrates quality. If its good enough for them.....!

I will certainly return, but next time, I will book a room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albufeira
8.1 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Praia
Vila Gale Praia
#2 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
7.7 mi away
Falesia Hotel
Falesia Hotel
#4 of 161 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Joya

Property: Vila Joya
Address: Praia da Gale, Albufeira 8201-902, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Spa Hotel in Albufeira
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#22 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vila Joya 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Joya resembles a small oriental palazzo and is nestled in a breathtaking garden setting on a cliff with stunning views facing the sea. Winner of the 2016 Europe's Leading Boutique Hotel Awards, this Albufeira beach resort also boasts a two Michelin star Restaurant and features luxurious spa resort accommodations, exclusive golf packages, and rejuvenating body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Vila Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Joya Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Joya Hotel Albufeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing