We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star ! , looks like a retirement home , terrible, avoid !”
Review of Hotel Sol e Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sol e Mar
Ranked #39 of 154 Hotels in Albufeira
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Booked a Late deal with teletext holidays, we paid £350 each for 5 nights half board including transfers ,
We booked it because the previous trip advisor reports were good ( why I don't know ?? )
First impressions , the resort, Albufeira old town instead of being charming and quaint is run down , and there a lot of closed businesses, broken pavements and a lot of graffiti ,

The photos are creative and must have been taken years ago and in no way represent the state and condition of the property now

The hotel was built in the late sixties and doesn't look we'll maintained and is in desperate need of modernisation, however it is clean and the staff do their best, with what they have , the old saying you can't polish a t#%€, springs to mind !, the rooms are grotty and are in desperate need of redecoration and modernisation , everything is from the sixties and seventies , the first room we were given was 406 and we asked to be moved straight away as the floor was dirty and the fridge was broken, the reception staff did move us but warned us that all the rooms were the same !
Lo and behold they are ! This was room 204 , this one was slightly cleaner and the fridge was ok,
All rooms are sea facing , but the balconies are small and have a weird lattice structure to the right hand side which partially obstructs your view and if you were to try and sunbathe here would no doubt make you look like a chess board !
The air con unit doesn't work properly and reverts to heat after you try and turn it to cool , and the bathroom is dingy due to only one strip light above The mirror,
We had 2 single beds that are rock hard , luckily for us we don't mind a hard bed, the wardrobes and safe we didn't even use ,
Breakfast , very poor offering of hot food, frankfurter sausages , hard boiled eggs , scrambled eggs bread jam toast cereals , luckily there are a few local restaurants serving a decent breakfast for around € 5.00 at 10.30 the restaurant closes , and that is it ! The one bar doesn't open till 4 pm so if you want anything to eat or drink you have to go out of the hotel , or downstairs to the beach bar ( this is not operated by the hotel) we had to go to the supermarket and buy snacks and drinks ,
The hotel has little or no charm , and reminds me of my visits to an elderly relative in a retirement home , there is NOTHING to do I asked for pool balls to play a game of pool and was told not till 4 , when the bar staff arrive , the one indoor heated pool is in darkness and you would not use it !

Evening meal in the restaurant , dinner is served from 6.30 , turn up later than 7 , and you will struggle to find something to eat as the replenishment is sporadic to say the least , some very strange dishes on offer too, Brussel sprouts on a salad ! We ended up eating out as the food on offer is poor.

The only good thing we can say about this hotel is its location , right on the beach , however there are hundreds of private apartments to rent here with equally good views and location , I will be trying to get a partial refund from teletext holidays so if any one reading this review has had a similar experience of this hotel please do get in touch, AND AVOID THIS HOTEL !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank steveandkimberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,333 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Our 1st time in Portugal and we could not have picked a better place to go to Albuferia..
The Hotel Sol E Mar is a lovely 4 star hotel with fantastic views from every room but maybe not on floor 1 which is above the hotel cafe & restaurant on the beach.The rooms are very nice for a hotel of that age it was built in 1964 but every thing was ok..the view from the hotels 5th floor dining room,lounge & bar are beautiful and all the staff very friendly and helpful .There was a storm on night 2 which cut out the electricity supply for the area and when it came back on it blow up the TV it was repaired within 6 hours. I asked for a room change on arrival..no problem moved to the very top floor all that was above was the stars thank you very much for a lovely holiday in Portugal...

Room Tip: higher floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJCesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We again visited the Hotel Sol e Mar, as the title states, still lucky, nothing has changed from our other two visits, all was well. the management,the rooms, the staff, the lounge,Nuno entertaining us, the ambiance was great and the guests reflected their satisfaction with the hotel by their friendliness. Booked again for begining of February 2013. We all feel so comfortable in the hotel and in Albufeira. Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: A high floor is great 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCROldCOlwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

arrived on 5th nov early flight fro liverpool,taxi transfer turned up with water and a custard tart ,got to hotel around 10.30 room ready straight away did,nt expect that,room was large sea facing, good size balcony, rooms were nice and warm and good shower with plenty of hot water,breakfast had a good selection ,and the waiter worked like a trojan there was never any clutter on the table,the chambermaid was very good .We did,nt eat at the hotel in the evening but returned for a nightcap,there was a key board player for background music,a pool table and card tables ,scrabble,dominoes and chess were provided .we paid 25euro a night bnb for a couple, before anyone complains about this hotel just think premier inn best deal is 29 pounds and breakfast is chargeable so if you cant live without full english you can get one for 3.50 well done sol e mar

Room Tip: sister had room 202,music from the lounge was piped through her bathroom fan ,some may think this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel sol e mar is indeed in a great location, the rooms are bright and cheerful and the views are to die for. The food at breakfast can be repetitive but are adequate enough the evening meals are better and plentiful and the staff very good. On the downside the rooms have only a small tv with very little english channels although all the pubs and restaurants have sky etc and Cator very well for the english customers. Overall a nice hotel in a perfect location, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Had a great week stay. Rooms were very good and clean. Most other reviews have covered everything. We knew that there was not a kettle in the room so we took our own, we were offered one for the last morning as we had to leave before breakfast, this was supplied in the room on a tray. The breakfasts were what we expected, having read poor reviews about he breakfasts I wonder what people want for breakfast. There was always a large selection of fresh food including three types of bread, eggs boiled, fried or scrambled, bacon or sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, selection of fruit, yogurts, hams, cheeses and cereals. As much coffee, tea or juice as you want, something for everything. Staff great, friendly and everywhere was spotless.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drobbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A lot has been said about the location of this hotel already, so I will just confirm that it sits in a fabulous spot that has wonderful sea views and it close to everything in the old town, although there are steep hills and stairs everywhere around it.
I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food not gourmet by any means but I always found plenty to eat and I particularly enjoyed the soups. We were half board and thought that it was good value for money. Both of the men who worked in the restaurant were friendly and efficient.
We were in 601 on the top floor, it had 2 single beds for my wife and I and a pull out settee bed which was not ideal for our 15 year old daughter. As also stated in other reviews the rooms are clean but generally tired.
Our dealings with reception were reasonable, but after heavy rain one night we had a power cut in our room which was not ideally dealt with, but they were always pleasant, in fact the only unpleasant person in the staff that we met was the senior housekeeping woman, who completely blanked us when we said hello.

All in all a good value hotel with reasonable food in a perfect location, we would go back.

Room Tip: 601 had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Comptoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albufeira hotels
0.1 mi away
Rocamar Exclusive Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baltum
Hotel Baltum
#46 of 154 in Albufeira
413 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
Hotel Apartamento Brisa Sol
#14 of 154 in Albufeira
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
Vila Gale Cerro Alagoa
#29 of 154 in Albufeira
1,725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almar
Hotel Almar
#73 of 154 in Albufeira
259 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Pedra dos Bicos Design Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol e Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol e Mar

Address: Rua Jose Bernardino de Sousa 12, Albufeira 8200-146, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Albufeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Albufeira
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Albufeira
#30 Luxury Hotel in Albufeira
Price Range: $28 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sol e Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the beach in the centre of Albufeira, the 4-star Sol e Mar Resort features 2 restaurants, 2 bars and a heated indoor pool. The Sol e Mar rooms benefit from private balconies with sea views, as well as a TV with satellite channels. Every room has a refrigerator and an en suite bathroom with a hairdryer. Sunrise Restaurant serves lavish buffet meals accompanies by sea views; Sunset Restaurant offers a la carte regional and international cuisine. There is also a cocktail bar, an ice cream parlour and live evening entertainment. Hotel Sol e Mar is just 3 minutes' walk from Albufeira's Archaeological Museum. Bicycles can be rented from the hotel - perfect for exploring the old town and picturesque clifftops. Free Wi-Fi is available in its public areas. Faro International Airport is 30 minutes' drive from Hotel Sol e Mar. On-site car hire is available. Free public parking is available within 400 metres from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sol e Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol e Mar Hotel
Hotel Sol e Mar Albufeira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing