We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Sol e Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sol e Mar
Ranked #34 of 163 Hotels in Albufeira
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just spent 9 nights at this hotel and cannot fault it at all.
The location was perfect for the beach, just a lift to the bottom floor & you're right on the beach.
Mambo bar on the beach is great for sitting with a cocktail. The rooms were a good size, cleaned every day. Sun beds are 15 euro for 2 on the beach, we ended up buying a couple of li-los!

Just a few minutes walk from the square.
Breakfast was average, most days we didn't rush for it, it finishes at 10am, so if we didn't get breakfast we headed to Tunes bar up the hill for a fresh cooked breakfast 5 euros each.

TIP---If your buying beer/alcohol for the room the shop opposite Tunes Bar is good priced, one euro a Budweiser! Whereas the shops on the square are 1.40 ish!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kerry-edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    554
    193
    68
    34
See reviews for
154
749
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife & I were at Hotel Sol e mar the last two weeks in July .We had a very enjoyable time the views from the balcony were stunning.We were half board the food was excellent a great selection. The waiters & waitresses were very friendly & helpful a credit to the hotel.The bedroom was very spacious plenty room for your clothes & needs all in all had a great holiday & will be back.

Room Tip: Third floor is best that is only my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gordi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

First impression were that the hotel was quite shabby, and in need of a refurb. However, I sort of expected this after reading a few reviews and seeing pictures.

The room itself was fairly dated, have stayed in worse – but also better. Would say 2 star would be fair as the bathroom was dated and a tad smelly on first impression (whether this was the drains I’m not sure). Saying that, I only required someone to sleep, shower and change so it was adequate enough.

The rooms were cleaned promptly and daily, with fresh towels supplied and beds made. Didn’t use the TV as its not what I go on holiday for, but the TV was also quite dated and balanced precariously on a corner tv stand. The Air con (although also dated) was very good, and kept the room nice and cool at all times.

The sea views from the balcony where stunning, and each rom has this view overlooking the beach and sea. 5 star views for sure. The bars below could be a little noisy but usually wrapped up around midnight. As the only night I wanted to sleep before midnight was the day prior to travelling home it didn’t cause me any issue. I just kept the door shut and air con on – problem solved.

The breakfast was average, no real complaints as it’s the usual buffet style you receive in European resorts.

The hotel bar was dead each day and night I went through – which was a shame as the layout and décor were nice. The free wi-fi within the bar / reception area was fantastic (could even receive a signal on the beach). Very quick and nice to see a hotel not ripping off its guests with extortionate wifi charges.

Ate out each night for dinner so can’t comment on the hotel food, there are plenty of nice restaurants within easy walking distance. Even a nice thai restaurant just opposite the main entrance.

All in all the hotel itself is in a superb location in a great holiday resort – I would stay here again, but can see why its not to everyone’s tastes. Definitely not a 4 star hotel however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank H0lidayMakerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just back from 10 days here, and as mentioned in another review its really a 3 star hotel but with a 5 star location and views.
Room and bathroom are basic but very clean with good air con and a useful fridge.The breakfast was pretty simple,bread rolls,cereals,yoghurt,cheese and a choice of hot items but I just stuck to the continental nothing fancy but it was fine.
The location is very handy for the old town with several nice restaurants and bars within 5 mins walk.The hotel bar was quiet during our stay but is a nice space if you just want to sit out of the sun for a bit, the stained glass above the bar and the lights set into the concrete patterns on the walls are fantastic pieces of retro cool.Free Wi-fi in the bar/lounge area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is barely a 3 stars hotel in reality, with old and very small TV, shabby duvet covers, and a wardrobe that is painted on the outside, but very antique and scratched on the inside. A safety deposit box and a hair dryer!! have to be asked at the reception, they are not offered by default in the rooms. I was provided a hair dryer, but it didn't work but for 5 minutes..it was so bad quality that it got heated fast and stopped working..

The breakfast is also disappointing, with a very narrow selection of food, and very bad quality of coffee.

The personnel was bored and showed little consideration for guests' needs.

There is only one thing that I considered a big plus…the fact that it had a very convenient location on the beach and right next to city center, offering easy access to all terraces and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ramona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

View from room is straight out to sea, lovely. Rooms clean but basic. A lot of very steep steps and the surrounding area is quite hilly. Xmas gala meal was very long winded and didn't finish till gone 10pm. Food was good quality and plenty of variety. Staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
321 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed the location of the hotel for the direct beach access as well as back entrance into Old Town. Location is everything about the this property - as the rooms, service and breakfast buffet would not get 2* in North America. Staff were abrupt, tactless and unconcerned, excepting for when the plastic resin chair on the balcony collapsed under my weight (I am not a big or heavy guy) and I crashing onto the concrete balcony and my elbow caught me from hitting my head. The chair as it turns out would collapse even with 10 points on it - the plastic legs had fatigued. But there is was for us to use. They did come up and replace these though. It is now almost 4 weeks later and the elbow still hurts. Breakfast buffet included, but frankly it was horrific - and not worth getting out of bed to have. The pool is a disgusting dark and dirty place that should be filled in with concrete. It would make a great shaded spot - particularly in the 40C heat and hot as hades sand we experienced on our visit.

This hotel has some unique architectural features that would make it worthy of creating a boutique hotel. As it is, and with this location it is a wasted business opportunity and is a cheap stay for budget travellers and a cash cow for the Owners as they invest nothing into maintaining the property. Everything in the hotel and beachfront has been outsourced to own or operate, so the hotel is left with beds only. Given the condition of the hotel this is probably just as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#41 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#67 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Frentomar
Hotel Frentomar
#64 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luna Clube Oceano
Luna Clube Oceano
#8 of 163 in Albufeira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alisios
Hotel Alisios
#33 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol e Mar

Property: Hotel Sol e Mar
Address: Rua Jose Bernardino de Sousa 12, Albufeira 8200-146, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#26 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
#27 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol e Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of Albufeira, the 4-star Sol e Mar Resort features 2 restaurants, 2 bars and a heated indoor pool. The Sol e Mar rooms benefit from private balconies with sea views, as well as a TV with satellite channels. Every room has a refrigerator and an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. Sunrise Restaurant serves lavish buffet meals accompanies by sea views; Sunset Restaurant offers a la carte regional and international cuisine. There is also a cocktail bar, an ice cream parlour and live evening entertainment. Hotel Sol e Mar is just 3 minutes' walk from Albufeira's Archaeological Museum. Bicycles can be rented from the hotel - perfect for exploring the old town and picturesque clifftops. Free Wi-Fi is available in its public areas. Faro International Airport is 30 minutes' drive from Hotel Sol e Mar. On-site car hire is available. Free public parking is available within 400 metres from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sol e Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol e Mar Hotel
Hotel Sol e Mar Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing